We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and central but service is a little unpredictable”
Review of Viasparano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viasparano
Ranked #55 of 143 Bari B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean and central but service is a little unpredictable”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is great, less than 3 min walk (even with luggage) from the Bari Central train station and along the pedestrian mall. The property is clean and there is elevator access to every floor. This hotel has rooms on different floors of the building that is shared with law offices and medical offices. There is no reception service. The owner or operator came outside the building to meet us when we first got there. It is self catered with a coffee machine and snacks and juice in your room. However, it feels very safe and owner/operator is friendly.

One thing we did not quite appreciate is that while they ask you when you would like your breakfast (warm croissants) to be served in your room, the time they arrive could be 30 min or even much earlier than you have requested, i.e. you are still in your pjs and in a sleep mode when they arrive at your door. I wish they would just leave the food outside on a common table for us to help ourselves. Another thing is also to make sure you have cash handy. The 2nd time we checked in, the credit card machine was broken. It would have been very inconvenient to go pick up cash then or to arrange to pay the next day since there is no one at the counter.

This is a gem of a place and I would have given it 5 stars if not for its rather unpredictable service quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMSJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    32
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
19
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My sister and I stayed at B&B Viasparano for 1 night. It is very close to the train station but definitely overpriced. We had given an approximate time of arrival, as requested, but when we arrived there was nobody to greet us. The "B&B" is colder and more business hotel-like than your average B&B. It consists of a number of apartments on different floors of an office building (doctors, lawyers, even a laboratory). A building security man very kindly phoned the B&B owner to tell him we were waiting for him. The owner himself, when he arrived, was businesslike and indifferent. We had reserved separate beds and were told rather unapologetically that that wasn't what we'd be getting. We had to pay in advance. While the credit card machine struggled with our "foreign" card, we were offered a coffee with minimal graciousness. We weren't given a map of the city or any other useful information. We were shown our room, they went over checkout procedures etc (simply leave the key in the room and close the door). That was the end of our contact with the B&B owners. The room itself was fine; it was clean, with good water pressure and efficient air conditioning. The balcony had a good view down Via Sparano. (This street could possibly get noisy on weekends, though.) There was a coffee machine in the room, which we thought was a nice idea until we realized that meant we had to use it make our own breakfast coffee. We were told how to froth milk to make cappuccino but no milk was provided. Breakfast consisted of a pre-laid tray of packaged biscuit-type things and fruit juice (already in the room when we arrived) and 1 brioche and 1 croissant for 2 people brought in the morning. Also worth mentioning: the lift is very small (barely fits 2 small people with a smallish backpack each).

Room Tip: Don't count on getting separate beds if you request them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanvitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We did not arrive until almost 2200 hrs but having advised the hotel, someone was there to meet us. It was a speedy checkin and we were in bed within half an hour of arriving at the station which is 2-3 mins away.

Nespresso machine was a real plus. Breakfast was minimal but hey there are always tons of bars around to get a breakfast cafe latte or an evening espresso or a grappa.

The room was spacious as was the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiethefloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I had a really great stay here, awesome location, really safe, new, clean with everything you could need. Would totally stay here again if I found myself in Bari.
Breakfast included was a bonus, good wifi too.
Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitaminC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Good:

The kind owner of the property met us on the street outside and welcomed us in.
The location was great, especially if arriving via train. The property is on a main street just across the main roundabout/plaza.
The quaint, tiny elevator.
The unique, open floor-plan of the room. Modern, minimalist, but comfortable.
Easy walk to the historical center and main shopping areas of Bari.
Nice in-room breakfast items provided. In-room Nespresso coffee maker!

The Bad:

Because of the location/set up of the hotel (it's within a commercial/residential building), it felt less like a typical hotel and more like staying in a nice apartment. Different than what I was expecting, but definitely not a deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Our room on the 7th floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucktown_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.2 mi away
Adria Hotel Bari
Adria Hotel Bari
#9 of 40 in Bari
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#11 of 40 in Bari
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Odessa
Odessa
#59 of 143 in Bari
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Martina
B&B Martina
#8 of 42 in Bari
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Melo
B&B Melo
#8 of 143 in Bari
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palazzo Calo
Palazzo Calo
#19 of 143 in Bari
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viasparano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viasparano

Property: Viasparano
Address: Via Sparano da Bari 149, 70121, Bari, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the beginning of one of the main shopping streets of Bari, just 100 meters from Central Station and close to all the attractions in the city, the Viasparano offers 6 modern rooms with unique decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Viasparano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing