We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good place to stay next to Alghero. Nice view from rooms and restaurant. Perfect cleaning in the room.We also enjoyed inside pool.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
I would really recommend you to go there if you like classical, old style decor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KAE687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We loved the Villa las Tronas because of its classy style, sea views and location.

PROS
- Fantastic location on a small peninsula near old town Alghero
- You van hear the sea and see it from almost all rooms (even garden facing rooms since there is sea on 3 sides)
- Good food at the restaurant
- Very nice swimming pool and pool deck with sea views
- Nice "old world" decoration in rooms and common areas
- New spa building with small indoor pool, brand new gym (tiny but good) and treatments
- Friendly service
- Free parking
- Free Wi-Fi that works
- Unique place

CONS
- Beaches next to the hotel are not great, but you can swim from a deck
- Not completely newly renovated (but decent state)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just had four nights here and had a great time. The location, room, balcony/ terrace, pool area and service were all perfect but there were a couple of things which slightly disappointed in a five star hotel. Firstly our bathroom was small and in need of updating. I personally don't expect to have a cold flapping shower curtain down my back throughout ever shower. Secondly the downstairs space didn't seem to be fully utilised. Specifically there were few places for couples of small groups to sit with a drink and chat comfortably.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This old Italian villa once a summer house for the Italien royalties is an excellent hotel. The location is absolutely perfect just 15 minutes walk to the centre of Alghero (they do also have free bikes) located on a small private peninsula. In front of the villa is the pool located and to the left you do also have an additional sunbathing location right next to the sea. This small hotel is on a large property so it is certainly not crowded and this is a calm location where the main noise comes from the waves.

This is a beautiful hotel kept in a traditional royal style. Superb. The problem is the service which is not as good as the hotel. Ie. nobody gave us a tour of the hotel as promised. They just take us outside and then they pointed in the direction of the pool. When we asked the reception for help on renting a boat they promised to look into this and never got back. We asked for access to the indoor pool and was told it was not accessible as it was to cold. Other told us it was during maintenance but after a few days we were provided access but was told it was too cold. In reality it was warmer than the outdoor pool - and very, very nice.
We tried to book appointments for treatments, but we gave up on that.

So if the owners will point the management in the right direction this could be a very, very fine hotel but it do need top notch service and here is still space for improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We visited Villa Las Tronas on the 26th of July for our honeymoon and we had the perfect stay. The room was immaculate, and so was the rest of the hotel. The grounds, the view and the food are all to die for and the service is equally as good. Wait till your head hits their pillows! We slept like never before!! The only feedback I would give is that the mountain bikes the hotel offer you are just not up to the job. They are old and very, very uncomfortable and just won't do the job if you want to go exploring. They need to be replaced and upgraded to brand new city bikes. Other than that this hotel and everything that goes with it is amazing. The mini bar prices are exceptionally good value which is a refreshing change as you can relax and drink what you want and it really won't break the bank!!! Thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon so fantastic. We will definitely be back x x x Villa Las Tronas is an absolute credit to Alghero. We would also like to thank Gianni Corbia our taxi driver who couldn't have been more hospitable and welcoming. If anyone needs to book a taxi book him!!!

Room Tip: We booked the room on the internet with the special offer and it was first class so have no fear tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergioperetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having come to Europe 4 times and stayed in many hotels in many cities this would be our favourite to date. We've stayed in some 1st class places, and while Villa Las Tronos like any place can loose a little paint here or not be to one's taste there, overall small deficencies are too inconsequential to be troubling much less even mentioning. The culture of an establishment is not instantly changed, and it is hard to reconcile the few reviews mentioning unfriendly staff with this resort. The very warm, friendly and 'can do' approach was consistent with all staff, very professional and the atmosphere was great in all areas. The dining room is visible from reception, signage great, and there is certsinly no need to have your time wasted with a tour. Accessibilty from the car park is quick and VERY easy, but as with many hotels and tourist attractions there are stairs which may impact on accessanility for some. The gardens are lovely and it's easy to find your iwn little place if you want. If you never left there is plenty to do, and it only took 10 mins to walk to the old town. We would definately come again! Loved everything about it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walshfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We first visited villa las tronas 4 years ago on our honeymoon. We returned to sardinia and spent 4 days in isola rosa before traveling to Alghero for 3 nights at Villa las Tronas. Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist with a glass of Buck's Fizz when one of the team look our bags to our room. There was also a bottle of fizz in our room when we arrived which we enjoyed on my birthday during our stay. A lovely touch.

Our room was really lovely. As others have said, this isn't a modern hotel so you don't get the 5 star modern luxury but what it lacks in this respect it more than makes up for with old world Italian charm. The balcony is the best bit about the hotel - a huge balcony with loungers, a table and chairs looking straight out to the sea. I would spend every evening looking out at that view if I could!!

Breakfast was had on the terrace every morning....there was always a great selection of food, a wonderful setting and the waiters were so friendly and would do anything for you. We didn't eat at the restaurant in the evening as we walked into Alghero each night and sampled some of the great restaurants in the town. It is just a short walk from the hotel, walking through the lovely hotel garden and along the coast into the old town.

The only minor gripe was that the cleaning was not of such a great standard as we previously experienced. The room was never ever dirty but one day we didn't have any towels and had to ask and a couple of times the room wasn't as spotless as previously would have been the case. This is really quite a minor point though and don't let it out you off.

This hotel has a special place in our hearts and we will definitely be returning in the next few years

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyandMark1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
75.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
1,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £140 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing