We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio
Ranked #38 of 152 Bari B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Thank you Gianni, you are the perfect host.

What a wonderful room ...what a wonderful town ...and what a wonderful price!

If you are planning a trip to this magical part of Italy, this is the place to begin. A quiet and peaceful location, a few steps from the sea wall and a few steps from all the bars and restaurants you could ever need.

Bari is such a romantic place and the people are warm, and friendly and welcoming. We'll definitely be back next year and staying at Gianni's place.

I know you will enjoy your stay too.

Peter and Maureen Hire

Room Tip: Just ask Gianni. He speaks perfect Engish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterHire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

A very comfortable and clean room set in a quiet piazza near the remains of an old church. Location could not have been better being within walking distance of all the attractions of the old city. The owner was very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni I, Proprietario at Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014
Google Translation

Grazie !!!!!! E' stato un piacere alla prossima!!! Cordiali saluti Gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Santa Maria Del Buon . Located right in the heart of Bari old town. If you want true Bari than this is the place to stay. Gianni is the perfect host , on arrival fresh fruit and water and some great information given about the town. Gianni is not intrusive and couldn't be more helpful. He suggested great local restaurants and a trip to Trani on the train which made for a perfect day.
The room was spotless and the king bed was the best we had slept in for 2 weeks.
Do yourself a favour and book a room at Santa Maria and get outside and talk to the locals !

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni I, Proprietario at Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014
Google Translation

Grazie !!!!!!!!!!! Felice di avervi conosciuto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This B&B is well located in the historic old town within minutes of the principal sights which are easily reached on foot. The owner, Gianni, picked me up from the rail station and also took me to catch the bus to the airport the next day. This is invaluable as the old town is a rabbit warren of narrow streets. Guide books carry warnings of bag snatchers in Bari so a door to door service is much appreciated. The room was spacious and water, fruit juice and fruit were included. My accommodation appeared to be the ground floor of a house with the bathroom at the rear with a window whereas the bedroom had no window and a inner and outer door, the latter helping to block out any street noises. The property is centuries old and whilst containing everything for a comfortable stay the conversion did not provide a light switch within easy reach of the bed. Breakfast was served in my room and I would have liked a jug of coffee, rather than just a cup, I was asked what I would like for breakfast, so this would be easily remedied on another occasion. However, this B&B represents safe, clean accommodation with transfers included, so is good value. Gianni pointed out the principal buildings of interest as well as a recommended restaurant as we drove to the B&B on my arrival. I discovered that many restaurants opened only in the evening, so anyone requiring lunch prior to departure will need to plan carefully. Gianni is an excellent host who takes great pride in his property. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adevoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni I, Proprietario at Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Grazieee!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Excellent location in the heart of the old, historic city.
Very close to the most representative hostorical monuments
of Barii such as Basilica of Saint Nicholas, or XXII
Cathedral of San Sabino or Swabian Castle.
Beautiful, stylish and very clean room has all one needs to
feel comfortable and relaxed.Extremenly nice and helpful personel.
I would warmly recommend the place no matter if you're
travelling alone or with a group of fiends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doodu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianni I, Proprietario at Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Grazie molto gentile!!! Saluti gianni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

When I travel, I like to mix up different types of accommodations. Before arriving we'd been in a 4 star hotel, after Bari we headed to a trullo. It's impossible to make comparisons.
This B & B had a lot going for it starting with our call the day before to reconfirm. Gianni offered to pick us up at the train station. I didn't realize how invaluable that offer was. He even arrived 2 hours earlier than planned after we made a last minute train change. He drove past a building we had inquired about so we could later return and know how to find it. We were lucky enough to get the suite. (There are some lovely pictures of the accommodations on this site.) It was more like a spacious apartment without a kitchen. The bathroom (like the entire place) was very tastefully decorated and I appreciated a nice big, clean tub after a long day. The bathroom was large with a window.
(The stairs leading to the bathroom and also to the B & B itself would not be suitable for some travelers.) We didn't have our bearings very well on this 1st time visit to Bari. So we didn't realize until that night how great the location was, easily accessible to the port and the old town with shortcuts we later found.
Breakfast was adequate and it was nice to have it in the room, but I prefer and expect something more to eat in the morning and I like an accommodation that makes it possible. (It's also an added value.) But I won't deduct points in this case.
A huge TV that worked easily and well.
Right outside the window were ancient ruins! At night we heard the locals arguing and dogs barking including 2-3 beagles on a balcony . I actually like those sounds. There weren't many of them, but I think the street had an echo. Once the doors and windows were pulled shut it was zzzzzzz time.
We had a little trouble with the keys....and only one of us is blond.
Tasteful, clean and comfortable with an accommodating host....can't ask for anything more than that. Highly recommend. Grazie, Gianni!

Room Tip: Try to get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GardaGal0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Bed and Breakfast Santa Maria & del Buon Consiglio.
Our pleasant days in Bari began with our host picking us up at the airport late at night. As the hotel is situated inside the old city, we would have had problems to find it otherwise. We were given a small sightseeing tour before arriving at the hotel, which is very small in a house from the 11th-12th century on a small piazza dominated by a pair of columns from an old ruin. Being history lovers this site surpassed all our dreams. Our room was actually a suite. First we entered a front room dominated by a big globe and inside the large bed room we were impressed by the room's classic character. Dark parquet floors, a large heavy and elegant dark dinner oak table with chairs. Straight on the balcony from which we could look out over the lovely piazza. A huge flat screen TV is fitted into the furniture. The room is dominated by the four poster double bed. A short staircase leads to a large bathroom with everything that you wish and with very thick and fluffy towels.
Breakfast was served in the room by the host at the time we requested, a very simple breakfast with cappuccino, a croissant and a glass of good orange juice. Not much, but typically Italian. You can hardly find a better starting point for hikes in the old historical centre of Bari, close to the Normanic-Swabian Castle and the San Sabino Cathedral or the Basilica of San Nicola. Also close to nice restaurants. With the helpfulness we met and the proximity and historic charm, you cannot find a better place to stay here in Bari.

Room Tip: Ask for the Juloet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorkelKarlsbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
1.4 mi away
B&B Casa Rossella
B&B Casa Rossella
#3 of 152 in Bari
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Calo
Palazzo Calo
#17 of 152 in Bari
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#2 of 40 in Bari
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
1.3 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
5.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Baia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio

Address: Vico Forno Santa Scolastica n. 1, 70122, Bari, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bari
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Maria del Buon Consiglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing