We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”
Review of El Faro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Faro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I flew to Sardinia for some rest and relaxation, after a most interesting, albeit, hectic week, traveling through Umbria. We chose El Faro based on a recommendation in one of the guide books we consulted and subsequent cross-referencing. We could not have been more please. The hotel lies on the lovely Bay of Conte, with calm waters and hills in the distance. The hotel is about ten km. from Alghero, close enough to be able to drive into town at night for dinner and to partake in the nightlife, but far enough to enjoy the quiet and private relaxation the resort provides. The hotel is well run. The service is outstanding and the rooms and public ares are immaculate. The breakfast buffet is "to die for".

A special word for Giovanni. It was necessary that we be in contact with the Rome airport prior to our flight back to the US. We could not do this ourselves. Giovanni spent much time making calls for us. He and the rest of the staff were cheerful, helpful and made our stay most memorable. I wholeheartedly recommend El Faro and hope that you will be as pleased as we were.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank soccerplayer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 days in September. Charming place - beatiful sea landscape, friendly non-agressive staff. Top relaxing.
Poor room accoustic insulation, so noisy neighbours might be a problem. Did not happen to us luckily :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123feuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception dinner party here & couldn't of asked for a more beautiful place, it literally is paradise, unspoilt views, clear blue sea, delicious food, a pool bar & tres chic pool parties! It's a 15 minute drive from the centre of Alghero & is on the bus route, but if your staying more than a couple of days, do invest in car hire as you'll get to enjoy the culture & romanticism of Alghero..winding cobbled streets, a laid back feel to life! Love it! & a big thank you to Mr. Greco the manager & his staff for the excellent service. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraKilleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you want to get away from it all and enjoy the sun, the crystal clear water, good food and a nice hotel in a beautiful location then El Faro is the right choice. We spent 10 nights there and did not miss the city life at all. One day we went by bus to Alghero and had a wonderful seafood lunch at Ristorante 10 metri in the Centro Storico. We also walked the track through the National Park to Punta Giglio; a fantastic view of the sea and the special mountain formations. The rest of the time we spent at the hotel enjoying some lazy days. Try to get a sea view room, it is worth it to be able to listen to the "music of the sea" in the morning when you get up and at night before you go to bed.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jone_R_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We have had a wonderful stay at the El Faro hotel. A true and proper get away .... pools, sea, bar, views... lovely in every sense. The regular bus servics is regular but sort of 2 hourly regular and is a 45 min ride, often standing into Algehro.... not a hotel service so not a relfection on El Faro in any sense. Car hire is essential to get into Algehro and beyond. But the hotel itself is wonderful for being away from it all. Bosa is a must both asa driveand destination,

Room Tip: Upgrade to exec to get a sea view.... totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We spent 4 nights at El Faro at the end of June. It is our 5th time to Alghero and we got married at El Faro last year. The hotel is looking great and the setting and view is still as beautiful as ever. You must opt for a sea view room, it really is worth paying the extra as the scenary is simply breathtaking. Many thanks again to Giovanni and all his staff at El Faro whose service ensured our stay was perfect. It really was lovely to see you all again and we look forward to seeing you all again next year! I would most definitely recommend this hotel, especailly if you want somewhere romantic, secluded and away from the crowds. Would recommend hiring a car as the hotel is about a 20mins drive outside of Alghero.

Room Tip: Opt for a seaview if possible as the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayL688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My son's wedding was held in July at this fantastic Hotel, set in one of the most beautiful and exclusive spots of Sardinia with amazing panoramic views of the sea and the surrounding natural park of Port Conte. My husband and myself together with a number of other guests stayed at the Hotel for a number of nights and were extremely happy with the room, the breakfast and the Service provided by friendly and professional staff. The Wedding Celebration was an absolute success from every point of view. The service was superb and the food exquisite and the message from a number of guests I spoke to is clear. We want to return to El Faro next year. My thanks to Giovanni, Patrizia, Antonello, Nadia, the Chef and all the staff at El Faro.

Room Tip: we stayed in a second floor in room with a sea view which is very spacious and airy and the bed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,083 reviews
71.9 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#3 of 40 in Olbia
1,033 reviews
119.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Hotel

Address: Localita Porto Conte, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#6 Business Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £69 - £1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — El Faro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Hotel, ammazing place, intimate and elegant project by the illustrious Sardinian architect Antonio Simon Mossa, stands in the wonderful scene of Baia delle Ninfe(the Nymph Bay), immersed in the surrounding nature. Designed over the idea of a boat anchored at sea, it has an equipped marina area, seawater swimming pools, spa services and WI-FI zones. It is only 10 minutes away from Alghero and the airport Alghero-Fertilia. Paris Alghero its only 2 hours fly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Faro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Alghero
El Faro Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing