We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Boscolo, there's not much to say...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's a Boscolo, there's not much to say...”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When i come to Bari I always stay at Boscolo since it's a hassle free and high standard solution for me.
The location is not exactly in the centre but on the sea side.
Rooms are comfortable and well decorated, the bathroom is usually very spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    192
    76
    24
    17
See reviews for
73
220
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I spent five days at the Boscolo Bari and it was a wonderful experience. Firstly the Hotel is in a perfect location next to the Lungo Mare (ocean front), a short walk to the Old Town and near the shopping areas. Also the Train Station is an easy walk from the Hotel. The hotel is a modern sleek design which hits all the right notes. Our room was stunning, vibrant blue colours adorned the wall but not overwhelming. Shower and water closet were separate. In fact the shower separated the bed and bathroom sinks a very cool and sleek element. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. We splurged for the balcony and it was well worth it. We had a view of the Adriatic and could take in the night life on the Lungo Mare without being in the din of it all. It was breathtaking to wake up to the ocean out your window and to fall asleep to the moon dipping into the ocean. We did not use the restaurants but made excellent use of the rooftop pool. It is a neat little Oasis in the Southern Italian Metropolis. A nice little pool, comfortable seating area, just what you need after a hot day of tooling around the city.

Some travel tips…Alberobello and Grotte di Castellana are well worth the visit. Head to the Bari Centrale train station enter at the far left of the station and take the FSE train…tickets are bought on the platform and the agents can help you out. We loved the San Marco gelateria just inside old Bari

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingtechers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, on the sea front and a short walk to the old town. We chose this hotel because it seemed to be the only one in Bari with an outdoor pool. The AC worked well in the room and walls are soundproofed. Unfortunately, like some other reviewers of this hotel, we too experienced really poor service, particularly from staff at breakfast, including the Maitre D' who rarely appeared to be doing anything. On nearly every day of our 7-day stay there were basic crockery items missing. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was good and plentiful and you can ask for special items for breakfast if you want them, although hotel guidance does not make this clear. Also on a positive note, two of the female staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Service at the poolside is practically non-existent and we were told that the Maitre D' from breakfast did not permit food to be served, only drinks. On a Sunday it seems that local people can eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant and they are treated better than the guests, with staff telling guests at the pool not to come in where people were dining to request drinks!
We too had to ask for toiletries to be replenished in the room but we got them the next day. Some of the hallway carpets are extremely dirty (red lighting here is tacky, out of keeping with the blue and white theme and makes hallways very dark)
Just before our holiday we were advised that this hotel is no longer part of the Boscolo group and we did wonder whether it is because the hotel fails to meet its 5* rating.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view. Avoid 2nd floor "mezzanine" area as its up or down stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orriss54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here over the weekend as it looks like one of the nicest hotels in Bari. This seems true as the hotel has some lovely spa and rooftop pool facilities and the decor (even though it is a bit bright and kitsch) is pleasant and spotless.
However where this hotels falls so terribly is in it's ridiculously poor customer service. The hotel seems as if it runs on a skeleton staff with about 7 members doing a thousand jobs (which is ridiculous for a 6 storey 5* hotel) There was rarely anyone serving in the downstairs bar, restaurant staff were all morbid and unfriendly and it is a ghost town in the rooftop pool area.
The worst incident happened when we asked for our mini bar to be replaced. A day later it was still not replenished so we asked again. A day later and it was STILL not replaced. On the third day we were told rather defensively that the mini bar was always replenished after 5 every day (hmmmmm) and that the reason ours was "probably" not done was because they didn't want to disturb us in our room. Begrudgingly they asked someone to replace it for us. When we arrived back it had been replenished but not with every item. (I think they do this as there is an option to pay for unlimited mini bar when checking in)
All in all the rooms are nice, the views are exceptional but it's just so unfortunate that the service is more 2* than 5.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view but don't pay for unlimited mini bar before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location, situated near the sea and close to the port and the old town area. Ideal for ourselves as we were taking the ferry over to Greece.
Pet friendly hotel, the rooms were lovely although we had pre-booked executive rooms.
Only experienced the room service which was a bit hit and miss. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greencrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was extremely surprised to experience such bad customer service in an Hotel of this range. I booked a room for a Guest of mine and wanted to pay in advance: I have hardly experienced so many issues to pay an hotel room (and I do travel, seriously, a lot). It took 45 minutes to pay the room, they could not found my booking , they keep telling that the breakfast was not included (while it was), they did not even want to issue a receipt, a piece of paper, something, stating that I had settled the bill! Even keep writing the wrong Client name. Let alone I had to stand un-acknowledged for 10 minutes before the reception staff asked me if they could help me.
I was told by my guest that the hotel was nice tho.
I know the position is great.
but, to me, hiccups like this in a 5 star hotel are not acceptable.
I

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is very modern and new and the room we had was large with a view of the water. The A/C worked great, that's amazing in Italy. Now for the bad news. The room service is terrible. We waited 1 hr. for coffee and toast. Had to call 3 times to remind them and when it came it was so cold we never drank it. They also charge far to much for room service, more then they did in Florence or Rome. The next morning we reminded them of the long wait for coffee and they assured us it would be quick. 40 minutes later and another cup of cold coffee we complained thinking they would take it off our bill. They never did. We had no hot water in the morning, just warm. The day we left I called for a porter to help take our luggage downstairs. They never showed up after 3 calls and waiting 35 minutes. When we went down stairs carrying our 6 pieces of luggage we noticed the luggage carts where all in the lobby and the staff where chatting. i complained and again no response. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
2.1 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 41 in Bari
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oriente
Hotel Oriente
#5 of 41 in Bari
612 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 41 in Bari
965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bari
899 reviews
5.4 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo delle Nazioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo delle Nazioni

Property: Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
Address: Lungomare Nazario Sauro 7, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Boscolo Bari)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Albergo delle Nazioni 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo delle Nazioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing