We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we stayed longer.”
Review of Il Mare Di Alghero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Mare Di Alghero
Ranked #51 of 253 Alghero B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cologne, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we stayed longer.”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After a stressful time with our hire car we arrived to an extremely helpful Bruno at Il Mare de Alghero. He helped us to not only get a new hire car but to plan our days with such confidence that we would get 100% out of our time in Alghero. His "100%" policy on restaurants and tourist attractions was spot on. He even removed a local restaurant that had just fallen below his standards of hospitality to his guests. That is also how you are treated, as his guests. He made our trip to Alghero one of the best we have had in any city of Europe so far. The host with the most and attention to detail. We loved staying with him and would highly recommend it to everyone else. No phone call was too much for him to book dinner, boat trips or to help out with our hire car. We missed him at all our other destinations in Sardinia, but will never forget him. The room we had was the perfect size with a small en-suite, breakfast was small compared to hotels, but adequate and always had 2 freshly baked Sardinian cakes (from Bruno himself using grandma's recipes) every morning and fresh fruit. You could come and go as you pleased but Bruno would always appear to make sure everything was ok and all his guests were catered for. He made us feel special, not just another customer. Thank you so much Bruno.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbounreturps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you guys, has been a pleasure, and I'm glad, despite of the stressful start, we turned into a nice holiday :-)

look forward to sse you again.
kind regards
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very neat, very well kept and very helpful host. Breakfast was great and we even had a shared fridge to store water and a snack! We had a separate, huge newly renovated, supertidy private bathroom. Great with wi-fi on the room. Could not have asked for more. We will definitely return, unless Bruno is fully booked.. Book Il Mare if you like a friendly atmosphere and appreciate to make new aquaintances.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MatildaOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thanks M. I'm really glad you've had a nice experience at our B&B, and I really had fun learning new tips!!!

hope come and visit you soon in Sweden.
kind regards
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in France
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Bruno was an excellent host, suggesting things to do and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We felt like house guests rather than paying clients. The location was excellent, not too far from the town centre in a residential area. Parking nearby was quite easy to find. We would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Breakfast was good and having a coffee machine was an extra bonus but as I don't have a sweet tooth and don't eat meat I would have enjoyed local brown bread to toast, muesli and plain yogurt but that is just my personal taste.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pros:

Bruno, the host. Very welcoming and genuinely nice guy, always offering treats and making sure we were ok.

Gorgeously decorated with much love. This place was like a small high end boutique hotel in that regard. Lots of nick nacks to admire, lovely kitchen/dining area. Our room was very nice, everything is extremely good quality, no expense spared. the furnishings are fantastic, linen, towels etc high quality. Air conditioning very good when required. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thanks a lot guys, glad you've had a nice stay.
hope see you soon
kind regards
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

What a warm welcome from Bruno to his family's apartments so very close to the old town. And it feels like a family's home; grandma's cakes baked fresh for breakfast (hopefully the cleaner will have made her sheep ricotta and chocolate cake, which was a dream). Bruno speaks 5 languages, I think, I lost count, and is a mine of local recommendations which we gratefully accepted. It's a 5 min walk to the old town. Spotless bathrooms, quiet entrance and just a perfect base for getting to know Alghero. The street the apartments are on isn't pretty, but then we're not paying to stay on the sea front. Very safe and quiet at night. We are sad to leave but adventure awaits.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Rob8rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I were in Alghero for a friend's wedding, and stayed there for four days. We were lucky to have chosen Il Mare de Alghero. The place is tidy, breakfast with variety and the home-made cakes are delicious. It's like home yet have privacy. Bruno gave helpful advice on tours and restaurants. We enjoyed the stay and the trip so much! I would definitely recommend Il Mare de Alghero to friends who plans to visit Sardinia.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thanks, Jessy, has beena pleasure, hope to see you soon in HK to eat some bottarga spaghetti :)
kind regards
Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for four days in Alghero. We were greeted very warmly by Bruno and he showed us the room, which was very clean and had a feel-at-home atmosphere! Everything was very pleasent, we were asked if we needed anything else for breakfast, got good tips to discover the area. The only thing that was a little bit disturbing, was the noise from the construction work across the street from our room. We changed rooms later, due to our reservation and the noice was much better, plus we had a balcony :)
I would stay there again anytime! Thanks Bruno for your hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks a lot, hope see you soon.
kind regards
B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
1.1 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#33 of 49 in Alghero
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Cuscino & Cappuccino
B&B Cuscino & Cappuccino
#15 of 253 in Alghero
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Solemare B&B - Apartments Alghero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Terrazza
La Terrazza
#45 of 253 in Alghero
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
ElisART Guest House
ElisART Guest House
#26 of 253 in Alghero
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Poseidon
B&B Poseidon
#8 of 253 in Alghero
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Mare Di Alghero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Mare Di Alghero

Property: Il Mare Di Alghero
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 106 | Sassari, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home from home in the Mediterranean "Il Mare di Alghero" Our intimate and cozy bed and breakfast in the city of Alghero on the wonderful island of Sardinia. Guests can choose from three large rooms, lovingly decorated throughout in traditional Sardinian style and adorned by small details to make them all the more welcoming and help visitors to feel well and truly at home. Additionally, every room boasts air conditioning, a comfortable double bed, private bathroom, TV, free wireless internet connection, bedding, towels, welcome pack and hairdryer. At Il Mare di Alghero, you will be awoken every morning by the invitingly rich aromas of a sweet and savoury breakfast, including wonderfully tasty homemade cakes, served with seasonal fruits, hot and cold drinks, sweets, cheeses and typical Sardinian cured meats, all of which you can enjoy in the large and comfortable breakfast room. Our bed and breakfast is located in a strategically central position, quiet and residential on one hand yet offering easy access by foot to a wide-range of places of interest and local services. For example, we are only 10 minutes from the fascinating Catalan historic town centre, 5 minutes from the tourist port, 5 minutes from the bus stop for connections to and from Alghero airport and only 15 minutes from the beautiful Lido beach. Nearby you will also find an extremely large car park as well as a wide range of supermarkets and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Mare Di Alghero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Mare Di Alghero Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing