We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get”
Review of Casa Magnani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Magnani
Ranked #118 of 412 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

This is a small type of bed and breakfast, 10 minutes outside Verona itself, in a residential suburb. The rooms are individually styled, the staff/owners friendly and most helpful, the continental style breakfast embellished by home-made pastries. The downside was that the front desk was unmanned once all guest had checked in, the extractor fan in the little bathroom was unplugged and not at all clean (like some other areas of the ceiling). However, the room and bathroom were perfectly clean. Without a car, there is a bus every 20 minutes. At 100 euro per night B&B we felt this exorbitantly expensive. But Verona is an expensive place to stay, so maybe this is the market price. 2 minutes away is a great trattoria, not cheap, but excellent food, polished service and a full Italian eating tradition.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanumana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    31
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
51
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We booked Casa Magnani on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews - the photos looked great, and we liked the idea of staying a little outside Verona as we had a car. They were very helpful and friendly when we emailed to book.

The B&B is actually just on the bottom floor of the building - the terrace and rooms above are private residences. We had to ring for someone to come and let us in when we arrived, which was a bit disconcerting at first - and while the young lady who arrived was quite nervous speaking in English, she was pleasant and helpful.

Our room was large, cool and comfortable, decorated in a unique Middle Eastern style. The bed was comfy, and there was free wi-fi. Although there were patio doors, they just gave onto a little paved area at the back which didn't really look like you could use it - we did miss a balcony, as it would have been nice to sit out.

Breakfast was simple but sufficient - though the coffee was distinctly lukewarm! There was only one other couple staying when we were there, and the young girl who had checked us in was only there at breakfast time. This meant that it lacked atmosphere somewhat, which is a shame, as it is very nicely appointed and decorated - it would have made a difference to have someone there more often to say hello to and to ask questions about what we could do, directions etc.

The location is actually very good - Avesa is a very sleep little suburb, but there is a bus stop right outside Casa Magnani from where it takes just 10 minutes and 1 euro to get into the city centre. Buses run until quite late (23.30?) which means you still have plenty of opportunity to explore the bars and restaurants of the city centre and make your passegiata before heading home. We ate in a fantastic pizza restaurant - Al Capitel, located just as you come into the village - which had a lovely terrace, great service and tasty pizza. There were another couple of restaurants that were closed because we visited in August, and there's a little supermarket - so it's not a bad choice if you fancy a bit of peace and quiet away from the hubbub of Verona. It's also ideal for exploring Valpolicella country, and even Lake Garda - and because it's a bit further out, you can avoid the heavier traffic in the city centre if you're travelling by car.

All in all - perfectly acceptable, but a little more human contact and more atmosphere would definitely have turned a 3-star visit into a 4-star one.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed at this wonderful B&B only 1 night, but it was a great stay in a great city of Verona. During our stay, we were the only group staying in. We stayed in room 3 just behind the reception counter. The room was not so big for 3 of us, but it was very clean and cosy. There was only one staff there when we arrived and she was very helpful and recommended a pizzaria nearby for our lunch. Food was simply amazing. Breakfast was simple but delicious. Don't expect much from Italian breakfast.
There is a bus stop nearby which makes it very convenient to go to the city center. Verona is such a wonderful city. I would really recommend this B&B to anyone who prefers to stay in a peace and quiet neighborhood outside the city center of Verona.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khanittra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This was perhaps the most interesting place we stayed in while travelling in Italy. On the plus side the accomodation itself was very nice and was very well priced (70 euro per night) and Verona itself was amazing. The Casa is located in a small village called Avesa and it is easy enough to catch a bus in and out of Verona. On the down side, the owners were away for the 2 night s we stayed and we were looked after by a nice enough young girl - but communication in English was a problem. We received no information about Verona or Avesa, which was incredible given that Avesa was holding a Fiesta over 2 nights (the nights we were staying) in the lawned area directly outside the Casa (and behind the church). Breakfast was limited and average. Now the most amazing part of our stay was the total unfriendliness of the locals, which was in stark contrast with how we found other areas of Italy. We took the opportunity to drop into the fiesta on both evenings and felt very unwelcomed. This extended to the following day when locals refused to say hello or even acknoweldge us when we said hello. I get the impression that tourists are not welcome in Avesa, which is a sahme because the accomodation itself is good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieGPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed just for one night, which was a shame. Verona is modern and beautiful, and a good base to explore the Garda region. The B&B is clean and cosy, with large bedrooms. It's located in a residential area, so you need to take a bus downtown or take a scenic walk for a restaurant (don't walk on the road, there is a more apropriated passage on the field). We actually didn't meet the owners, but Miriam, the receptionist, provide us a warm reception and good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Was picked up at train station promptly by Massimo, the owner. Room was ready and clean, well decorated with exotic fabrics. Massimo can tell you the whole story of the rehab of this prior convent. Next to a church, so bells are wonderful. If your windows and doors are closed, bells are subtle. But when you open the windows/doors, the bells sound wonderful! Need to take a bus into town. Bus runs until about midnight so after that, taxi is the way to get home. Went from Piazza Erbe to B&B for 10Euro, fyi. Buses can be difficult to navigate once in town so ask Massimo specifically where stops are for easier transport. Al Capital is a restaurant w/in walking distance of B&B that is very good. So you can certainly spend a day in Avesa at their local pubs, with two restaurants in the evening to choose from. All w/in walking distance. Grocery store is nearby for snacks, etc. Breakfast is an italian one, meaning light. There was a different cake each day, yogurt, cereal, juice, and espresso/cappuccino. Massimo was very friendly and outgoing so you can surely ask him to take you round for local highlights if he has time. He also offered to pick us up from the opera, that was the day we took the taxi. We are now considering going to stay in his apartments in Sardegna!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodmongrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My partner and I went to Verona for just two nights to watch AIDA at the Arena. We found Casa Magnani on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all. Its a very clean, nice looking/furnished B&B just 2 km out of the old centre of Verona. The breakfast was delicious too, especially the fresh cappuccino and selfmade cake.
Massimo even picked us up at 1am after the opera and gave us tipps and a map for further explorations around Lake Garda.
We had a wonderful stay and can strongly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christin_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.8 mi away
Albergo Fontana
Albergo Fontana
#41 of 79 in Verona
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Terracielo Verona
B&B Terracielo Verona
#82 of 412 in Verona
80 reviews
6.6 mi away
Resort Corte Pellegrini
Resort Corte Pellegrini
#66 of 412 in Verona
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Colifata B&B
Colifata B&B
#102 of 412 in Verona
60 reviews
5.5 mi away
B&B Luxory Verona - Villa Baietta
2.2 mi away
B&B Il Tulipano
B&B Il Tulipano
#11 of 412 in Verona
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Magnani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Magnani

Property: Casa Magnani
Address: Via Messer Ottonello, 7, 37127, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Magnani 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Magnani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing