We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu
Ranked #6 of 93 things to do in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour this marine cave that is carved in a spectacular sheer cliff, with long winding passages that delve far into the rock passing many fantastical stalagmites and stalactites.
Normandy, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The view is fantastic, the grotto is beautifull. i can strongly recomand to take the boat to reach them. very good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    1,067
    494
    156
    79
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neptunes grotto”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely trip. We've been to caves before but by far these were the best. The only thing I would say is its a bit rushed. You get off the boat, pay, then you follow guide in a long line,out and straight back on boat. There isn't any other way if you go by boat as only one boat can drop off at a time. If you go by land apparently there's 650 steps to climb down and back up again, no thanks! Glad we went, and would recommend. You can purchase food and drink on the boat. Not sure if it had toilets. Wouldn't think it would be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leanneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not very good value for money!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to the caves, as we were told so much about them. However, we were very dissapointed, and felt ripped off. There are enough people along the marina, plying for you to take their boat to the caves, most of the prices are much the same! We paid 16 euro's each, which we thought was ok. The boat trip itself is quite short, and pleasant, with some lovely views along the way. However, on arrival at the caves you are asked for another 13 euro's to enter the caves, "with a guided tour"! Nobody tells you of this extra cost. So, you either pay, or get back on the boat! Unless you want to walk up 600 steps to the top of the cliffs, whilst every one else goes into the caves? The caves are very pretty, and interesting, but we felt that a total of 29 euro's was a bit excessive for what you actually see and do there. The caves seem to be the only boat excursion in Alghero, which is why we went, but unless you are truly intriqued by caves, i wouldn't bother, it wasn't very good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurMccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wowzers”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Having read about this place it was on our "Must See" list while in Alghero. We decided to take a boat ride instead of trying to traverse the steps that lead down to Neptune's Grotto. So for 30 euro we hopped on a boat, relaxed for 45 min, then reached our destination. Exiting the boat into the Grotto was a little bit scary but manageable, as our 5 year old daughter was able to do it. The grotto itself is an amazing sight to behold, but the price of entry and the mediocre at best tour prevent us from giving it an Excellent rating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PTAworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Marvellous cave but quite lousy guided tours”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Grotta di Nettuno is on the list of must-visit places in Sardegna. Best way to go there is NOT on a boat trip from Alghero but by the long stairs (over 600 steps) that go down the steep cliffside. Going down the stairs is unforgettable experience, like you were going a stairway to heaven even though you go down towards the sea and the grotto. To get to the cave you must participate in guided tours that are timed one in every hour. There are lots of people (easily about 50) in every tour in summertime and even though the stalactites and stalagmites are unbelievably numerous and cave itself huge it is quite hard to get into the right mood in the middle of dense crowd, lots of flashes and indifferent guidance. The tour is overpriced and relatively short - but the cave itself is one of nature's great wonders despite all the discomforts of the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing