We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Orientale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Orientale
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Brindisi
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is the most disappointing hotel stay in my life. I emailed them to book a room and they promised an early check-in since we arrive in the morning, the guy at the reception gave us a room 101 (the number tells it all) the room was single and all amenities was for one person, located obviously in an under renovation area. We were paying full rate and were expecting a nice rest and splurge before catching the ferry to Vlore from Brindisi after a night bus but alas it turned into a nightmare. The room smelled of cigarettes smoke so badly it was suffocating.

Night came and hell broke loose when some bugs started biting us in the bed. the bed side between the sheet and the bed was so dirty and full of bugs!

06:14 am we wake up on a huge sound of a drilling machine in the wall. It seems the works of renovation started, i call the reception the guy tell me no there isn't any work and i check, I go down and he says yes sorry it was a mistake, the renovation guys were not informed of our stay.
I explain the bugs issue and the room dissatisfaction,I agree that we need a late check out till 12 noon as we couldnt sleep. but from 09 till 11 they are drilling our walls non stop and the noise is insane. At 11 i call him he says well you have to check out if we are bothered by the noise. Anyhow, it was a horrible no sleep night.

The only pluses are that this place is in center indeed and the nice smiley lady at the breakfast.
I have worked in hotels for years and this was the worst unfriendly dirty place i have seen and that's impressive as Italy is known for friendly people, not to mention they are supposed to be a 4 star, a hostel room would have been better.

Overall the hotel gave us a 30€ discount on check out after we were arguing and telling the nightmare we been through with them. It was never about money as we didn't ask, a simple apology would have worked, but putting a lie over a lie and acting as arrogant was all the receptionist could offer to us, he never admitted any error. A disappointing stay and experience, what a shame!

Room Tip: Avoid this place, or otherwise never stay in 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    137
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
57
22
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Orientale for six nights and found it to be outstanding. Our room was recently renovated and present a function modern appearance. What can I say about the included breakfast other than it went beyond our expectations. It was abundant and features both a hot and cold buffet with local products. I would highly recommend this hotel if you shoud find yourself in Brindisi.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelorientale, Direttore at Hotel Orientale, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We always try to do our best to make feel our guest welcome and comfortable.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
220 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was in Brindisi for training and picked this hotel out of several that the organizers had recommended, based on reviews I'd read on TripAdvisor.

The hotel is within walking distance from both the port and the train station. A 15-minute taxi ride from the airport costs about EUR 25, but if you don't mind walking for a few minutes, you can get a bus at the airport, pay EUR 1, get off at the train station, and walk no more than 10 minutes to the hotel (go past the piazza with a fountain shaped like an anchor, keep right, and just keep going on Corso Garibaldi till you see the hotel on your right). The bus trip does not take considerably longer than the taxi ride.

The street where the hotel is located is filled with shops (including a supermarket) and cafés. Most sites and other destinations are only a few minutes away on foot.

The rooms are newly renovated. My single room was compact, contained the basics (refrigerator, safe, closet, desk, television and fully functional air conditioner) and had a small window looking out to an external staircase (I doubt that the view for those in even-numbered rooms would be any better). I am petite and did not have problems with the shower, but someone of a larger build might feel cramped (the rest of the bathroom is more spacious).

Lifts can be quite busy between in the morning. Remember that you have to press two separate buttons for the two different lifts, and build in some extra time for either waiting for the lifts or taking the stairs.

Guests with a sweet tooth will love breakfast (I have never seen so many cakes being served at breakfast time).

The staff are friendly and helpful, especially those who serve breakfast.

I've stayed at four-star hotels in other parts of Italy and don't think that this hotel is equivalent to those other hotels. Having said that, I only paid EUR 75 per night, so I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Try your luck with an even-numbered room and see if you can get a better view than what I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talampakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelorientale, Direttore at Hotel Orientale, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing hotel Orientale for your stay in Brindisi and for taking the time to share your lovely comments. We are happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our service and that our staff met your expectations. Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brindisi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our driving tour of Italy's south. The rooms were typical European size, the wifi was fast, the breakfast included some hot foods like eggs, toast and chicken nuggets. The location was great for our stay with an indoor parking lot attached to our hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelorientale, Direttore at Hotel Orientale, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing hotel Orientale for your stay in Brindisi and for taking the time to share your lovely comments. We are happy to hear that you were very satisfied with the hotel and our service. . Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brindisi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lihue, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My client in Patras suggested this hotel from his own experiences there. Everything that you could need is provided at this well run hotel. Both airport and ferries are a five minute ride away. We used the free bicycles for exercise to and for dinner in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel with the family. It is a standard and well-organized structure, convenient garage attached to the hotel with direct access to the reception.
Excellent value for money. The rooms are spotless and functional. The staff are highly professional, friendly and welcoming. The staff engaged in the breakfast room were on time, and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelorientale, Direttore at Hotel Orientale, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing hotel Orientale for your stay in Brindisi and for taking the time to share your lovely comments. We are happy to hear that you were very satisfied with our service and that our staff met your expectations. Please come visit us again next time you will be in Brindisi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baghdad, Iraq
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here in early November this year, a mix f business and leisure, and we had a wonderful time. The rooms are standard European size so we knew that it would not be as big as the rooms in the Middle East. That being said the room was fully functional and had all the necessities for our week. We had a small Juliet balcony looking out onto the main road but as it was mostly pedestrianised the noise was minimal and sleep was not disturbed. The bed was comfortable and there were no issues that we encountered with the room.

The breakfast was ample and a wide variety of dishes were on offer. We did not dine in the evenings as there were so many good restaurants available locally that we dined out each night.

Let me just finish off by saying that the staff here were the most helpful and could not do enough to satisfy all requests. My wife could not stop singing their praises every evening when we got together.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Declanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelorientale, Reception at Hotel Orientale, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you to have chosen Hotel Orientale for your trip in Brindisi. Thanks for your wonderful words about your experience with us.
We loved to take care of our Guests, working hard every day to give top quality service and trying to make things better and better, our joy is closely tied to the positive experiences and the satisfaction of our Guests.
We are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brindisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Executive Inn
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Virgilio
Palazzo Virgilio
#2 of 19 in Brindisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Albergo Internazionale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Nemo
Hotel Residence Nemo
#6 of 19 in Brindisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colonna
Hotel Colonna
#7 of 19 in Brindisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barsotti
Hotel Barsotti
#8 of 19 in Brindisi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orientale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orientale

Property: Hotel Orientale
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 40, 72100 Brindisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Brindisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Brindisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Orientale 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Orientale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orientale Brindisi, Italy - Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing