We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You pay 3 you have 4 stars”
Review of Hotel L'Arcangelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“You pay 3 you have 4 stars”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you want to pay for 3 stars and have a 4 stars hotel the arcangelo hotel is the perfect deal for the city of Taranto .Nice staff,good rooms and you have a nice boutique hotel.The disadvantage is that is located far from center of the city(2 klm),and the free wifi have some problems....

Room Tip: Take the104 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    72
    19
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
161
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the staff, owner, and anyone else who helped us with a beautiful 3 night stay. beautifully resurrected and in the most ancient and authentic part of Tarranto. you may not have a better experience in this city and I know you won't meet nicer folks! besides, who do you think directed us to the best FISH restaurant in Puglia, firsc and mmange?

Room Tip: any room will be a GREAT room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOUTHLAND02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is a tasteful contribution to the rejuvenation of Taranto's old city centre, located on an island. Initially its surroundings look a bit forlorn (lots of old buildings needing renovation), but you soon realise it is safe and authentic. We loved that Taranto old city is still populated by real people. The hotel is close to all the major sites: the duomo (with an amazing Baroque chapel), the Archeological Museum (fantastic exhibits of Taranto's Greek and Roman past) and the Aragonese Castle (free guided tour). We stayed two nights and had dinner both nights at Il Porto, a local restaurant across the square that has a fantastic variety of seafood anti pasta (you don't get a choice, it just keeps coming). We enjoyed walking around the island in the evening, digesting our food and watching how the community enjoys their town. It's so "real", something that gets harder and harder to find with the globalisation of tourism. The hotel staff are kind and helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed and very clean. Breakfast is good. I'd definitely stay here again. The hotel is great value.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, room 104. It was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the L'Arcangelo on our trip through Italy. it was our third trip to Italy and the hotel is now our firm favourite. The room was even better than it looked on the website. The service was always friendly and delivered with a smile. A good variety for breakfast with eggs cooked to order.
There is also a very good restaurant just across the road 'Frisc'&mmange' which made for a very pleasant evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Very clean good service Typical Italian area old buildings 6 restaurants within .5 k 10 minutes lovely seafront walk to town Center worth the extra euro to get a sea view room Really nice shopping area in the town center plenty to see and do here

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iceman202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This hotel is right on the edge of the Piazza Fountain, and the edge of the old town. It is clean and comfortable, with great staff who strive to help in every way. The breakfast was ordinary and at times the wifi was a little clunky but overall a great experience.
Its location surroundings are very old and confronting, but the locals are friendly. The hotel staff recommended a restaurant diagonally across the square, The Frisc & Mmange, which serves very fresh local seafood. It was fantastic value.
If you want to experience the 'old town' of Taranto this is the place to stay.
The hotel shows its address at via Garibaldi, our mapping could not find it, it was listed as Via Guiseppe Garibaldi. But if you find Fountain Piazza you can't help but see the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Europe. It is situated in the old city of Taranto just in front of Piazza Fontana and 30 m. from the sea. Excellent service. Logical prices. Every room is unique and most of all warm reception and family atmosphere. We have enjoyed a wonderful long week end. Grazie.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gianni Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taranto hotels
5.1 mi away
Relais Histo'
Relais Histo'
#2 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Akropolis
Hotel Akropolis
#3 of 14 in Taranto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tursport Hotel Residence
1.6 mi away
Mercure Delfino Taranto
Mercure Delfino Taranto
#10 of 14 in Taranto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Arcangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Arcangelo

Property: Hotel L'Arcangelo
Address: Piazza Fontana 3, 74123, Taranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Arcangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel L'Arcangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing