We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, good value, well located apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Silver Strand

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

312sarahl
Wellesbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good value, well located apartment”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a really good base for a stay in Alghero, especially if you are driving, as there was ample parking on the road outside at all times during our stay (mid-June.) It is easy to get to from the Sassari / airport side of town. It is clean, fairly spacious and is reasonably quiet, as it is set back from the road (although noise does travel a little from other apartments as we noticed when new people arrived nearby mid-week.) The bed was comfortable and the shower was excellent. Having a washing machine and access to wi-fi were both really useful.

We had a prompt response from Gordon around booking the apartment and an offer of an airport pickup (which we did not need but would be useful if flying into Alghero and not hiring a car.) We had a friendly reception on arrival and a clear explanation of how things worked. We met Cathy on leaving who was also very friendly.

It is a 20 minute level walk along the sea front into town and only a couple of minutes from the town beach. It is easy to get a rental bike from various places nearby. There is a supermarket a few minutes walk away and lots of places to eat out.

Overall, a really good, hassle-free rental. The only things I would change would be to have a couple of extra tea towels and ideally a clicker for the gas hob rather than having to use a cigarette lighter.

I would definitely recommend it to others and would use again if returning to Alghero.

Date of stay: June 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisalis...
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were struck by how quiet it was. No noise from outside and very little noise from inside the apartment. It is on the second floor of the block and there is a lift which we didn't use. The apartment was very spacious with lots of storage space. It is a brisk 25 minutes walk to the centre of the old town of Alghero where most of the restaurants are but it is a pleasant walk mainly along the promenade. The beach is much closer. We parked easily on the road outside the apartment but there is also a parking space under the block. The supermarket is very close and sells lovely bread in the mornings - on the left as you enter. WiFi is a touch temperamental in the apartment. Alghero is an excellent holiday base.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The WiFi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galsini
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment and Location!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm very particular when it comes to holiday rentals. This apartment did not disappoint and is in a great location with all amenities. Mr. Coales is lovely and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and assisting you with any questions and/or concerns very quickly. The location is 1 block to the beach, 2 blocks to the supermarket, close to bus stops, 20 mins. walk or 8-10 mins bike ride to Old Town. You can get to Maria Pia beach riding a bike in 10 mins. The neighborhood is very quiet and safe. On Weds., there is a street market/fair at the end of via Sardegna that has some very nice items with good prices. Bar Europa on via Cardonia has a very nice owner, Rosario, who only speaks Italian but makes you feel welcome and makes an excellent cappuccino with cacao. There is Ocean Tribe wind surfing and stand up paddle surfing at the end of Lido Beach near Mariposa camp site. Also, Sardinian Discovery has very nice kayak trips and treks for all levels. I highly recommend booking your holiday here. I'm sure that any time of the year would be quite nice. You'll be very pleased that you stayed here. If this one isn't available, contact Mr. Coales as he has many other rentals that may be available for your visit.

Mr. Coales, thank you kindly for a very enjoyable stay at your apartment. I truly wish that my entire stay of 13 nights (instead of just 10) could have been at your apartment, but your apartment is very popular.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Nov 2012
We were very happy that these guests stayed in our apartment and we hope that they come again. This winter we are re-conditioning this apartment to make it even more attractive and comfortable for next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Giovanni...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2018
Grazie per il commento, tornate presto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honoriane
Amiens, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2015
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.