We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Verona”
Review of Locanda Catullo

Locanda Catullo
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Locanda Catullo
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 20 December 2007

We ended up extending our stay in Verona thanks to this great little locanda. The location is superb. An informal, home environment, inexpensive, with all the necessities. The location is probably about the best in the heart of historic city, and verona is beautiful. The friendliness of the owner at Locanda Catullo was really nice too. He went out of his way to accommodate us at the last minute. Couldn’t ask for much more. When we go back to Vernona we will stay here again.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank marcoguarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2007

Catullo was the cheapest hotel I could find when arriving in Verona. Location is indeed excellent, right by Via Mazzini and close to the Arena.
Contrary to what was announced on the hotel list I picked up at the station, there was no breakfast.
Room was simple, but large, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom right across the hallway, but there was a sink in the room.
Owners were very polite, made some good restaurant indications and gave me the front door key, so there was no curfew for me.
I would really recommend this place for a few nights (I stayed just one), if you're on a tight budget and wants to stay near the tourist action.

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Savonarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rotorua, New Zealand
212
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Locanda Catullo was comparatively cheap, in a good location, close to the Arena, shops and lots of restaurants. Our room was quite large, and clean, the hotel owners were polite, but they had a few policies that lessened the enjoyment of our stay.
They held onto our passports overnight, which made me uncomfortable. We weren't allowed to take our room key out of the building, it had to be left on a board next to reception. They won't hold on to luggage after you check out, and suggest you can leave it at the train station. The train station is several kilometers away, so this can be impractical if you don't have a car.
It wasn't a bad place to stay, but was the most expensive, and least accomodating of the places we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We booked two rooms in this hotel for two families and were told both rooms would have 4 beds and their own bathroom.

We arrived late (we had told them our time of arrival and even called them well in advance to say we'd be half an hour late because we were driving and traffic was bad). When we arrived we found there was no parking - which is okay as Verona is very difficult with a car! So we asked them if they could recommend a parking spot out of town. They did not want to know.

Then we asked if, before we drove out of town and unloaded 5 kids, whether we could see our room to check it was big enough. They would not let us see the room we would be staying UNTIL we threatened to just walk out. When they did let us see one of the rooms there were only 2 beds and there was clearly very little room for another - let alone two. They also admitted that all the rooms with bathrooms were already occupied.

We did not end up staying at this hotel and instead found a lovely place about 5 minutes drive away where the staff were very helpful and open.

12  Thank VeggieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeoRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thekingof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colomba d'Oro
Hotel Colomba d'Oro
#13 of 77 in Verona
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cavour
Cavour
#65 of 77 in Verona
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 77 in Verona
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#233 of 432 in Verona
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Catullo

Address: Via Valerio Catullo 1, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Locanda Catullo Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing