We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool Guys - Great Food - Lots of Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Pigna, Osteria - Antica Trattoria - CLOSED

La Pigna, Osteria - Antica Trattoria
Price range: US$1 - US$72
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: visit our new sito www.osteriapigna.com
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cool Guys - Great Food - Lots of Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Cool man, cool. What happens when a few young guys with a flair for interior, great food, and super wine open a restaurant? It's gotta be a fantastic meal. Don't miss this when in Verona, you simply won't be disappointed. High quality meal and wine at very fair prices. And you'll like the music (Italian Jazz).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KF0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    21
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing and tatty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Having been recommended by a guide book that this was "where the locals eat" we went with high expectations of a good, basic trattoria style supper. Whilst expecting a "rustic" interior how disappointing to be seated at a very wonky table (that still had the crumbs from lunchtime?), by a door where the glass was cracked and the wall lantern above was cracked. Our disappointment continued with the food - the selection of salami and charcuterie (with pickles) (an antipasti) must have been of the cheapest kind available and to be charged Euros15 for a bowl of spaghetti and just three langoustines (as a primo) is outrageous!! We finished our wine and left without desert or coffee to avoid being further disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FatWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice food and service but don't appreciate being given prosecco and charged for it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

Food here was nice and the service seemed genuine until... On arrival they ushered over 2 proseccos as some restaurants in Italy some times do. They were then added to the bill @ 5 euro each. We just adjusted our tip instead of complaining but I don't think this practise is wise and spoiled the otherwise fine experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Centonove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Eat, drink (good wines) and have fun! Best choice in verona! beautiful waitresses in an historical setting. The owner is a sommelier and the wine list is gorgeous!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Popular with Locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat around the Doumo area and found this place. It was very popular with locals which is always a good sign. Most people seemed to be eating the local dish of horse-meat stew with polenta. I ordered this and was not disappointed. It was a very rich and tasty stew, worth a try. My wife had pasta with blue cheese and ham which was also very good. The staff were friendly and the restaurant had a good atmosphere, worth a stop if you are in Verona.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Pigna, Osteria - Antica Trattoria also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing