We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sardinia”

Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu
Ranked #6 of 93 things to do in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour this marine cave that is carved in a spectacular sheer cliff, with long winding passages that delve far into the rock passing many fantastical stalagmites and stalactites.
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sardinia”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although I did not find Sardinia worth visiting Grotte di Nettune was a very interesting sight. If you happen to be in Sardinia, Grotte di Nettune is a must place to see. But if you are not there, no need to go to Sardinia just to see the Grotte.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank windows730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,333
    1,063
    492
    155
    78
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“steps , more steps”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

we very much enjoyed the trip to the caverns, hopping on the "red bus" to the peninsular.
We chose to walk down the 650 steps around the cliff face, not too strenuous for able bodied persons, easy enough going down but obviously more strenuous coming back.
the caves can also be accessed by boat but quite a thrill embarking and boarding when there is a sea swell.
wandering around the caves takes about 40 minutes on a guided tour giving useful knowledge on the formation and age of the many stalagmites/tites, events past and present in the caves and generally worth the 13 Euro paid.
After the tour you can hop back on the red bus and either travel to Alghero or stop at other places.
Definitely not an attract for people with walking difficulties and young children , buggies etc.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank david P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normandy, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The view is fantastic, the grotto is beautifull. i can strongly recomand to take the boat to reach them. very good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neptunes grotto”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Lovely trip. We've been to caves before but by far these were the best. The only thing I would say is its a bit rushed. You get off the boat, pay, then you follow guide in a long line,out and straight back on boat. There isn't any other way if you go by boat as only one boat can drop off at a time. If you go by land apparently there's 650 steps to climb down and back up again, no thanks! Glad we went, and would recommend. You can purchase food and drink on the boat. Not sure if it had toilets. Wouldn't think it would be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leanneEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not very good value for money!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went to the caves, as we were told so much about them. However, we were very dissapointed, and felt ripped off. There are enough people along the marina, plying for you to take their boat to the caves, most of the prices are much the same! We paid 16 euro's each, which we thought was ok. The boat trip itself is quite short, and pleasant, with some lovely views along the way. However, on arrival at the caves you are asked for another 13 euro's to enter the caves, "with a guided tour"! Nobody tells you of this extra cost. So, you either pay, or get back on the boat! Unless you want to walk up 600 steps to the top of the cliffs, whilst every one else goes into the caves? The caves are very pretty, and interesting, but we felt that a total of 29 euro's was a bit excessive for what you actually see and do there. The caves seem to be the only boat excursion in Alghero, which is why we went, but unless you are truly intriqued by caves, i wouldn't bother, it wasn't very good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurMccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Frecce delle Grotte di Antonio Piccinnu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing