We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere clean to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel HR
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Bari
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Somewhere clean to sleep”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel on a Saturday night after flying into Bari. It is a business hotel and situated outside town.
Don't try to find it if you don't have a sat nav. I kept passing it on the wrong side of a dual carriageway and had great difficulty coming off and heading in the opposite direction.
The bar and restaurant were closed when we arrived at 10 pm. The restaurant does not open Saturday, I don't know about the bar.
My wife asked for a drink from the bar, but was refused. I asked and the receptionist reluctantly got the drinks for me. He did appear to be the only person in the hotel.
The room was clean with a bath and shower, there are shutters and double glazing to keep out the noise of the road.
Breakfast was average with the waitress having to be summoned from the kitchen to get coffee.
Average best describes this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you have sat nav to find this place. It's ok for an overnight stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jameshill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    78
    40
    21
See reviews for
44
39
10
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gießen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We got the No. 610 south side room. Inside 40 degrees when we arrived at late night. AC was NOT working at all. The guy at the reception excuses the breakdown "because of the heat outside". As if it would be the first time summer in Puglia. No other room available and no option than to keep window and door open. Outside an infernal traffic noise of the highway passing by. We had to cool down every 20 minutes with a cold but only dripping shower and didn't sleep at all. The jurassic computer in the lobby took hours to access my mails. The manager was not willing to reduce a single penny. The hotel is close to the airport but the taxis charge horrendous fares. Unfortunately the "Worst Western" we ever stayed. If you need only an airport hotel choose the Parco dei Principi closer to the airport - costs more but you will save the money with the taxi fares.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_Foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bari hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Best Western had no services near by (restaurants etc.) which made things difficult after a long, hungry travel day. The room was clean and comfortable for a single night stay prior to departing on a ferry the next morning. The restaurant was somewhat poor, offering minmal choices. Breakfast was standard for European hotels. The most frustrating thing was the location in relation to the ferry port and train station. While it appeared to be somewhat close to these areas, without a car rental the taxi service to and from these locations was 30+ euro each direction. There was a swimming pool which we used, but considering its location diectly adjacent to the highway, it was not the most enjoyable outdoor recreation area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The room was standard, clean...breakfast...we left before we had breakfast available to all guests. Pricing is a huge factor and definitely does not compare with what you get....yet clean, elevator to room, availability of taxis for airport. What more can we want? Would we stay there again? Close to airport - key factor...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Where do I start?

The address: SS 96 Km 119,300 | Bari-Modugno, 70123 Bari, Italy

I didn't notice at first glance that there is no street name. Just a highway. And no number, just a number of km. So, pretty hard to find even with a tom tom, particularly when the post code is incorrect. If you do decide to stay here, then try 70026 as this hotel is actually closer to Modugno than Bari and you are more likely to find it this way.

When I called up to check the address and get directions, I asked the person who answered if they spoke English. They pretended not to understand and repeated the address above very fast and impatiently in Italian (including the number 119,300km). They provided absolutley no help in how we were to find the place. However, I was able to catch that the postal code was different, and hence at least able to find the SS96 and we drove down that until we saw the hotel. Which to be fair does have a big well lit "Hotel" sign at the top of the building and is hard to miss if you do happen to drive past it.

It is on a major road, and when approaching from Bari (at night) it felt like we drove a long way before we were able to turn around and come back so that we were on the same side of the road as the drive way.

On arrival, the one harrangued receptionist did not know whether a cot had been placed in our room as requested when booking. He was, to his credit, ready to go up to the room to check, leaving us with sleeping toddler in our arms (and about 4 other people waiting to check in) at reception. It turned out there was no cot in the room and the only cot in the hotel was broken. So no cot for our already asleep child.

The room was clean and comfortable. There was a bath for our little one. Breakfast was a pretty good spread. So there were some positives.

The showers barely got hot. Still, it being pretty hot outside, this didn't matter too much to us.

The reason we chose this particular hotel was for its pool so that we could have a quick (but tiring to toddler) swim in the morning before heading to our next destination. But the pool was looking decidedly more green and blotchy than it should have so we gave it a miss.

The next morning, the same receptionist was still at the front desk by himself with dark circles under his eyes and a grim expression. When we voiced all our complaints, he used the classic line "it is not my fault <pause> I'm sorry".

At least he apologised. It wasn't his fault. The hotel seems under staffed. They could do with another person at reception, someone in house keeping and a pool cleaner. Oh, and a travel cot that isn't broken.

Also watch out when pulling out of the car park. You pull out almost blind out of the driveway into a busy highway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pashLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Although we only stayed for one night we fixed the air con & tv in our room. For us we had trouble with the language barrier at check in. Food was fresh and tasty in the restaurant, however very little hot food on offer for breakfast, just some scrambled or boiled eggs. Also nowhere near the selection of cured meats like other places we've stayed in Italy. Only some square processed ham.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruns15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2011

A car is a must when staying at this hotel. Nowhere can be walked from the hotel. There are no shops, restaurant, coffee bars, etc, local to it, only industrial units, warehouses, etc.
It's right on a very busy road (the pool is within a couple of metres of the road, which is very noisy 24hrs). Rooms at the front (50% of rooms) suffer from traffic noise.
The restaurant was closed on Sundays. The receptionist will send out for pizzas.
The TV controls were extremely difficult to master. A set of instructions to manipulate the remote control were required. The hotel courtesy bus was expensive (€15) and wasn't available even the short time it was supposed to be available. Breakfast was quite good. Staff were snooty.
Would i return to this hotel - not on your nelly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
3.4 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 41 in Bari
331 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 41 in Bari
964 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western La Baia Palace Hotel
2.6 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hotel Zodiacus
Hotel Zodiacus
#13 of 41 in Bari
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel HR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel HR

Property: Best Western Hotel HR
Address: Strada Statale 96 Km 119,300 | near the Motorway A14 Exit Bari Nord, 70123, Bari, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel HR 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel HR is located in a strtegic position, near the Motorway A14 exit Bari Nord, only 10km far away from the airport, 6 Km from the Levant Fair, 5 km from city centre and from the Port.Our 68 confortable rooms are all equipped with TV , air conditioning, Wi-Fi, thelephone , automatic wake-up service, to offer you a pleasant stayng.You can taste our typical cusine in our breathtaking restaurant faced on our garden.A large park, out-door swimming pool, five out-door tennis courts and a relax area for recreational activities will assure you a pleasant stay.A large parking area for private car and buses is at your disposal for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel HR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hr
Best Western Modugno
Modugno Best Western
Best Western Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing