We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Oriente Hotel”
Review of Hotel Oriente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriente
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Oriente Hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

4 of us stayed here for 2 nights last week. The front desk staff was amazingly helpful, giving us a terrific restaurant name, and directions to various places. Rooms were nicely decorated and very clean with comfortable beds. One room was on the inner courtyard side and was very quiet. Friends whose room overlooked the street had a nice view but said it was a little noisy. Terrific location, close to everything. Only suggestions would be to install a towel rack next to the sink, and put a soap dish in the shower that will actually hold the bar of soap. And wi-fi access in the rooms would be a help. The lobby is beautiful but not much fun to sit around in trying to get email, etc. Breakfast buffet was substantial and of high quality.A nice touch was a bag of amaretti cookies as a gift in our room. The roof top lounge is a great place to hang out in nice weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigihf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    276
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
56
195
39
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here recently for 6 nights to visit my son who lives in Bari. My first room was stuffy, as it faced the courtyard with no fresh air to enter the room. The manager in charge offered me an upgrade to a room with a window facing the main street, which was noisy but much better. The hotel is brand new, very clean and modern and the staff is friendly and attentive. No wireless available in the rooms, just the lobby. Breakfast was included with the room, it was very good. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The single rooms along the courtyard do not have fresh air windows. The street side is very noisy la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qrendi, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Once we changed rooms from the front to the side, we loved this hotel. The hotel has been recently been done up so don't understand why they did put in double glazing at the front?
The staff were very friendly & very helpful. Lovely decor. Really handy location to all things in Bari.

Room Tip: Room at the back/side are much quieter. While the front have balconies, the road is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed for 3 days in this hotel. Location is really good ,you can walk from train station just a few blocks. That is important if you want to travel around the region as i did.
Staff was okay , front desk are nice people.

Breakfast was okay too, i had to wait a long while to get some coffee... just the guy was polite at the breakfast room, the girl was very rude and it seems she did not care at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I recently has the pleasure of staying a night at this hotel whilst sightseeing in Bari.

The hotel is well located, just off the main shopping district and a short walk from all the interesting sights in the old part of town.

The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Check out time was 10 AM, but my train for Rome didn't leave until 13:15. They happily stowed my luggage for me and delivered it back promptly when I returned to collect it.

I had one of the standard rooms. It was a good size -- though not spacious, I didn't feel cramped either. The decor is a tasteful combination of classic style with modern touches. Both the room and the bathroom were immaculate. The king bed was two twins pushed together, but I've found this to be the standard practice in Italy. The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

Breakfast offered limited, but adequate choices, with excellent cappuccino.

My only quibble is minor: The wifi is available only in the public areas of the main floor. I had already read that this was the case before I booked into the hotel, so it didn't take me as a surprise. This may be a concern if you're travelling on business. I was on holiday, so I didn't mind sitting in one of the comfy chairs in the lobby to check my email.

I give the Oriente Hotel an enthusiastic recommendation!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontePozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Reservations: made by a friend in Bari so I don't know the details.
Check-in: fast efficient and very courteous
Room: tastefully decorated, nice size, great bathroom, slightly small shower, excellent towels, heated towel rack, great bath products.
Breakfast: excellent buffet breakfast included in the price of the room, with a nice selection of cheeses, eggs, bacon, breads, cereal, yogurt, pastries, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, expresso, etc.
Gym: none.
Location: excellent in downtown Bari close to shops and dining.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.

Wireless Internet: free BUT very poor connection strength in the room, meaning that a hookup to the ethernet cable was needed. In this day and age, a hotel of this quality should have better wireless internet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Excellent location for visiting the city and shopping. Close to cruise terminal in Bari. All the staff are rofessional and helpfull. Their serivce level is high. Our room was spacious, quiet and modern. Everthing was clean and comfy. Great breakfast buffet. There is no restaurant in the hotel but lots of retaurants and bars are in the nearby. Generally very nice property.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bari hotels
0.4 mi away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 40 in Bari
913 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 40 in Bari
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci
1.9 mi away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 40 in Bari
986 reviews
5.0 mi away
Parco Dei Principi Hotel Congress & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriente

Property: Hotel Oriente
Address: Corso Cavour 32, 70121, Bari, Italy (Formerly Oriente Hotel)
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Bari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bari
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Oriente goes back to his origins after a long and careful restoration process. It opens up again and reminds through his architecture and decorations the golden age in which it was the most appreciated hotel in Bari. This old hospitality tradition started in the first years of the twentieth century, with businessmen trading between Balkans and Far East with Bari, “PortaD’Oriente”. An elected place for meeting and to discover other world.Since the opening in 1928, Hotel Oriente has hosted the greatest Opera tenors, who played their performances in the near world-famous Teatro Petruzzelli, becoming immediately,the chosen place by these celebrities. The Hotel is located inCorso Cavour, in the heart of Bari Centre. Hotel Oriente still represents the ideal meeting point for businessmen and also for tourists that love going shopping or sightseeing and wander in the narrow streets of the main town in Apulia. Chic and comfortable furniture enriches the atmosphere of each one of the 75 rooms and suites. Decorations are carefully perfected in all details, white play of light and kristal. The rooms have an elegant and determined artistic temperament and offer all the comforts to the guests.A nice surprise is the Roof Garden, that overlooks the whole city of Bari, the dome of Petruzzelli Theater and on the horizon the deep blue sea. A breath-taking panorama, perfect setting fora characteristic breakfast, a wine party at sunset, or for a cosy drink beneath the starry vault of heaven. A unique sensationthat will make unforgettable your stay in Hotel Oriente.The American Bar is opened for whole day and it is the ideal meeting place for friends or a cosy point for a pause. Here you will taste original cocktails.There are also two well-equipped meeting rooms to do your business. Hi-Tech and tradition, in the service of quality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing