We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why stay anyplace else?”
Review of Hotel L'Arcangelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“why stay anyplace else?”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the staff, owner, and anyone else who helped us with a beautiful 3 night stay. beautifully resurrected and in the most ancient and authentic part of Tarranto. you may not have a better experience in this city and I know you won't meet nicer folks! besides, who do you think directed us to the best FISH restaurant in Puglia, firsc and mmange?

Room Tip: any room will be a GREAT room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUTHLAND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    73
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
163
37
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is a tasteful contribution to the rejuvenation of Taranto's old city centre, located on an island. Initially its surroundings look a bit forlorn (lots of old buildings needing renovation), but you soon realise it is safe and authentic. We loved that Taranto old city is still populated by real people. The hotel is close to all the major sites: the duomo (with an amazing Baroque chapel), the Archeological Museum (fantastic exhibits of Taranto's Greek and Roman past) and the Aragonese Castle (free guided tour). We stayed two nights and had dinner both nights at Il Porto, a local restaurant across the square that has a fantastic variety of seafood anti pasta (you don't get a choice, it just keeps coming). We enjoyed walking around the island in the evening, digesting our food and watching how the community enjoys their town. It's so "real", something that gets harder and harder to find with the globalisation of tourism. The hotel staff are kind and helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed and very clean. Breakfast is good. I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel is great value.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, room 104. It was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the L'Arcangelo on our trip through Italy. it was our third trip to Italy and the hotel is now our firm favourite. The room was even better than it looked on the website. The service was always friendly and delivered with a smile. A good variety for breakfast with eggs cooked to order.
There is also a very good restaurant just across the road 'Frisc'&mmange' which made for a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean good service Typical Italian area old buildings 6 restaurants within .5 k 10 minutes lovely seafront walk to town Center worth the extra euro to get a sea view room Really nice shopping area in the town center plenty to see and do here

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iceman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is right on the edge of the Piazza Fountain, and the edge of the old town. It is clean and comfortable, with great staff who strive to help in every way. The breakfast was ordinary and at times the wifi was a little clunky but overall a great experience.
Its location surroundings are very old and confronting, but the locals are friendly. The hotel staff recommended a restaurant diagonally across the square, The Frisc & Mmange, which serves very fresh local seafood. It was fantastic value.
If you want to experience the 'old town' of Taranto this is the place to stay.
The hotel shows its address at via Garibaldi, our mapping could not find it, it was listed as Via Guiseppe Garibaldi. But if you find Fountain Piazza you can't help but see the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Europe. It is situated in the old city of Taranto just in front of Piazza Fontana and 30 m. from the sea. Excellent service. Logical prices. Every room is unique and most of all warm reception and family atmosphere. We have enjoyed a wonderful long week end. Grazie.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

If you are considering staying in Taranto then this hotel should make your decision for you.

My wife and I spent 2 nights here recently and we can say without hesitation that this is an outstanding 3 star hotel at a comparatively budget price. The welcome was warm, enthusiastic and friendly. The passion for the hotel and their city from our host and hostesses was clear and the whole experience of our time here was one of pleasure and comfort. We felt we were in an extremely well appointed and relaxing home from home where nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was attractive and well-appointed with a comfortable bed and a beautifully finished modern bathroom. The included breakfast was tasty, fresh and we were offered further options which were not laid out but would be provided freshly from the kitchen. We were repeatedly asked if everything was to our liking or if there was anything more we required, but in a friendly genuine way and not as on off-hand afterthought, and we had proper conversations - not just "Have a nice day"!

Arriving from the railway station the first appearances of Taranto are a little off-putting as Taranto is a working industrial city and the short walk to the hotel is not through the tidiest area. However, the hotel is directly in front of you in the Piazza at the end of the bridge and stands out as a newly renovated old building among less well maintained old properties.

Any qualms we had on arriving in Taranto were immediately dispelled on entering the hotel, and we came to love the curious fascinating charm of the city and appreciate the location of the hotel for its convenience for the station and its superb position right at the start of the old city. Taranto is also convenient for a day trip by train to see the trullis of Alberobello.

We visited nearly at the end of a 3 week tour which saw us travel the length of Italy with short stays in other adjacent countries travelling by train, and this was one of only 3 visits out of 10 where we were truly sad to leave.

If you are not sure whether to stay in Taranto or not then please do, and if you do decide to stay here, look no further than the Hotel L'Arcangelo. We do not believe that you will be disappointed, and if you are then we cannot believe that you are true travellers but mere tourists and can only assume that you do not appreciate the nature of the city and the personal touches of a small hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms such as we had with windows and balconies on 2 sides give lots of light if required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taranto hotels
5.1 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
902 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akropolis
Hotel Akropolis
#3 of 14 in Taranto
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
4.2 mi away
Tursport Hotel Residence
6.0 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#10 of 14 in Taranto
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arcangelo

Property: Hotel L'Arcangelo
Address: Piazza Fontana 3, 74123, Taranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Arcangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing