We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duped by the trip advisor #1 rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Foggia
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Duped by the trip advisor #1 rating”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I arrived in Foggia after along drive, and tired, checked the Trip Advisor site for suggestions. Though this looked like a charming place, it was downright awful, to the point that I cannot possibly ever trust booking a top rated hotel from the trip advisor site without doing further outside investigation. Top points: very blasé young desk clerk, in no way capable of bing the sole employee on duty at a hotel, as unhelpful as could be. Room stunk like a stale dirty ashtray, had gnats buzzing around the room keeping me awake, sheets with a stiff roughness that felt like polyester, and to top it all off, the noisy AC would not allow a setting below 27 C, or 80 F. The breakfast buffet was grim, with pastries wrapped in cellophane, and actually looked like twinkles. An very grumpy girl at the coffee bar roamed the empty room making gruff slamming noises while grimacing. The night of our arrival, the restaurant was closed, and the clerk said she could offer no suggestions for any restaurant in the city, because "everything in town was closed that day for a soccer match." They seemed to not offer any room service. Well, I walked 2 blocks and ended up having a very pleasant dinner at the Hotel Mercure. I wished I had booked a room there as well, as it seems infinitely better, staffed with pleasant professionals, rather than sullen youngsters without a clue. The only pros that I can think of are the neighborhood, and perhaps that they offer parking space.

Room Tip: My room was gloomy, facing an inner courtyard. I am guessing that one facing outward would be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJoeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    94
    31
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
33
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Centrally located, clean hotel in Foggia. Spacious rooms but no Real windows on top floor. No wifi. Ok value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dt122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Foggia is a difficult place to find a nice hotel (especially with secure parking)....have been to the Europa, Holiday and Atlete....so far this was the best. New hotel in a restored abbazzia......
Since this is a restored convent the rooms do not have windows per se, but there is one in room door with shutters (still not the same, it felt a bit claustrophobic)......most of the rooms open up to interior courtyard...The hotel room was very large and spacious with a beautiful bathroom that had a fantastic shower. By far this hotel was the best we have stayed in during our 8 visits to the city of Foggia, even with the glitches mentioned below. We were visiting family so we only had breakfast in the hotel (was very good) but my cousin said their restaurant (next door) was very good.

Room Tip: Parking garage is a block away; one-way streets make finding the hotel difficult (even with GPS); wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
repubblica slovacchia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

we are players of the tournament which took place in foggia in september and we were glad to find finally a person in the hotel who was able to speak a good english because we found a lot o difficulties in meeting someone to undersand us.THE HOTEL IS CONFORTABLE,clean and it is placed in the centre of the town which makes it very good.Thanks the only person was able to speak englis at the reception-no one of the staff spoke english-we had a good time

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nic h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I just stayed here recently. The room (junior suite) was lovely. It was new, clean, and big. It has a table and four chairs for dining including a tiny kitchenette area with a small stove top & sink area to cook, however there was only ONE pan- no utensils, no other equipment to cook, so was confusing if you wanted to actually cook something how could you?
Also the room was rather dark, even though it had sky lights, that was the only natural light able to come in, so if you are going to be here a long time, you have NO windows to look out! :(
The bathroom was nice and it came with just a shower, no bathtub, but had the "jacuzzi" jets for the shower but in the most oddly placed center area where you enter the shower. So not only did did they shoot out potentially getting on the floor but you had the tiny space to enjoy them since it wasn't placed on the end under the sprinkle part....

Finally, I LOVED the guy who checked us in at night, he was so kind and nice to us. He tried to help us and speak english bc of our terrible broken italian. However in the morning, there were evil mean snotty girls working, who could not even give me a smile. They served me my drinks but I could tell were "annoyed" to do so, if I was here longer than one night, I would have really felt uncomfortable.

Oh and the Internet we paid 5 EURO for DID NOT WORK!!!!!!!! We tried logging onto it from two different laptops and Neither would work. Not only was this frustrating but when we tried to tell them, they could have cared less.

The TV has some weird only italian channel box thing set up. which was ridiculous and very frustrating bc even the places I have stayed that only have regular tv, usually have the BBC connected, and this was not the case here.

The breakfast in the morning was delish, nothing hot but good none the less.

So if you are going to stay here a long time and you are not italian, I doubt you will enjoy yourself. If you are italian or just here for a short stay, it might be perfect bc its so clean and rather large size to enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meganwescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
399 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Very nice hotel, big rooms always clean and good quality of sleeping. The location of this Hotel is right in the centre of Foggia, so this is already a good reason to choose it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I spent one week in this hotel an it has all the basis that you require in a hotel, while in the restaurant you can enjoy a delicious italian meal.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sastals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Foggia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bella Napoli
Hotel Bella Napoli
#1 of 15 in Foggia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo del Cacciatore
Albergo del Cacciatore
#3 of 15 in Foggia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#5 of 15 in Foggia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cicolella Foggia
Hotel Cicolella Foggia
#9 of 15 in Foggia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Villa Dei Gourmets
La Villa Dei Gourmets
#7 of 15 in Foggia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
11.7 mi away
Villa Imperiale
Villa Imperiale
#11 of 15 in Foggia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena

Property: Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena
Address: Via Vincenzo della Rocca 4, 71121 Foggia, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Foggia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Foggia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ristorante Palazzo Sant'Elena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing