We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aparthotel Verona House
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having read other reviews it seems that Verona House may have a split personality! We booked it knowing it was an apartment and not a hotel. It is in a great location with Castlevecchio at the bottom of the street and within a stones throw of Piazza Bra etc. The apartment was compact and very clean and bathroom spotless. The kitchenette had all the basics you would expect, except a kettle which was inconvenient but not the end of the world. The area was very quiet at night, there were other apartments occupied but we didn't hear a peep. Claudia who we met on arrival was very friendly and when we had a small problem with our shower head it was sorted immediately, we did not see her again but we really didn't need to. The check out time is 12 noon which is a bonus. I think it was great value for money given the excellent location and the prices that other hotels and apartments were priced at and I would most definitely stay here when we come back again. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor at the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSTEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic and is right oposite to the castle ( castelvecchio) and is about 5-10 minutes walk to the centre depends on how fast or slow you walk where the piazza bra is and resturants and cafes are. The hotel was very clean, tidy and comfortable with friendly staff when we got to see them as they where not aways there as reception was closed most of the time. We stayed in the same room as last year so we did not have a problem staying in the same room again only this time we realised there was no microwave which may i point out there was last year and also the most obvious items toaster and kettle they did not have . Well breakfast was a dissapointment you had to get a voucher and take it to the cafe opposite to the hotel and they would give you your breakfast which was just a coffee , tea and a small croissant the coffee was always cold we ended up buying our own food from the local supermarket near by to have for breakfast some days we did not go for our breakfast as it was that poor. When we arrived at our hotel i had noticed that it was a bit cold in our room so i had gone to reception to ask if our heating could be put on so the room could be heatied up the lady at reception was lovely and polite and said she was waiting for permission from the council to say when they could put the heating on . she did say she would give us more blankets to keep warm in bed . The point is we where cold in the living and kitchen area of the room which is so disgusting to be told you can not have the heating on . The only good thing was that the receptioist did say we could leave our luggage there in our room on the day we where flying home as or flight was not till 7.40 in the evening and we did not want to have to take suitcases every where with us . Would not stay there again as i had left a review last year about the breakfast and in that year they have done nothing to improve it such a shame as my husband and my self think it could be a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Cheaper is not always the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The location is fantastic and could not be bettered - we were able to walk everywhere in Verona very easily. Castelvecchio is literally over the road and Piazza Bra is less than 10 minutes walk away. Despite being so central, the apartments are really quiet - we were there for a week and were never disturbed by any noise either from inside or outside of La Residenza. There are plenty of little shops near by where you can buy provisions - the kitchen area had a full size fridge which was very useful. The decor is a little dated but the apartment was clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we went back to Verona we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We (couple) stayed here in June 2012 for seven nights. On arrival we were met and given lots of helpful information about the city and things we might like to see and do. We were also given information on the free wifi which was great until we discovered that it could only be used in the reception area (more on this later).

The room we were shown to was more of an apartment than we expecting, with a comfortable seating, dining and kitchen area as well as bathroom (shower, not bath, but very powerful and always lots of hot water) and bedroom. The kitchen was well-equipped but missing a few obvious items such as toaster, kettle, tin-opener and with only two hobs. It was fine for us though, enabling us to keep food in the fridge, cook a few simple meals and eat breakfast. Breakfast as included in the room rate but from previous reviews and the fact that we had to collect a voucher for it each morning we gave it a miss. The bed was large, but was two singles joined together, and there was lots of storage space in the room.

The room was clean and apart from on Sunday, was cleaned each day we were there. The bed was made but sheets not changed, and it would have been nice if this had been done mid-stay. All the kitchen items we used were washed up for us, which we weren't expecting at all and made a real difference to our holiday. When we arrived the air-conditioning wasn't working, but the lady on reception came straight away and sorted the problem out. She did the same the next morning when the electricity was out (there'd been a big thunderstorm during the night).

Only one of the members of staff that we spoke to spoke very goood English, but the gentleman who met us on arrival was great at explaining everything despite a few misunderstandings. However, on our final day we were woken by someone at the door who didn't speak a single word of English; we still don't know what she wanted!

The major drawback of the stay was with the reception. It seems that it's only open some of the time which didn't generally cause problems but meant that we couldn't use the Internet when we wanted to as it seemed only to work there. In fact the Internet access is limited to one hour a day and you need a separate code for each day; we would have found access useful but whenever we needed it reception seemed to be closed so we couldn't even get a code for and use sitting on the stairs outside.

The larger problem for us was that we'd read in reviews and assumed that we would be able to leave our luggage in reception on the final day. However, when we went to check it reception was closed; we tried calling them but to no avail and eventually the same lady who spoke no English came to get our key but made it clear that we couldn't leave anything in reception as it was closed. This left us with suitcases all day, and we weren't flying until 7.45pm so we were stuck either having to do things alone while the other watched the bags or not able to do anything other than sit with them. it's for this reason that I wouldn't call this a hotel, as neither of us have ever stayed in a hotel which doesn't offer this facility.

Overall, very friendly place with reasonable facilities (no English tv channels, but that's not the end of the world) but sOme serious downsides which mean we wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We stayed here for a week this Autumn. I'd read the reviews etc., but was still pleasantly surprised at the facilities of our "room". The room itself was actually a bedroom, a bathroom and a dining/kitchen/sitting room - all very roomy, and fully equipped. This was a fantastic bonus as the breakfast in B&B was not on the premises but in a cafe over the road. We just bought breakfast goodies at the supermarket and breakfasted at our leisure at "home". Never had breakfast in the cafe, but apparently it's coffee and a croissant between 9 and 10am (don't quote me on times)...however it's a very nice cafe with lots of outdoor seating and a great people watching position opposite the Castelvecchio. Shame the voucher wasn't valid all day, it would be nice to flop for a free coffee after tramping around all day. The room had masses of storage space and hangers, full size fridge and hob, small washing machine, pots and pans, cutlery and crockery in abundance and a telly in each room (Italian TV) plus a cd player as well.
The staff had excellent English and were really helpful and friendly.
The position of the hotel is fantastic, right opposite Castelvecchio, a short walk to Piazza Bra etc. and near bus stops and cafes and restaurants galore.
The hotel furnishings were pretty old-fashioned but functional, this is NOT a designer chic boutique hotel, but very clean and everything works!!
A tip for getting to hotel from shuttle bus stop at station. Buy a bus ticket at the Tabac just inside the station and cross into the bus station, almost all the buses go past Castelvecchio, but if you go to stance D the 21, 22, & 23 are very frequent, just get off when you see Castelvecchio (you really can't miss it!!). Turn back from bus stop, a few yards up the street you'll see a red painted building, that's your hotel..the entrance is round the side.
Tip 2...somebody said their room was noisy, ours overlooked the internal courtyard and was so silent we doubted the presence of any other guests, and couldn't hear ANY traffic at all.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandStewarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We were the travellers of two couples who love food and opera. We chose this hotel due to its location ( 3 minutes from the Arena ) and seemingly spacious room. Indeed, they were true. The rooms were very spacious and we had a sitting room with a kitchnet and a bed room. The furnitures looked cheap but functional. There was no breakfast served but they gave us a boucher at the corner cafe. We ate simple breakfast, looking at the city museum ( picture from our breakfast table attached ) and it was very pleasant start of the day. So if you would like to stay on your own pace, this is probablly ideal place. But the front desk is closed early etc. Therefore if you look for something you expect for three start hotels、it may be disappointing. For us, we will come back to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gehararigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2008

Three of us(older women) stayed at the Hotel La Residenza Verona House and found it to a clean, spacious apartment, very well-run. We had a problem with our toliet upon check-in and were promptly given another room. Everyone was polite and helpful.The only downside is the breakfast, which is a roll and coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel Antico San Zeno
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.2 mi away
Grand Relais The Gentleman of Verona
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 77 in Verona
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Verona House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Verona House

Address: Stradone Antonio Provolo 3, 37123, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £71 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Verona House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of Verona, with a magnificent view of Castelvecchio, the Verona House Residence offers Studios and One Bedroom apartments of various sizes, elegantly furnished and equipped with every form of comfort (air conditioning, Wifi, TV, etc.) and a fully equipped kitchen. The Arena, Philharmonic Theatre and all the most beautiful places in the historic centre of Verona can be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aparthotel Verona House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Verona House Hotel Verona
La Residenza Verona Hotel
La Residenza Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing