We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

A fantastic hotel, with very high standards of service. Rooms are not as small as some reviews suggest, although we paid for a sea-view balcony and would thoroughly recommend it. We were also very impressed by the breakfast, contrary to some reviews, and it's definitely worth visiting the bar at 7pm to sample their free appetisers! The hotel made us and our young daughter feel most welcome, especially the fantastic restaurant staff and chamber maids. The grounds are beautiful and the indoor pool is great when the weather isn't perfect! The short walk along the promenade into the town centre is a pleasure, as is wandering the streets of the old town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    112
    27
    7
    11
See reviews for
63
304
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Discovering that the hotel we'd booked was not available for one of the nights mid week, we transferred to Las Tronas and, boy were we glad we did. It's fabulous and is well up to its 5-star standard. The location is spot on - 10 minute walk into the old town along the promenade, wonderful views, pool right on the sea front, well kept park - and it was quite homely. The sleeping area in the room was a bit too small but the bathroom was very modern and well equipped. Because it has few rooms (27) and lots of staff, the service was attentive, personal and meticulous. Good choice of well presented food at breakfast (eaten in the restaurant with wonderful views of the sea and old town) and free appetisers in the bar 7 - 9pm. Didn't eat in the restaurant though as it was very quiet and a bit stuffy for us, though would be great for a romantic meal. Couple of criticisms - the food at the pool bar was very poor and overpriced; the live music in the evenings - a violinist, singer etc - was old fashioned classical. There could be at least one evening when the music was more modern and lively.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaylover0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

After accidentally flying into Cagliari and booking a room there in a nasty area, we got on computer booked a room there and drove to Alghero. It was worth the 3 hr drive and an extra hr getting lost. They upgraded us to a suite because of our terrible ordeal when we told them it was our honeymoon and what happened and the roomsand views were indescribable. The minute we walked in they offered us drinks on them and a light bite before showing us to our room which we didn't realize was an incredible suite with a huge balcony and insane views. The staff was incredible, the room was incredible, dinner felt like being in a palace with butlers and not like a restaurant with waiters, the pool all day Saturday was just gorgeous practically on the ocean. We can't even complain about our ordeal because this hotel just fixd everyhting for us! And Alghero is amazing little town and right down teh block from the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misapickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We want to thank our travel agent, Veronica Hinman at Ovation Travel again for convincing us to spend more than we wanted! It was the hightlight of our entire honeymoon! It was like an old castle on a rock jetting into the water and they gave us this gorgous suite with a huge balcony that had views I can’t even describe. I think it was for sure their best room in the house. And then dinner felt like u were being served by butlers in the dining room-not like in a restaurant…I’m so glad we splurged.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hnymooner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

We saw Villa Las Tronas on the internet and decided to book it for our 8th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The service from the moment we arrived to the time we left was exceptional. The setting was out of this world. The Character of tbe building and grounds, drinks by the pool, listening to the waves breaking on the rocks. Perfect. The room was slightly smaller than we would normally be used to but it was very well equipped and the sea view more than made up for it. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night and walked into the charming town centre of Alghero on the second night (a short sea front walk leading to good choice of bars and restaurants). Both meals were superb. We also enjoyed a couple of treatments in the spa which was a welcomed addition to our relaxing weekend. We really enjoyed our weekend and we couldn't recommend it more for a romantic, relaxing getaway. We will definitely return to this hotel and are already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrickieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Our meal at Villa Las Tronas was excellent and amazing value for money. After dinner we enjoyed a drink in the bar and a walk around the beautiful grounds. We would love to stay here on our next visit to Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We chose this hotel for our Honeymoon and it was definately the right choice-our only complaint was that we couldn't stay there longer! The location is amazing and the hotel is a talking point as people walk along the promenade towards the town.

We had a room with a balcony and what a view it had-we would recommend paying the extra money for this! Good quality wooden table/chairs and loungers with thick white cushions were really comfortable and special beach towels were provided daily to use on these or by the pool/beach.

There was a huge choice of food at breakfast and all staff were attentive. We enjoyed sitting in the bar area listening to the music being played before or after making the short walk into town.

Rooms were cleaned twice daily-the hotel itself and grounds were spotless.

Bathroom was also lovely with a powerful shower. Bathrobes and slippers were provided alongside very fluffy towels (replaced daily).

Words cannot describe how lovely this place is and photos cannot do it justice!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redsfan0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#4 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#1 of 51 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
117.4 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 51 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
113.1 mi away
La Villa del Re - Adults Only Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa
Address: Lungomare Valencia 1, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#2 Business Hotel in Alghero
#4 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Las Tronas is the delightful 5-star hotel that has become the symbol of Alghero - “the Golden Door to tourism in Sardinia” - situated on the Riviera del Corallo on the north-west coast of the Island. The hotel rises from the sea-shore with its Spa, nestled in the greenery of nearly two hectares of park that separate it from the Alghero waterfront, on a headland surrounded on three sides by the crystal-clear water of the bay. Numerous quays invite you to sunbathe and swim in the most comfortable, private way. The view is spectacular and the atmosphere so intense and romantic as to steal the hearts of Italian Royalty, who chose the Villa up to the nineteen-forties for their holidays in Sardinia. The bar and panoramic restaurant are the ideal place to relax, while your gaze takes in the Bay of Alghero and rediscovers the timeless luxuriousness inherent in the unique features and character of the villa. The Hotel and the Spa – with its covered sea-water swimming-pool (also looking out over the Mediterranean), sauna, Turkish bath, Kneipp walkway, gym and the beauty area – are open all through the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Las Tronas Hotel Alghero
Villa Las Tronas Hotel And Spa
Hotel Las Tronas
Villa Las Tronas Hotel & Spa Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing