We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Holiday”
Review of Relais Histo'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais Histo'
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

One of the most beautifull places I ever been, great services, great personnel, overall a very nice place where ti spend few days, pampered and relaxed. The SPA area is well equipped, staffed with capable and professional personnel. The hotel has been built nearby the ruins of an ancient (I guess Roman) SPA and you can still see the old perimeters, as I said: "Simply Baeutyfull!!!!".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 967 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

A fantastic peaceful and luxerous resort close to attractive touristic places in Puglia. High service level, nice rooms, a unique location and accomodation.
A top restaurant, Good wine card and what an environment... Friendly people.
A minor point: check-in and check-out could be a bit more professional.

Enjoy life!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night on a business trip to Taranto. I really wish it had been longer. Absolutely amazing hotel. Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. No one at home could believe the pictures. I will go back with my wife for a romantic stay. My only complaint was the temperature. It was July in southern Italy so it was hot. The AC unit in the room wouldn't go lower than 22 (72 F) but there is no way the room was even that cool. It had to be over 25 C in the room. To make things worse, the only AC source was blocked by the curtains when they were closed. Other than that, absolute wonderful place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

With my family we stayed at the Histo, the property is small but very nice with a touch of Luxury especially the Suite we had.
My wife and I we both agreed that the staff working at the property is not 5 star beside a guy call Alessandro (professional and attentive to customers request).
To our opinion a 5 star Hotel needs a touch of class from the staff receiving their guest.
Others guest complained about the same subject.
Beside that we made our vacation nice and smooth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband, recent college grad and I stayed in this beautiful hotel on our last 2 nights in the Puglia region of Italy after 2 weeks at break neck speed. We needed to rest from our whirl wind tour and was hoping this would be the place. We left with a bad taste in our mouths and wondering why this hotel is considered 5 star.
The pro's: historical facility meticulously restored, wait staff at meals were superb - they went above and beyond to explain the area, food and historical significance of the hotel, quiet atmosphere to unwind, beautiful spa facility which included wonderfully affordable services and the food was fabulous!
The con's: The owner's son lurked around and gave the fabulous wait staff a hard time for no apparent reason, maybe to show them he's the boss? Uncool! The beds were uncomfortable, especially in the 2 bedroom Loft we booked. Upon leaving the hotel, I realized I had left my jacket at the cafe during breakfast and we immediately called to ask them to send to me. They said they couldn't do that and recommended we have someone pick it up and mail it to the States for us. Really???? When we were fortunate to stay in the Ritz Carlton in Istanbul my husband left something behind and they mailed it immediately, at their expense, ~30 euros, is a small price to pay for customer service and good will. The Ritz is 5 star in customer service, the Relais Histo is not.

Room Tip: Avoid the Loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Two couples spent three nights here after a walking tour of Puglia. The hotel is really a restored and modernized stone palace about ten miles from Taranto. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was stone and marble with sleek furniture and a wonderful waterfall shower. There are walking trails mapped for you. The breakfast is wonderful and best eaten outside. At our request they arranged a taxi to take us to meet a guide in Taranto. The new archaeological museum had us gaping in awe. If you want to bask in pampered solitude for a few days, this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The place is great but it no longer has the services of a 5 star hotel. We stayed for the second consecutive year, and we noticed a tremendous change! Negative! Discounted food at the restaurant of a typical trattoria. Poor service! (Where is Giancarlo?) Rooms are spacious and comfortable clean enough. Certainly will not be back because we paid a lot more than last year with much lower levels of service. Recommended for those who want a break from the city, but not for people demanding high quality services!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranto
8.5 mi away
Masseria Quis Ut Deus
Masseria Quis Ut Deus
#1 of 2 in Crispiano
162 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Hotel L'Arcangelo
#1 of 14 in Taranto
534 reviews
18.3 mi away
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
Kalidria Thalasso Spa Resort
#2 of 9 in Castellaneta
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
160 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
20.8 mi away
Ostuni Palace Hotel Meeting SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Histo'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Histo'

Address: Via Sant'Andrea-Circummarpiccolo, 74100, Taranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range: £115 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Histo' 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Histo Relais Culti is a new luxury hotel which has been built by carefully restoring an abandoned medieval manor and farmhouse of great historical importance, also due to the presence of an ancient Roman aqueduct. People have lived here since ancient Roman times. The Basilica of SS Pietro and Andrea, which dates back to 1st century AD, has been very carefully restored as well, and today it is a wonderful frame where it is possible to organize meetings, special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Relais Histo' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histo s. Pietro Sul Mar Piccolo Relais Culti Hotel Taranto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing