We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take a breather if you want to get away from hordes of tourists”

Piazzale Castel San Pietro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23.73*
and up
Verona City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
More Info
US$136.44*
and up
Valpolicella Half-day Vespa Tour and Wine Tasting
Ranked #4 of 222 things to do in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to take a breather if you want to get away from hordes of tourists”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

There was only a handful of people there when we came up around 12 noon. It's a great place to just sit and have a short rest before you go back to the bustling Piazza delle Erbe. The climb up the stairs is very entertaining so you hardly notice it. Doors of houses up the hill are lined up along the stairs which were so fascinating for me as I've not seen these before. The view from the top is awesome and it's free! Photos galore anyone?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    221
    37
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view of Verona!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My children also love it. Take a snack and drinks, enjoy the peaceful view. We went in late afternoon. The sky was beautiful with the river running peacefully in the town. Love to visit Verona again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Splendid Panorama of Verona”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Such a splendid Roman Castell must be visited, albeit early in the morning as its cooler to accomplish the steep climb of stairs. One is rewarded with panoramic views of Verona and the Adige. Magnificient!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We decided to take the walk up to Piazzale Castel San Pietro and did no regret it.

The Views are AMAZING !, you have to walk up quite a few steps to get there though but once at the top you can sit, relax and just enjoy the view.

On the way back down you can admire the small Italian houses that are hidden along the way.

I would recommend a visit here anytime !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrAvElQuE3N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful walk”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Checked out this little place when I was in Verona with my partner. The walk to the little town is really picturesque, through quaint old houses. Once you’re there the panoramic view of Verona is really worth the walk. The place looks absolutely romantic in the evenings. In fact we ran into a few local couples sitting and enjoying the place and each other’s company.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Piazzale Castel San Pietro also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Piazzale Castel San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing