We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Sleeping Inside A Concert”
Review of Locanda Catullo

Locanda Catullo
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Verona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Locanda Catullo
Ranked #75 of 79 Hotels in Verona
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Like Sleeping Inside A Concert”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Stayed one night in June based on a guidebook recommendation. It was a nightmare. There was a rock concert at the Roman amphitheater. Our room actually shook from the noise and glowed from the lights. Look at the schedule ahead of time. If there is an opera, I'm sure staying here would be a charming experience. If there is a rock concert, forget about sleep - either buy tickets and go to the show or stay at another hotel.
This was the only hotel we stayed at in Italy where the staff kept our passports. We needed to leave before reception opened in the morning and were forced to turn our key to the building in at night to get our passport back so we could make our early train. Basically meant we were trapped in the hotel. Room was absurdly large and underfurnished. There were three beds in the room. We were told not to touch one because we were only two people. The manager even removed the third towel from the room. Unacceptable at this price, even for a city center. Bedding was uncomfortable. No air-conditioning, no ceiling fan, no screens on the window. No desk or floor fans available and reception couldn't tell us where to buy one (yes, we were that desperate from the heat). Bathroom was less than spotless to put it nicely.
Real shame because the location could not be better. Take bus to and from the train station from Piazza Bra. Five minute walk to the hotel. Great information office at the station.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

We ended up extending our stay in Verona thanks to this great little locanda. The location is superb. An informal, home environment, inexpensive, with all the necessities. The location is probably about the best in the heart of historic city, and verona is beautiful. The friendliness of the owner at Locanda Catullo was really nice too. He went out of his way to accommodate us at the last minute. Couldn’t ask for much more. When we go back to Vernona we will stay here again.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank marcoguarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo bloody Horizonte
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Catullo was the cheapest hotel I could find when arriving in Verona. Location is indeed excellent, right by Via Mazzini and close to the Arena.
Contrary to what was announced on the hotel list I picked up at the station, there was no breakfast.
Room was simple, but large, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom right across the hallway, but there was a sink in the room.
Owners were very polite, made some good restaurant indications and gave me the front door key, so there was no curfew for me.
I would really recommend this place for a few nights (I stayed just one), if you're on a tight budget and wants to stay near the tourist action.

  • Stayed January 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Savonarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 November 2005

Locanda Catullo was comparatively cheap, in a good location, close to the Arena, shops and lots of restaurants. Our room was quite large, and clean, the hotel owners were polite, but they had a few policies that lessened the enjoyment of our stay.
They held onto our passports overnight, which made me uncomfortable. We weren't allowed to take our room key out of the building, it had to be left on a board next to reception. They won't hold on to luggage after you check out, and suggest you can leave it at the train station. The train station is several kilometers away, so this can be impractical if you don't have a car.
It wasn't a bad place to stay, but was the most expensive, and least accomodating of the places we stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Verona hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

We booked two rooms in this hotel for two families and were told both rooms would have 4 beds and their own bathroom.

We arrived late (we had told them our time of arrival and even called them well in advance to say we'd be half an hour late because we were driving and traffic was bad). When we arrived we found there was no parking - which is okay as Verona is very difficult with a car! So we asked them if they could recommend a parking spot out of town. They did not want to know.

Then we asked if, before we drove out of town and unloaded 5 kids, whether we could see our room to check it was big enough. They would not let us see the room we would be staying UNTIL we threatened to just walk out. When they did let us see one of the rooms there were only 2 beds and there was clearly very little room for another - let alone two. They also admitted that all the rooms with bathrooms were already occupied.

We did not end up staying at this hotel and instead found a lovely place about 5 minutes drive away where the staff were very helpful and open.

Helpful?
12 Thank VeggieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Cavour
Cavour
#68 of 79 in Verona
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castelvecchio  Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Albergo Al Castello
Albergo Al Castello
#57 of 79 in Verona
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanmicheli
Sanmicheli
#64 of 79 in Verona
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Catullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Catullo

Property: Locanda Catullo
Address: Via Valerio Catullo 1, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Locanda Catullo Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing