We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric but brilliant”
Review of Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Eccentric but brilliant”
Reviewed 13 January 2009

One of us was here 15 years ago but the place has changed little. A gloriously over-decorated interior with eccentric collection of real and fake antiques , minimalist it is NOT . But for those of us who love the warm atmosphere, the cosy and comfortable rooms, the impeccable and friendly service, the ease of valet parking in a nightmare city, the two loquacious parrakeets and the perfect location for all the main sites, then the Gabbia d'Oro is 'perfetto'. The bathrooms could do with an update and the lighting was too gloomy to read by but overall we loved our suite. We will certainly go back.

  • Liked — Quality antique furniture and colouful furnishings
  • Disliked — Not enough good light for reading, bathtub (jacuzzi) a bit ancient.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    56
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
139
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time at this hotel just before New Year. The location is fantastic, within 1-3 minutes of almost everything in central Verona, yet so quiet and peaceful. The staff are friendly, helpful, eloquent. Although our double classic room was not big, it was beautifully furnished and highly luxurious. The only problem I found was the the lack of a shower curtain or rail in the (delightful) old-fashioned bath tub, which led to difficulties avoiding flooding the bathroom!

Basically, if you book here, you will not be disappointed, this is a genuinely outstanding hotel, I imagine the best in Verona.

  • Liked — Location and the luxurious bedroom
  • Disliked — lack of a shower rail, no free car park
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moonman1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We only stayed for one night but this was our second visit - we stayed here for 3 nights in 2004.

The location can't be beaten. You are a short walk from the duomo, the arena, the art gallery/museum & right by the gorgeous piazza erbe

We had a suite on the first floor which was impeccably clean & comfortable although the decoration is very fussy. Infact the decor throughout the hotel is very fussy & makes the public rooms gloomier than they need to be.

The staff were very helpful & efficient.

This is a convenient & comfortable hotel in a great spot.

  • Liked — The bed was very comfortable & the location is perfect.
  • Disliked — The over fussy decoration.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talkative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

We had a very clean charming suite (room 206) with frescoes on the wall, but there wasn't much place to keep our clothes.
The bathroom was very pretty, but it didn't have a shower, so I flooded it when trying to wash my hair. There wasn't any hook to hang the towels either.
Our son and daughter-in-law were there too, and their suite was just perfect! (room 103). With lots of room to keep clothes, bars for towels and best of all: SHOWER!!!
Breakfast wasn't fantastic, although it had all we are used to eating.
The staff was courteous and helpful.
The best thing was the location. Surely the best in town.
.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank FromSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

We stayed at the Gabbia D'Oro for one night only but the Hotel is exquisite! The room was delightful and so quiet for a central hotel. The staff were the friendliest I have come across and helped us find the best restaurant ever! Breakfast was superb and the dining room so beautiful. Highly recommended!!!!! Will definately stay again when visiting Verona.

  • Liked — So tastefully decorated, like stepping back a 100 years, Exquisite!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalRose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

The hotel is really a beautiful thing—you feel as if you have gone back into a different era with beautiful surroundings, antiques everywhere, a fantastic location steps away from the Piazza Erbe (the center of Verona) and a staff that is incredibly helpful and delightful. The hotel feels elegant, and while the rooms are on the small side by US standards, they are very beautifully decorated and bright with ultra modern bathrooms and suitable amenities. The front desk staff was both willing and able to help us with excellent suggestions and reservations for restaurants, sites and day trips. All in all, we would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for a deluxe stay in a wonderful city.

  • Liked — It's spectacular decoration
  • Disliked — Bedroom was a bit small
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

We stayed at the Gabbia D'Oro in early May. The hotel itself is perfectly located and the rooms are quiet - despite the constant bustling nightlife on the Piazza. The staff led us to several excellent restaurants and the two parrots in the solarium are adorable.

Although the lobby, downstairs area and breakfast room are very pretty and well appointed, we found the rooms to be a bit claustrophobic and dark. We had a "suite," which was two small rooms and a clean bathroom. There were some charming touches and beautiful pieces of art in the room. Although there was a decent sitting area, there was no light through the windows. Our bedroom was dreary - no color, just a bed with lumpy pillows and scratchy linens, and a plain armoire. Although each sitting room had charm and character (we travelled with my husband's parents, so we got to see two rooms), our carpets were shabby and there was a broken, very unattractive wooden shelf in the bathroom. The bathroom did possess a very nice array of complimentary toothbrushes, shampoos, soap, sewing kits, etc.

Given the very high price/star rating and good overall condition of the lobby/hallways, the shabbiness of some room details were surprising. The location, staff and public areas are truly the reason to stay in this hotel. I happened to peek into a non-suite (regular) room which was being cleaned and noticed how tiny it was. If location is the thing, I recommend staying at the Gabbia D'oro and saving up for a junior suite at least.

  • Liked — Lobby, Location, Breakfast, Parrots
  • Disliked — Small rooms, some shabby decor
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wholewideworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#15 of 79 in Verona
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,098 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#17 of 79 in Verona
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#20 of 79 in Verona
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gabbia d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gabbia d'Oro

Property: Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Address: Corso Porta Borsari 4A, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#12 Business Hotel in Verona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gabbia d'Oro 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gabbia d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gabbia d Oro
Gabbia d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing