We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel; nothing particular. Would not stay here again.”
Review of Hotel Piccolo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piccolo
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Rotterdam
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Average hotel; nothing particular. Would not stay here again.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. Not a hotel you want to go to for the atmosphere. The lady that took care of the breakfast was quite nice but not all reception desk personell was as friendly. As for the room: it was clean, despite of the funny smell. Next to that I asked for an extra towel, but despite the fact that I booked a double room every time I got just a single tower. Small things that can quite annoy me. Next to that it was good that I brought my own soap and shampoo because none was provided.

What annoyed me extremely much was the WiFi. I could only use that with giving access to my gmail contacts or facebook contacts.
I think this is a very rude way of providing WiFi. Then at least leave me the option to choose for a paid plan.

Will I come here again? No.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,
we always provide hygiene products, then do not say things that are not true. Of course we are a simple, budget, 3 stars Hotel, so you won't find a thousand different product: you will find a soap for the hands, a product for intimate hygiene and a shower gel.
Without your name I can't go back to your reservation, but if you have booked a double room for single use of course we provide towels for just one person. Double room single use has a lower price than a double room for 2 persons.
What else: ah, wifi... We provide a free wifi system for our guest that is accessible through your facebook or google account. Our system (of course) don't allow us to see or use your login and password (that would be deeply illegal). At the same time we are not interested in spamming our guest (of course, that would be really stupid). The only thing that we ask to our guest is to put a like on our facebook page and then to browse free as they want.
As I've already told we are just a simple 3 stars Hotel; what we care about is to provide to our guests clean, comfortable rooms, a very good breakfast and all the information that they need to spend a good stay. We don't sell 'atmosphere', we sell rooms, and we sell those to a very affordable price. If you are looking for 'atmosphere' better if next time you will book in a different kind of Hotel. Of course do not expect to spend the same amount spent by us, because in Italy the 'atmosphere' comes at a high price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    321
    152
    40
    23
See reviews for
97
371
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Good location for people who travel transit across Verona: the hotel located near railway station.
Walking to the city centre takes 20 minutes (by bus - 5 min) There are food shops and a good wine store on the way from the centre.
Room is clean, modern and comfortable. WiFi is in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear gust,

thanks for your message.
In the hope of welcoming you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Close to train station. Nice stroll into centre and all sights. Clean sheets and white towels, and comfortable with nice en-suite room. Good hot shower and quiet locale. Vending machines are fine for a quick snack/ coffee before heading out. Didn't know what to expect from Verona or the hotel. But helped to make the whole stay very pleasant and special for us.

Room Tip: If busy you may hear people in next rooms. Rooms not on canal side are onto tennis courts- which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suraj v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Responsabile reception at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks so much!!!!

Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the Piccolo Hotel. Very easy to walk to from the railway station, so handy for rail and airport connection arrivals in Verona. About a 15-20 minute walk to all the main sites in Verona. In a quiet area, too. Breakfast buffet was tasty. Staff were polite. Luggage storage was handy after we checked out so that we could enjoy the morning in Verona still.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinkusMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much dear guests, we are pleased to have been your point of reference in Verona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed for one night in May 14. Good location especially if you have a car - there are parking spaces all along the road (so no need to pay the €8 their website quotes for hotel car park!). It's a small one way road with a canal on one side so v quiet area. Brisk walk into centre about 15min. Hotel has a combined reception with the hotel next door so it felt a bit lonely but that doesn't have to be a bad thing! Mostly helpful and friendly staff.
Room was ok, nothing special to report really, but walls quite thin so there was noise from neighbours and people walking along the corridor. We found that acceptable for a good-priced one-night stay in a good location though!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you very much kind guests, we are happy you've enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at Piccolo Hotel over the Easter bank holiday weekend for 3 nights.

Getting to the hotel from the train station was a very easy 8 minute walk, and well signposted. Like some others, I walked past reception (which is at Martini Hotel a block down) but when I checked in was walked by a staff member to my room. The lift is a little old (where you open the outer door yourself) but I found it charming.

The room itself was of adequate size. There was a small flat screen TV that was fixed quite high up the wall, and had BBC World News and CNN as the English channels but unfortunately both had very dodgy reception so kept freezing. The minibar and safe were handy additions, and the bathroom was also of a decent size, though had a smell of something similar to vomit when we checked in (though the smell dissipated over time). The climate control wasn't working but at this time of year the room temperature was just about right (the windows open fully if needed). There were no tea/coffee making facilities but there is an Illy coffee machine selling different types of coffee and tea for 75 cents. The wifi was very sketchy in the room (and to be fair the hotel website does say wifi in public areas only). Signal was much better in the lobby of both the Piccolo and Martini Hotels. I didn't eat breakfast but you can have a buffet breakfast for €8. I slept pretty well though noises from other rooms nearby and upstairs do travel.

You can easily walk to all of the main sights from the hotel, which is just on the outside of the old city walls. I'd say the amphitheatre is approximately 20 minutes' walk from the hotel, and all other sights are within 10-15 minutes of the amphitheatre. There are restaurants aplenty within this 20 minute walk, as well as one literally round the corner if you turn left out of the hotel and take the next left at the main road, but I didn't try this one during my stay.

Given the price paid for the hotel room, I'd say this hotel is good value and if I returned I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japax, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive review.
The smell you have feeled it was paint smell, cause your room were freshly painted before the weekend as we always keep our rooms tidy. We left the windows open, but the water-based paint that we use leaves this lingering and a bit 'annoying smell. Sorry.
The climate was not working cause in this period of the year the temperature is naturally adequate, don't need heating or air conditioning.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Piccolo is a very good hotel , located in a perfect position close to the city center and train station. The room was spacious with a big bathroom en-suite , very clean and with all amenities. The staff was very polite and helpful. We stayed for only one night and really enjoyed.
Definitely we would advice to everybody.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Piccolo, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,
many thanks from all the staff for your very kind review!
We hope to see you again in Verona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Martini
Hotel Martini
#23 of 79 in Verona
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Palio
Hotel Porta Palio
#36 of 79 in Verona
623 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gardenia
Gardenia
#22 of 79 in Verona
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Montresor Hotel Palace
Montresor Hotel Palace
#29 of 79 in Verona
789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#27 of 79 in Verona
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novo Hotel Rossi
Novo Hotel Rossi
#15 of 79 in Verona
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccolo

Property: Hotel Piccolo
Address: Via Giulio Camuzzoni 3/b, 37138, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccolo 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piccolo is a cozy 3 Stars family atmosphere located near the walls of the ancient center of Verona. Hotel Piccolo is just 5 minutes walk from the main station Porta Nuova and 15 minutes walk from the Arena of Verona, outside the restricted traffic zone and no parking problems for your car. Piccolo Hotel is the perfect accommodation for those who come to Verona for pleasure, as a couple or family. Free Wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Piccolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Piccolo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing