We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget, but a little far from center.”
Review of Hotel Piccolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Budget, but a little far from center.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

The room rates at this hotel are quite reasonable for Verona, but the hotel is at a 20 minutes walk from center. The staff is tight and has little time to hear your questions. We arrived early and were given a handicapped room. When I asked to change to a regular room, I was told by a stern lobby employee that since the hotel must by law have a number of Handicapped rooms, they have to keep them occupied all the same. I said fine, but not by us ! He then reluctantly agreed to show us a regular room.

Breakfast was not included in the price of the room. Avoid it if you can, as its quality is really substandard compared to many other Italian hotels in the same category. The quality of cheese and cold cuts is really on the very cheap side, and you see clearly that some astute hotel manger decided to save money there and still charge 11 euros per person, thus somewhat offsetting the low room rate !!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jacques d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Owner at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,
our location is not a mistery, we are 15 minutes walking from the Arena di Verona and it is written very clearly in every place where a guest can book.
Who choose us knows that he pays a small price cause he has to walk a little to reach the centre.
So, if you have choosen us it means that the price was an important issue for you.
About the room for handy, as our receptionist have told you, the law (and our consciousness) tell us we have to have some rooms equipped for people has severe health problems. The room is as beautiful as every other room, with the same forniture. Just the bathroom has special precautions, however, can be very well used by people without problems.
About the breakfast almost all our guests tell that is more than they expected from a 3 stars budget hotel.
So, if spare money is an important issue to you (and I understand and appreciate it) also your expectations must be commensurate with the expense.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    312
    148
    40
    22
See reviews for
93
363
32
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We started our visit in the hotel with a glass of spritzer. Unfortunately one of straws was dirty and used for the second time. In fact the cleanliness is not the best feature of the hotel. Rooms are very small and not comfortable. The hotel is situated quite far from the center and it takes 30 min to get there on foot. But it is very close to the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Owner at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guest,
we have NEVER served anything from our bar with any straw. We don't even have 1 single straw in our hotel cause we use to serve mainly espresso and cappuccino, wine and beer. All drinks to serve without straws... I am pretty sure that about spritz and straw you are confusing us with some other place.
All the guests find that our cleanliness is high standard, and you don't mention anything about cleanliness in the room, only the 'ghost' straw...
This review is pretty strange...
Be careful travellers, could be a fake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Verona hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Piccolo for 3 nights, and were reasonably happy with the hotel. Breakfast room was a bit crowded, and choice was limited, but the hotel is a budget hotel, so we did not expect 4 star facilities... The centre of the city is close enough to walk to, about 10 minutes, and we enjoyed the atmosphere in the town. We walked to a number of the local sights and visited the Arena for a performance of the Opera. All in all, value for money, but with a little extra effort, the hotel would merit 4 stars: Our room was clean, but very small, and it was in the basement....Service from the staff was friendly. I would come back, but not for 3 nights.....

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arthur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here for only a night as on the way from Rome. Hotel is in a good location and close to the train station. Cosy room, nice and clean and had everything you need. Check in and out was easy and hassle free. Walkable to the town centre. By the way Verona was a great surprise. Beautiful bustling little town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much dear guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Reception staff we not very helpful or friendly, rooms were ok. Breakfast was fairly good and location was not too bad. Free parking on the street. They run a free bus into town which we were told was not in operation by reception only to see it picking people up an hour later. We wont go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Owner at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Guest,
our free shuttle bus works every day of Opera to bring our guest to the Arena and back.
Of course the free service that we offer it is not a private taxi service for every guest that needs to go to the center every hour. We offer a service only from 7pm to 9pm to go to the Opera and from 1am to 2am to come back from the Arena.
If you want to go to the center for example at 5pm and you don't like to walk (Arena is only 15 minutes from the Hotel) you have to pay a public taxi...
Probably there was a misunderstanding about how the free service was working between our receptionist and you.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were a little unsure having booked a 3 day Opera package with Opera-break, exactly what our budget hotel would be like? We were all really pleased and agreed we would stay at the Piccolo on our next visit to Verona.The hotel also arranged free transport to the centre for the Opera and collection on our return back to the hotel. Great service, friendly staff,superb value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJV186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Owner at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you very much dear guests!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here one night before flight home from Verona, it was picked for its location to the bus station and it didn't fail on this point. If you are looking for a hotel close to the city of Verona and struggle with a walk, this probably isn't the location for you. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the check in/out process was easy and without complication. The hotel is split into two The Piccolo and the Martini, I expected this and it was fine. The room was large and fairly clean, it contained all of the items you would expect from a city hotel, bathroom toiletries, a large wardrobe, tv, hairdryer, air conditioning, minibar. But the room was tired, the shower door kept falling off and the bathroom light was on a timer. The air conditioning blew against the exterior wall so even though it was on, didn't cool the room at all, in August it was very hot! It also had no other settings other than on/off. We also experienced some very noisy guests late at night, although I can't blame the hotel for this. I have stayed in worse hotels and for a one/two night stay it is adequate, I do not think it was worth the price at £109 for a night, I expect better surroundings. It has all the elements of a good hotel but needs to update and try a bit harder.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for the good review you have given to our Hotel.
I am sorry for the problem you have had with the shower, we have immediately fixed it. We use to repair immediately everything that can get broken in our Hotel.
I can assure you that the price you've paid for the room is correct when compared to the season, the category and the services of our hotel and much lower than what you would pay at a similar (or worse) hotel located in the center of our town.
Thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 79 in Verona
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Palio
Hotel Porta Palio
#38 of 79 in Verona
609 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#26 of 79 in Verona
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
3.9 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#20 of 79 in Verona
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo

Property: Hotel Piccolo
Address: Via Giulio Camuzzoni 3/b, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo is a cozy 3 Stars family atmosphere located near the walls of the ancient center of Verona. Hotel Piccolo is just 5 minutes walk from the main station Porta Nuova and 15 minutes walk from the Arena of Verona, outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Piccolo Hotel is the perfect accommodation for those who come to Verona for pleasure, as a couple or family. Free Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Piccolo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing