We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a Problem”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #21 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with a Problem”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed a night at this hotel in Verona. It is well located in the old city. The rooms are small but well appointed with comfortable bedding and a small but functional bathroom. My room had no view but this was not important as Verona is not a city to lounge in the hotel. The square it is on, Piazza Erbe has excellent restaurants to dine at. The hotel is slightly hard to find if you are getting there on your own. It is opposite the clock tower on the square. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
BUT
There is no parking nearby. I arrived late at night and chose to use the valet service the hotel has as opposed to parking out of town and taking a cab back in. The valet service is 30 Euro per night but convenient. The car was returned to the hotel (I did not see the valet) and the right rear bumper was muddy which was puzzling. I was in a rush and did not look any closer. I stopped about 30 minutes later, brushed away some of the mud. Lo and behold, the valet had scraped the bumper and covered it with mud. I called the hotel and emailed photos shortly thereafter. The valet company responded that I had to notify them on pick up or they would not be responsible. I was out $400 Euro for the repair.
I would not stay again due to this but the real lesson is not to bring a car in to the old city, it is very difficult and unpleasant to drive in and there is virtually no parking for tourists. In addition if you do not register the vehicle, you get a 125 Euro fine in the mail.
Disappointing as it is a reasonable priced well located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    129
    19
    7
    1
See reviews for
44
199
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just returned to Glasgow after a wonderful week based in Verona, where we stayed with our two teenaged daughters at the fantastic Hotel Aurora. The hotel is clean, marvelously central and the breakfast is good. the balcony which overlooks the Piazza Erbe is wonderful. The staff could not have been more helpful than they were. Rita and Elena in particular were fabulous. They speak good english and really went well out of their way to help us with all of our queries. We would definitely stay again and again and again.........................

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

How wonderful it was to be able to stay at the Albergo Aurora again. We last stayed here in 2011 and I am pleased to say that we enjoyed the exceptional care and service from Rita and Elena again. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the Piazza Erbe with a wonderful mood shower with blue lighting. Beds were extremely comfortable, bedding crisp and clean, excellent WiFi; I loved the extra special touches of a bowl of fresh fruit on the dresser and chocolates on the bed. The breakfasts are really great with plenty to eat and drink. My Husband has a back problem and unfortunately was not feeling very well, it was also extremely hot which added to his discomfort. Elena and Rita were extremely concerned about his welfare, I was naturally worried and their reassurances about doctors and hospitals if needed made me feel better. Someone was on hand to help with the luggage both on arrival and departure. Thank you Rita and Elena for your kindness. We will definitely be back for another visit, we love your beautiful town and best of all the Aurora.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The only reason I give the HYLTON one more mark than the Hotel Aurora is because the former has a pool!! But in every other area or point AURORA beats or equals the other. The two ladies running it, Elena and Rita, are Número Uno. Friendly, efficient, courteous, there is nothing they will not try to provide. Rooms are sufficiently spacious. This is the 2nd time we have stayed. Previous occasion three years ago. Every member of staff wonderful to deal with, from Michel to Lara who fed me!! Breakfasts lovely, what a variety and selection. Beautifully appointed, hotel opens onto Piazza. We spent three days and endured ferocious heat and humidity. Hotel cool with properly working air conditioners in each room. For dining out, you must ask Rita or Elena as the restaurants they recommend will tie in with your budget, and for five star dining they will put you in the right direction. And another lovely little touch - on the Saturday we checked out guests were given some lovely champagne as breakfast.

Room Tip: Room No 9, third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWesleyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel Aurora is simply wonderful. The hotel staff was friendly and attentive and the room clean, modern and comfortable.

We were on the top floor, overlooking Piazza delle Erba.

The room boasted the sexiest shower I've ever seen - with a glass wall into the bedroom.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here with our daughters in a 4-person room, which was perfect. The hotel staff was incredibly helpful, calling the airline on multiple occasions to help us find lost luggage. The breakfast was the best we ate during our trip, with complimentary champagne offered on a patio overlooking the square (very cool). Look forward to coming back here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This place is immaculate. It's also very sleek looking, very modern, if you like that. The location is right on the main plaza so very convenient and an easy walk to the Collosium. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was good, pretty complete and there's an outside terrace where you can eat. There is an elevator. Unfortunately the WiFi doesn't work for Macintosh computers although it works for iPads. I'd give this place a 4 1/2 if I could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.0 mi away
Mazzanti
Mazzanti
#14 of 79 in Verona
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Armando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trieste
Hotel Trieste
#9 of 79 in Verona
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
Hotel Gabbia d'Oro
#33 of 79 in Verona
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazza Erbe, 37121, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Verona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#14 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aurora 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing