We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We visited Villa Las Tronas on the 26th of July for our honeymoon and we had the perfect stay. The room was immaculate, and so was the rest of the hotel. The grounds, the view and the food are all to die for and the service is equally as good. Wait till your head hits their pillows! We slept like never before!! The only feedback I would give is that the mountain bikes the hotel offer you are just not up to the job. They are old and very, very uncomfortable and just won't do the job if you want to go exploring. They need to be replaced and upgraded to brand new city bikes. Other than that this hotel and everything that goes with it is amazing. The mini bar prices are exceptionally good value which is a refreshing change as you can relax and drink what you want and it really won't break the bank!!! Thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon so fantastic. We will definitely be back x x x Villa Las Tronas is an absolute credit to Alghero. We would also like to thank Gianni Corbia our taxi driver who couldn't have been more hospitable and welcoming. If anyone needs to book a taxi book him!!!

Room Tip: We booked the room on the internet with the special offer and it was first class so have no fear tha...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergioperetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having come to Europe 4 times and stayed in many hotels in many cities this would be our favourite to date. We've stayed in some 1st class places, and while Villa Las Tronos like any place can loose a little paint here or not be to one's taste there, overall small deficencies are too inconsequential to be troubling much less even mentioning. The culture of an establishment is not instantly changed, and it is hard to reconcile the few reviews mentioning unfriendly staff with this resort. The very warm, friendly and 'can do' approach was consistent with all staff, very professional and the atmosphere was great in all areas. The dining room is visible from reception, signage great, and there is certsinly no need to have your time wasted with a tour. Accessibilty from the car park is quick and VERY easy, but as with many hotels and tourist attractions there are stairs which may impact on accessanility for some. The gardens are lovely and it's easy to find your iwn little place if you want. If you never left there is plenty to do, and it only took 10 mins to walk to the old town. We would definately come again! Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walshfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We first visited villa las tronas 4 years ago on our honeymoon. We returned to sardinia and spent 4 days in isola rosa before traveling to Alghero for 3 nights at Villa las Tronas. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist with a glass of Buck's Fizz when one of the team look our bags to our room. There was also a bottle of fizz in our room when we arrived which we enjoyed on my birthday during our stay. A lovely touch.

Our room was really lovely. As others have said, this isn't a modern hotel so you don't get the 5 star modern luxury but what it lacks in this respect it more than makes up for with old world Italian charm. The balcony is the best bit about the hotel - a huge balcony with loungers, a table and chairs looking straight out to the sea. I would spend every evening looking out at that view if I could!!

Breakfast was had on the terrace every morning....there was always a great selection of food, a wonderful setting and the waiters were so friendly and would do anything for you. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as we walked into Alghero each night and sampled some of the great restaurants in the town. It is just a short walk from the hotel, walking through the lovely hotel garden and along the coast into the old town.

The only minor gripe was that the cleaning was not of such a great standard as we previously experienced. The room was never ever dirty but one day we didn't have any towels and had to ask and a couple of times the room wasn't as spotless as previously would have been the case. This is really quite a minor point though and don't let it out you off.

This hotel has a special place in our hearts and we will definitely be returning in the next few years

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are not too many of these type of hotels left in the World. Villa Las Tronas is a Grande European hotel with the feel of a previous era. It's lack of maniacal attention to structural details and total attention to service and friendliness makes staying at Las Tronas a holiday in a private Mediterranean mansion. It's position on the sea has to be experienced to fully understand and the rooms are of very Old European elegance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July and loved the hotel, it is situated in a wonderful private location in Alghero and has a large garden and swimming pool. We stayed in a Room overlooking the Park (as nothing else was available) and this was OK but there was no mirror in the bedroom but they did provide a shaving mirror when asked for. The house is very stylish with beautiful public rooms and the bar and dining area overlooks the sea. Service is impeccable and you just have to ask. We dined one night and enjoyed the meal but the food has improved in Alghero so there is plenty of competition in the main town. Breakfast's are superb which so much choice and I even had a slice of chocolate cake for breakfast! Breakfast is taken on the balcony with fantastic views out to sea....stunning. There are several places to sun bathe, but there is a concrete sun area but the sea which is nice and cool with umbrellas. They also have a Spa which is fantastic with pool, gym, sauna, treatment rooms which we viewed but did not use. All in all a top hotel with excellent service and I was very picky, I'd re plan the bathroom to make better use of the space.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Everything about this hotel was outstanding: the rooms (worth paying extra for the sea view); the food; the service; the facilities; the location. It is such a special place. Alghero itself is a beautiful town, but I would avoid the restaurants by the sea wall next time as both the service and food were disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilikefrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is a destination in itself. A gorgeous Italian villa with period furniture, original details and loads and loads of old world charm. Great food, comfortable rooms with a fantastic view, and very friendly service too. However the best part is its location. Its right at the water’s edge and you can fall asleep to the sound of the lapping waves. Heaven.. Also the villa is surrounded by a beautiful garden and boasts a stunning freshwater pool also right at the water’s edge. Don’t expect polished five star but do expect to be swept away with its charm and beauty.

A note on the town Alghero. If you want the crystal clear waters, please note it’s in the north and not around Alghero. It is possible to drive there (1-1,5 hours each way- which we did), but the beaches directly surrounding the town are less spectacular. We didn’t find this to be an issue though.

We loved our stay and still miss this place! Highly recommended if going to Alghero!

Room Tip: make sure its seafacing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
954 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
687 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#9 of 49 in Alghero
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £151 - £585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing