We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A terrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Campo Marzio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Campo Marzio
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Vicenza
Certificate of Excellence
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A terrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Let me just start by saying that the photos displaying this hotel are inaccurate and do not portray what this place really looks like. They are in the process of renovating the rooms, but they've only completed one floor (shown in the website photos) and the remaining rooms are old and dirty with moldy showers and broken doors and lights. I can't believe they claim to be a "4-star" hotel. I've stayed in hostels that put this place to shame. Also, this hotel is located outside the city of Vicenza, and is in a very shady area with heavy police activity. If you're traveling with children or anything expensive, do not stay here. Maybe once the renovations are complete this place will get its act together, but after such a terrible experience, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcampomarzio, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Mr. Rob R.
We can understand you did not appreciate our hospitality, but really you wrote some wrong words :
First of all the photos, we wrote you om May 13 at the booking time, explaining to Mr. Spano who confirmed the rooms that were not available the photos of these standard rooms at a cheap ratem as where the last days on sale, from the end of last June in fact these rooms (just 2 in the whole hotel) now we are destroying them and build some new ones.
Second : we have 2 new Suites each floor and 3 Junior Suites each fllor (the first, the second and the third floor..) this regarding the double, furtjermore we also have 10 single deluxe renovated rooms. But, of course, they were all already booked.
Third : For sure there's nothin dirty in our rooms, specially the one you slept, as this is the first complain with more then 16.000 people sleeping here every year !.
Fourth : we are not located outside the city of Vicenza, but really 50 mt. from the walking and historical centre of Vicenza.
The 'shady' area (is only a corner, public-area) doesn't depends on us but the local administration.
We are sure in the next weeks we will become the most exclusive Hotel in Vicenza, completely exclusive all the rooms, we remind also we confirmed standard rooms and we replied writing not renovated at the moment of the reservation.....
Anyway we apologise for the misunderstanding but we cannot understand your heavy words in any case.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    218
    58
    19
    14
See reviews for
58
166
44
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 and was there for the trade show. This was a great location as it was close to the show but also around the corner from the shopping district. The room I stayed in was on the 3rd floor and was one of the older rooms. A few tired areas but I found this quite charming. The staff were very kind and helpful. The breakfast was excellent when I discovered their delicious scrambled eggs and their killer coffee. If management reads this, can you tell me the brand of coffee as I forgot to ask at check out!!

The only downside to this hotel is the immigrants that linger outside in clusters. The hotel cannot do anything about this and as long as you are vigilant and do not encourage any communication you will be just fine. This would not deter me from returning.

The hotel took a delivery for me and I was eternally grateful for their superb service. The hotel has been undergoing refurbishment but it didn't bother me in the slightest.

I would be more than happy to stay here again. So thanks to Valeria, Massimo and of course Gianni!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londongal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FVG
Level Contributor
228 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

so close to the railway station and due to Vicenza dimension..also close to the old city center..from the outside nothing special and also, especially at night, surrounded by bunches of candy men..and look alike..but no to worry about even if you are a woman travelling alone ( there's always carabinieri and police around)
the hotel has a dated lobby but I have been lucky to have one of the freshly renovated room which was great , comfy and quiet
spotless clean, great wi fi for free..
breakfast could be improved but it is ok

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bidibodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcampomarzio, customer care at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Sirs,
we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our new deluxe rooms.
Concerning the breakfast, we offer a choice of croissant (with cream, jam or chocolate), cold cuts, assorted cheese, white bread together with cereal and whole grain bread, biscuits, plum cake, choice of fruit jams (also diet marmalades are available), honey, fresh fruit and fruit in syrup, yoghurt of many flavours and also plain yoghurt, juices – on request scrambled eggs and fresh orange/lemon squash. Of course we serve a variety of hot drinks, like tea, milk, american coffee, cappuccino, espresso.
And above all we are talking about a continental breakfast buffet with no restrictions and with our staff always attentive and at disposal to guests.
In case of particular requests, like gluten free or diet products, the client can inform us in occasion of the reservation, and we provide the requested items.
Let us keep clearly in view always the opinion of our guests and advice because they help us to improve.
with the hope to have you back guests we send our best regards
Giovanni Dalboni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Vicenza train station area has all the usual ruffians etc. The hotel is barely 2 blocks from the station. There was nobody on the property to be leery of and nobody near the station bothered us at all. Campo Marzio is also only a couple blocks from the entrance to historic central Vicenza. The location is convenient.
The hotel is entering its last phases of a complete renovation. We were somewhat disappointed to be put in a room in the old area, which was to be gutted in about 10 days, in spite of an obvious occupancy rate of less than 60% during this off-season time frame. There were maintenance issues, which is not surprising given the imminent demolition of the room.

The breakfast room was open and cheerful. The breakfast was quite standard; cold cereal, sliced meat & cheese and such.

We had a Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Upon our return after the lunch, the sign had been removed and the room made up. Also, just before 8 pm we left to see the city at night. I came back to the room a few moments later to retrieve a forgotten item and found an employee in our room. When asked his purpose he said he was there to make up the room again & that is done each evening. However, it had not been done the prior evening. It may have been legitimate but certainly reduced my comfort level. I am not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trekkers1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcampomarzio, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs trekkers1 from Denver/Colorado

We read with regret your review , we apologizes you had a negative impression , we always give the best comfort to our customers.

The room that was allocated was one of those that have not yet been renovated , at the time you booked a standard room as clear specified at the moment of the reservation and you accepted .

We apologize if our staff entered in your room ,
sometimes a customer leaves the signal “no disturb” inadvertently .
Of course we know that we make sure by phone or knocking on the door that our customers are not inside before cleaning the room.

Even in the evening we usually review the room and check that everything is in order , we believe that this is the best way to make efficent our service for the guests.

However, if you did not want to clean up your room maybe notify our reception that no one would come to his room at the check in time.
 
We hope you come back and appreciate our new deluxe/juniorsuites in your next trip , and we invite you to come and visit us again we are sure that your opinion will become positive .
We send you our best regards.
Gianni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located a short walk from the train station. The staff are very friendly. The breakfast is very good. If you book for single occupancy, the rooms are very small. However, the bathrooms are big. Prices are reasonable and my stay there was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I guess it's the best hotel in town. Beautiful and large rooms. Location is perfect. Those having to do this beautiful city well worth!
I guess it's the best hotel in town. Beautiful and large rooms. Location is perfect. Those having to do this beautiful city well worth!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is excellent and superbly placed. The room standards are excellent and breakfasts superb. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Fantastic. However, the presence of extra-communitari loitering outside next to the hotel and in the park opposite and the constant presence of beggars and tramps in Vicenza centre and the station are a real turn-off. We were bothered more than 10 times in one evening. This is unacceptable and I have actually emailed the Vicenza council in Italian to express my concern and utter disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcampomarzio, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Campo Marzio, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Sarah,
We thank you very much for your review and really good values regarding the Hotel.
We also appreciate your email to Vicenza council for the people outside, we do hope they cam help us to solve the situation.
Anyway sorroundings are usually very safe and nice.
At your disposal for your next visit.
We just inform you we have deluxe and Suites rooms too. Best regards.
Gianni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vicenza hotels
0.5 mi away
Glam Boutique Hotel
Glam Boutique Hotel
#1 of 22 in Vicenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#3 of 22 in Vicenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#5 of 22 in Vicenza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Vicenza
Antico Hotel Vicenza
#10 of 22 in Vicenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#15 of 22 in Vicenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.1 mi away
AC Hotel Vicenza
AC Hotel Vicenza
#8 of 22 in Vicenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Marzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Marzio

Property: Hotel Campo Marzio
Address: Viale Roma 21, 36100 Vicenza, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Vicenza > Vicenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vicenza
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vicenza
#8 Business Hotel in Vicenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Campo Marzio 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Marzio is situated 20 metres from the pedestrian area and 200 metres from Vicenza train station, in an excellent location close to Corso Palladio, Piazza dei Signori and Palazzo Chiericati. Guests have access to bicycles which they can use to explore the city, and the chance to rent a car to explore the surrounding area. The multilingual staff are pleased to suggest tourist excursions and restaurants for guests to explore the area's traditions and unique characteristics. The facilities on offer include a convenient Internet access point in the lobby and outdoor parking - available only by booking. The reception is open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campo Marzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Marzio Vicenza
Campo Marzio Hotel Vicenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing