We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would not recommend this apartment to my worst enemy”
Review of KaRol Casa Vacanze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KaRol Casa Vacanze
Ranked #82 of 265 Alghero B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I would not recommend this apartment to my worst enemy”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I arrived at apt at 1.30 pm. after travelling for seven hours.The reception does not open til 4.pm.After waiting 2 hours in 38 degrees in a drab hallway I went to the second floor and saw an apt with the doors open- I knocked on the door as I saw the cleaning lady was there.

I thought she may have a letter for me letting me know which apt was mine I left my cases down to speak to cleaning lady -the door closed which meant the cases were locked in.I requested the lady to open door so I could get my cases out.She had no English and had no information about my apt.

I then waited until reception opened at 4.pm.I told the Receptionist I was waiting 2.5hours and had gone to speak to cleaning lady on 2nd floor. She started shouting at me about entering the apt.She screamed had" I touched, taken anything or toileted in the apt."The abusive, mad rant continued towards me and the cleaning lady.I requested her to "please stop" I assured her nothing in the apt was touched by me. At this stage, she became very irate and demanded a "big apology, not a small one, but big" from me.The " lady" continued to rant. I did not feel safe staying here so I requested her to cancel the booking with the agent.

The agent was contacted- he then got another rant. The agent assured me I could leave and would not be charged. He apologized for my upset.I made a very happy swift exit.I found a very nice apt which £200 cheaper. I had a lovely holiday in another apartment nearby.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank geraldine1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

The apartment has no livingroom, only a kitchen with a tv, and it feels like a hallway. The balcony was very dirty (but very big, I have to say) and we had no interesting view despite 4. floor.

Notice that you will have to pay extra for everything. Parking? Extra cost. Wifi? Extra cost. Use the air-condition? Extra cost. Use the oven? Extra cost.

If you're going to Alghero, try to book a hotel in the historic centre. Karol is 20 minutes walk away, and the area is not charming at all.

But if 5 minutes walk to the beach is the only thing that matters, I guess it is OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloArne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Prague
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Excelent location. Beach is nearby, so is supermarket and a couple of good restraurants. Alghero historic center is about 20 minutes of pleasant walk via the beach promenade. Appartments are modern, nice and spacious.

Beware of limited check in and check out hours. Kitchinettes do not have dishwashers and microwaves. Some dishes were not very clean upon arrival. The head receptionist is a bit bossy, however, speaks good English.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pivko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We were there 2 adults and 3 children at the end of May for 3 nights and have enjoyed our stay there.

The friendly receptionist was kind enough to make sure that we had a toilet roll and some soap knowing that we would arrive late at night. Otherwise the supermarket is just a few metres away and is open every day including Sunday morning.

You could pay for parking in the residence, but we've had no problem finding free parking in the streets (for our rented car). Just do not leave anything in your car.

There is a lift in the building and the kitchen and dining area is well-equipped, including a good-sized fridge and freezer. You can dry your wet clothes out in the terrace and also eat there (though with a view only of the other buildings). Air-conditioning, TV and use of the oven will incur additional charges - fair enough for those who do not need them.

The flat is clean, lovely and the beds comfortable with more than enough wardrobe space. My kids loved it there. The only thing missing was a pool - but if you do not go in the summer months you wouldn't need one anyway. I couldn't sleep properly at the beginning because of the sounds coming from the streets, but soon got used to it. If you need coffee, there is a bar just opposite the building.

The flat is very near the beach - one of the best we've been to in Alghero itself (but of course it's not comparable to Pelosa). It's between the airport (just 10 minutes by car) and the old city (another 10 minutes).

I would recommend it especially to families with children.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petales88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Buganvillea
Residence Buganvillea
#41 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rina Hotel
Rina Hotel
#20 of 49 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Jamba
Bed & Breakfast Jamba
#14 of 265 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Florida Casa Vacanze
Florida Casa Vacanze
#72 of 138 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lime Apartments - Creta
Lime Apartments - Creta
#95 of 138 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Vacanze Cau
Casa Vacanze Cau
#40 of 138 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KaRol Casa Vacanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KaRol Casa Vacanze

Property: KaRol Casa Vacanze
Address: Via delle Baleari 19, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — KaRol Casa Vacanze 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your KaRol Casa Vacanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KaRol Casa Vacanze Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing