We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but awful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but awful service”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A nice hotel in a perfect location, along the promenade and a short walk from the old town. Nice, modern decor throughout, including the rooms.

The big negative was the service at breakfast. The worst I have ever come across. The two waiters made it quite clear from their attitude that we were in their way and should not be disturbing them as they walk around aimlessly. Several requests for simple things like milk and coffee were met with a sigh and the subsequent 10-minute waits left no doubt that they were trying to make a point to us. This attitude is common in Italy, but has no place in a 5-star hotel.

Having said that, the service at Reception was much better.

I am happy that my company was paying for my stay and I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferganto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    192
    76
    24
    17
See reviews for
73
220
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leuven
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I stayed in Boscolo Bari for two nights for bussiness. The room was very clean, trendy and beautiful. The service was excellent: always someone available to address your questions and the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious! I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank marike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I were particularly impressed by the concierge staff, Francesco and Yulia (sp?). Francesco assisted us greatly with our train schedules, touring and driver transfers from Bari to Naples. Yulia was very helpful in detailing our restaurant options and proactive in getting us reservations. The wait staff in the dining room was also very impressive and made sure we received what we had ordered.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view which added to our experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 993Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in 'Boscolo' for three nights. It was an excellent location with an amazing view on the roof terrace, attentive and friendly staff, very nice, modern and clean rooms and great shower. We also liked the lounge music and the fast elevator.
Breakfast could be better for a five star hotel (no warm dishes, to much pastry). Breakfast staff asked us on our last day if we wanted an omelette ... Why didn't they on our first and second day? Expensive mini bar. We missed a bottle of water or some cookies for free on the room. Dinner was ok but not special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I recently stayed in the Boscolo Hotel in Bari for one night. I arrived about 8 pm after a long day of travel, culminating in lost luggage by Alitalia for the second time in one week---clearly a bit flustered. The reception staff could not have been nicer and more attentive. They called the airport lost and found several times that evening to check whether the luggage had arrived. The next day our group checked out to head down the Pulgia coast for several days, sans luggage. The staff continued to assist me with calls to lost and found over the next 4 days, keeping in touch and contacting me with updates. Francesco, Angelina, and Serena were just amazing advocates for someone who spent one night on property. To top it off we had a wonderful dinner in the hotel dining room with attentive and eager to please personnel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed there twice for a night each time in October 2013. The First time we had a very large room with no view and the second time had a sea facing room but was tiny. Both times we stayed on the 2nd floor but the second floor is on 3 levels so depends which level your room is you may still have to negotiate a small flight of stairs.Both times we had warm water showers.Reception was not able to explain why .Parking was a hefty 25 euros a night as there is very little parking in cities.Most places we paid around 10 euros.

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buck1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuroch
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

brand new hotel, very modern and some rooms have an amazing view on the ocean... which is few steps away. very friendly staff. few things were missing for the price category: no use of the wonderful terrace for breakfast, no room service for dinner, mediocre quality for rooms complements: shampo, cream, mini bar, etc.

Room Tip: get a room with the view otherwise it does not really make sense to choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
2.1 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 41 in Bari
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#7 of 41 in Bari
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 41 in Bari
963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bari
897 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo delle Nazioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo delle Nazioni

Property: Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Address: Lungomare Nazario Sauro 7, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Bari)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Albergo delle Nazioni 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Grande Albergo delle Nazioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing