We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Bari
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Very efficient service, a combination of friendliness, efficiency and professionalism. Clean and comfortable rooms, service at breakfast room bar and cocktail bar all good or very good. Location is very good as well

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarMiz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    391
    173
    45
    28
See reviews for
97
266
40
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
223 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The service at the reception desk is top level - politeness, efficiency, rapidness & friendliness. We stayed for one night, and then another 2. Thus, we had to do the check-in procedure twice. On our second arrival since they obviously knew about us, we were greeted with luggages (which we left at the hotel) already in our rooms. Perfect

The breakfast is top quality as well from service to food.

The only recommendation for improvement is for the bar. We used both bars, & in both cases there isn't any bar menu, not even a wine list (from the bar at the ground floor). Again the service in both bars is ok, although a level inferior from the reception desk.

The hotel is in a perfect location, 5 minutes from the castle and the cathedral, 10 from Basilica di San Nicola and 15 minutes from train station. The area surrounding the hotel is filled with restaurants and bars.

The hotel to stay when in Bari beyond an doubt & the price of the room with breakfast was between 70 - 80 euro depending on the day. What could you ask for more?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valletta054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
978 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We loved staying here. The location is very good - just outside the old town. The reception staff was very welcoming and attentive. The room was nice with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom had a very good and spacious shower.
The breakfast room was large, and there was a lot to choose from.
I only wish italian hotel rooms had coffe/tea makers ...

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
144 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Palace Hotel is well situated on the edge of the old town and a short walk to the Bari port. The front desk personnel are very friendly and speak good English. Rooms, while a little tired, are spacious and clean. The breakfast room is large (and was very full) and serves a very large assortment of typical Italian breakfast items at a somewhat high cost. Would certainly stay here again if I found myself in Bari.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winwolf56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Comfortable with a nice sprinkle of decadence. We really enjoyed our stay at Palace Hotel. Bari is not the most walker friendly city but I did just fine with this location. Staff was excellent and those that had trouble with my Italian were very good humored about my attempts. We would definitely stay there again!
If you have the time to walk to the Adriatic, find a bench and watch the sail boats - beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRumphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For us a great location and good price and an underground car park cheaper than parking on the road. Room was fine, smallish, but we did not spend much time in it. A very short walk to both historic centre and shops. Breakfast was very good.
The Murat resto/bar on the top floor was questionable, great views although not open as advertised for cocktails and a slightly frosty reception when it did open 20 mins late, needless to say we went elsewhere for drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domedepi, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry for frosty welcome at our restaurant Murat for drinking a cocktail on the terrace, our staff is usually very welcoming. I hope to see you again at the Palace Hotel. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Palace hotel is an excellent choice when staying in Bari. In terms of location it is close to the harbour and Old Town as well as all the other sites within Bari. Our room was very large with seating area and the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee maker. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom very spacious and overall very clean.
The breakfast choice is amazing, one of the best I have seen in Italy. But the absolute star of the show is almost definitely Patrizia the Maître D. She welcomes everyone and makes them feel at home and nothing is too much bother for her. She made our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rondinelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
2.2 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#6 of 42 in Bari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari
0.8 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.4 mi away
Hotel Imago
Hotel Imago
#7 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Via Francesco Lombardi 13, 70122, Bari, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the exclusive "Urban Resort" of the Palace Hotel, overlooking "Bari Vecchia", San Nicola Basilic and Svevo Castle and located in one of the most refined areas of Bari. A prestigious hotel beloved by world-famous celebrities and politicians, it is the ideal location for a romantic weekend, a business stay or a luxury yet discreet vacation. As a home-away-from-home, where one can relax, it is a perfect setting for events and congresses, unique in its kind for the range of services it offers: 195 rooms and suites, 1 Presidential Suite, Lounge Bar, the Restaurant Murat, the modern Congress Centre with 16 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 1500 persons, and in a short time 300 square metre of Spa Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing