We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple but great hotel”
Review of Hotel Trieste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Trieste
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“simple but great hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

verona is a nice small old city worth a visit. hotel trieste is just outside the city wall at 300 meters from the verona arena. a small, hotel with simple rooms, with nice breakfast albeit a small room which gets a ittle crowded at the busy times. price is a little high but they always are in italy. if you look fora small, quiet, clean, simple hotel with extremey friendly staff close to the center than this is your place!

Room Tip: take a room at the back at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    248
    55
    18
    7
See reviews for
76
349
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Hotel Trieste on a one night stop over before travelling onto Lake Garda. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main train station and five minutes from the main citadella housing the amphitheatre, Juliet's balcony and main shops. Our room was excellent large, light and airy with a balcony out onto the Corso Porta Nuova. Double glazing and shutters blocked out any sound at all from the street. The bathroom was big with two sinks and a large shower (one of the best I've ever experienced in a hotel). I would agree with previous reviews that the pillows are very hard but the bed was a large double and very comfy. The reception staff were extremely helpful printing bus timetables to the lake, providing a map of Verona (marking off key sights to see for us) and looking after luggage the following day. Highly recommended - I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou_M_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights end of July and have got mixed feelings about the Hotel.
It is definitely in a convenient location, just 20 mins walk from the train station (once you know which direction you need to head for) and within 10 mins walk of Verona itself.
We watched the Opera at the Ampitheatre one night, which is a fantastic experience, took a bus journey to Laisze, Lake Garda another day (takes about an hour and is worth it - lovely little place) and just had a wander around Verona the next day.

We were upgraded to a room with a balcony, which had gorgeous views over Verona but we didn't really get the chance to use it. Unfortunately because of this I think some of the traditional features that we chose the hotel for were lost - it was just a beige room with no character so we were a little disappointed. The bed and pillows were extremely hard (I normally like a hard bed but this was too hard even for my liking!).

Depending on the staff on duty depended on their friendliness. The tall young gentleman was very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you, however the older gentleman was very miserable, not approachable and didn't speak or understand much English. The breakfast staff also didn't seem very friendly (no smiles or buongiornio's) which is basic politeness.

The breakfast was OK with choice from cereals, croissants, hams, breads, and boiled eggs.

Don't think I would stay at this Hotel again. I would choose a B&B in a similar location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Hotel Trieste is a wonderful small hotel located only a 10 minute walk from The Arena, the 3rd largest Roman Coliseum and my main reason for wanting to go to Verona. The delightful, tall young man at the desk as we entered couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful, welcoming us to the hotel, carrying our luggage up a few steps to the elevator, giving us directions and a map and offering us a complimentary glass of wine, coffee, etc. What a lovely start to our visit to this great city.

Our room was large with a balcony overlooking the main street and allowed us to sit outside and relax, sip our wine and watch the world go by as we planned our evening. A great complimentary breakfast was served in a room just off the lobby. The night before our departure, we attempted to print our boarding passes but found that the computer was 'acting up'. As we nervously tried to get the desk clerk to understand our problem, .......who should happen to appear, even though he was not on duty, but the darling young man from the day shift! He quickly assessed the situation and somehow managed to e-mail our information to the neighboring hotel where the boarding passes were easily printed. We were more than grateful and couldn't believe our good fortune that he had made such an unexpected visit. Now, that's service! And... we enjoyed another glass of Prosecco!

Room Tip: A front room with balcony was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 410mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Spent 2 nights, rooms were well appointed, bikes were available, conveniently located between train station and the Arena. All staff were very helpful and provided great suggestions and practical information as to restaurants, walks and gardens etc. when we return to Verona we would certainly have no hesitation in staying at Trieste Hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a front room. Thought we might have some traffic noise but this was not the case. It was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 943AnneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It took 10 minutes to walk from Verona Porta Nuova railway station, and about 8 minutes to walk to the Arena.Lovely appointed hotel, very clean,good size rooms,massive showers,on the fifth floor at the rear (we upgraded for 9 euros a night) and great choice for breakfast for our 5 night stay.
I would certainly stay here again for the sheer convienience of the location for the town.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it (9 euros extra per night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John190949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Spent one night at the Trieste. Lovely, sizeable room with a small balcony onto the main street on the front of the hotel. It is very convenient for the city centre and the arena lying just outside the city walls. We were very pleased to be so close to the arena after the opera finished at 1am. We walked from and to the train station on a hot July day with decent sized suitcases and it can be done in 10-15 minutes (not 30 minutes as a previous reviewer suggested) We were given a room that has been recently refurbished. It was furnished in a fun and interesting way, a change from the usual style of Italian hotel rooms (dark wood etc.). The internet was free and fast. Breakfast was very good. Staff were very helpful. Would certainly return to the Trieste and would highly recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verona
Hotel Verona
#12 of 79 in Verona
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trieste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trieste

Property: Hotel Trieste
Address: Corso Porta Nuova 57, 37122, Verona, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#13 Family Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trieste 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Trieste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trieste Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing