We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but very bad service”

Ristorante GrillHouse Teatro
Ranked #90 of 356 Restaurants in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$54
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice food but very bad service”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We ate in this restaurant on the last night of our holidays - the food was nice, not spectacular which was unfortunate considering we ordered a lobster dish. The meal itself was fine however we had were left waiting a long time for an espresso and then when we were finally handed the bill it contained a hand written note stating they could not accept credit cards as there was a problem with the machine. As we had no cash on us the waiter attempted to direct my partner to the nearest ATM which was 'round the corner and then walk 200 metres'. He was gone for 30 minutes looking for this fabled ATM and during that time no one approached me to see if I wanted a coffee or just to see if I was ok - to me this would have been basic customer service. I eventually asked a waitress if she could point me in the direction of an ATM but her English was not good and we both got confused. This is not what upset us - we felt that the restaurant should have flagged the fact that their card facilities were out of order before we ordered...that way we could have organised gettting to an ATM beforehand or else choosing another restaurant. In addition, the manager sat down at a table with a couple of people he knew [directly across from me] and left his young wait staff to try and explain what the problem was. At no point did he take control and try and 'manage'. I got the impression that once the bill had been printed they had no interest in offering any help or providing any decent customer service. Needless to say we left no tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRealEzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    108
    27
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have visited this restaurant twice to try several kinds of stakes from different regions of the world. This restaurant proved that not only sea food is great on Sardinia, but also meat.
The stakes were cooked perfectly. The waiter provided us with a set of ~ 6 kinds of salts with various aroma that was really great to try with mouthful steaks. Every meal including starters are really delicious here.
So, if you are tired of sea view and want to seat in the shadow of the theater try excellent meal in this restaurant

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This restaurant has great variety and has both local seafood & meat to imported steaks from around the world.
Food is fresh and tasty, portion sizes are generous and there are even decent vegetarian options available.
Both indoor and outdoor dining is also available.

The service is excellent, our waiter was learning English and make a huge effort to communicate and joke with us – it was great to see such enthusiasm!

Worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmenater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was one of the several restaurants near Piazza Teatro/Principe Umberto in the old town that we chose where we could enjoy a great meal in a local environment. The seafood risotto was good, but could have been better had they bought it out sooner and not let it cool down. The Fiorentine t-bone steak was nice. Numerous meat dishes you can choose between domestic or imported beef. They also have a great roast lamb dish but must be ordered at least 1-2 days in advanced. Took my friend here on her first trip to Italy and she was most happy for the first local experience. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Sardinian dishes”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved this restaurant. The service was excellent with attentive and informative waiters. The food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Highly recommend

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank italygirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante GrillHouse Teatro also viewed

Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 
Alghero, Province of Sassari
Alghero, Province of Sassari
 

Been to Ristorante GrillHouse Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing