We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ancient Spirit and Opera sound”
Review of Arena di Verona

Arena di Verona
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.04*
and up
Verona Arena Skip the Line Tour
Ranked #1 of 11 Concerts & Shows in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the first century AD, this is one of the best conserved Roman amphitheatres, whose seating area is made up of 44 levels and can hold up to 22,000 spectators.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ancient Spirit and Opera sound”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Even though Verona is considered to be the most romantic city because of Giulliet's "casa", which is pretty nice, but actually not a real one - I was much more impressed by the Arena of Verona. This amphitheater is known to be one of the most best-preserved among this kind of buildings in Northern Italy! Not only it is opened for tourists - in summer it's a place for Opera! We were lucky to get tickets to Aida opera, which was fantastically orchestrated in terms of decorations of use of space.
Lots of fire, lots of sparkle, there's a great view from almost every place (thanks to Rome architects, lol), good sound and so many people able to attend this spectacular event in the open air.
I was trully impressed and happy to be there - if you are lucky to be in Verona during the Opera season dont hesitate to go there and check it out - totally worth it, unforgettable experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,700
    2,778
    1,053
    411
    303
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“2 nights at the Opera and an orchestral ev”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A spendid arena and an opera/musical spectacle . However you need staying power: the performance does not start until 8.45 and finishes at 1am; seats are uncomfortable (with or without cushions) and cramped; stairs are steep and it can be still very warm. But, would not have missed it for the world.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lgmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotor, Montenegro
Level Contributor
167 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Aida at the Arena”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had some opera tickets given to us and went along to the Arena to see what everyone was talking about! The outdoor stadium is quite impressive and you certainly can't miss it in the center of the city. Tickets are various prices depending on where you want to sit as in pretty much any theatrical venue. We had tickets for the cheap seats - these are not seats as such but stone terraces which you see in amphitheaters worldwide. Once you have climbed the many steps into the arena - you sit where you can find a space. If you plan to stay fr the whole performance you may want to invest in a cushion to sit on as those terraces are a bit hard on the bum!
The opera was quite a spectacle - and worth going. It can get a bit chilly late at night even in the summer so may be worth taking an extra layer of clothes if you plan to stay till the end which in our case was 1am.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been to the Arena 2 years in a row with our children (7 and 9). It has been an amazing experience for all of us,

The athmosphere is fantastic and the operas (La Traviata and Turandot) are wonderful.

I can highly recommend this for families.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impressive building but go see a show”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Paid to go look inside the arena but wasn't much to see really. I can imagine it would be brilliant to see a show but just to look around was not worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Lucyemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arena di Verona also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Arena di Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing