We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruno's for a warm welcome, comfort and good information!”
Review of Il Mare Di Alghero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Mare Di Alghero
Ranked #60 of 261 Alghero B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Bruno was most helpful and very welcoming- we arrived hours later than anticipated due to our lack of understanding the change of public transport during the out of holiday season time.
He offered excellent advise for delicious food exploring and helped us with a variety of activity suggestions and offered a brilliant and varied breakfast selection with the highlight of his home baked cake.
We wish you many successful years of this excellent service, highly recommendable accommodation and best of luck with any possible ventures!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charmmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi C.
Thanks a lot, hope really you enjoyed the rest opf the holyday.

a warm hug
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The best thing about this fairly simple B&B is the owner Bruno. A young confident man running a family business whilst hoping to find his dream job. This accommodation is in a quiet part of town about 10 mins stroll from the centre. Bruno is helpful in recommending places to go, see and eat. His breakfast is simple comprising cereal, yogurt, toast and fruit, with the addition of homemade cake which is excellent. Other reviewers have said they found street parking easy but this was not our experience, and we spent 20 mins on one occasion looking for parking. It is just a case of going round and round the streets until a spot becomes available. Wi Fi is the best we have found so far in Sardinia. We booked our room via booking.com and it was very small with a teeny weeny bathroom. In fairness Bruno offered us a larger room at €10 per night extra which we declined, but later regretted. If you are a larger person, the bathroom will not be big enough for you! My only criticism was not receiving clean towels daily. Perhaps this wouldn't matter if the bathroom were bigger but without anywhere to hang them to dry, the towels were still damp on the second morning. I'm sure if we had asked, we would have been given fresh towels. One final point, the rooms are on the second floor and there is no lift . I really recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thanks a lot,
I'm glad You've had a nice time despite smalls inconveniences that we will try to fix.

thanks again
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Bruno was a great host. He suggested beautiful beaches and nice restaurants to us. The room we stayed in was very clean and we felt really welcome and the location was great to explore Alghero and the area We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EnjoyTheWorld007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Danke N.

Glad You had a nice time here. look forward to next time!
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After a stressful time with our hire car we arrived to an extremely helpful Bruno at Il Mare de Alghero. He helped us to not only get a new hire car but to plan our days with such confidence that we would get 100% out of our time in Alghero. His "100%" policy on restaurants and tourist attractions was spot on. He even removed a local restaurant that had just fallen below his standards of hospitality to his guests. That is also how you are treated, as his guests. He made our trip to Alghero one of the best we have had in any city of Europe so far. The host with the most and attention to detail. We loved staying with him and would highly recommend it to everyone else. No phone call was too much for him to book dinner, boat trips or to help out with our hire car. We missed him at all our other destinations in Sardinia, but will never forget him. The room we had was the perfect size with a small en-suite, breakfast was small compared to hotels, but adequate and always had 2 freshly baked Sardinian cakes (from Bruno himself using grandma's recipes) every morning and fresh fruit. You could come and go as you pleased but Bruno would always appear to make sure everything was ok and all his guests were catered for. He made us feel special, not just another customer. Thank you so much Bruno.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbounreturps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you guys, has been a pleasure, and I'm glad, despite of the stressful start, we turned into a nice holiday :-)

look forward to sse you again.
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very neat, very well kept and very helpful host. Breakfast was great and we even had a shared fridge to store water and a snack! We had a separate, huge newly renovated, supertidy private bathroom. Great with wi-fi on the room. Could not have asked for more. We will definitely return, unless Bruno is fully booked.. Book Il Mare if you like a friendly atmosphere and appreciate to make new aquaintances.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MatildaOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thanks M. I'm really glad you've had a nice experience at our B&B, and I really had fun learning new tips!!!

hope come and visit you soon in Sweden.
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Bruno was an excellent host, suggesting things to do and places to eat. Nothing was too much trouble for him. We felt like house guests rather than paying clients. The location was excellent, not too far from the town centre in a residential area. Parking nearby was quite easy to find. We would definitely return and recommend to friends.
Breakfast was good and having a coffee machine was an extra bonus but as I don't have a sweet tooth and don't eat meat I would have enjoyed local brown bread to toast, muesli and plain yogurt but that is just my personal taste.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pros:

Bruno, the host. Very welcoming and genuinely nice guy, always offering treats and making sure we were ok.

Gorgeously decorated with much love. This place was like a small high end boutique hotel in that regard. Lots of nick nacks to admire, lovely kitchen/dining area. Our room was very nice, everything is extremely good quality, no expense spared. the furnishings are fantastic, linen, towels etc high quality. Air conditioning very good when required. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlMarediAlghero, Direttore at Il Mare Di Alghero, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thanks a lot guys, glad you've had a nice stay.
hope see you soon
kind regards
B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,096 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
6.5 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alghero 4u
Alghero 4u
#142 of 261 in Alghero
79 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Giardino degli Iris
Il Giardino degli Iris
#143 of 261 in Alghero
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Mare Di Alghero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Mare Di Alghero

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 106 | Sassari, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Alghero
Price Range: £53 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home from home in the Mediterranean "Il Mare di Alghero" Our intimate and cozy bed and breakfast in the city of Alghero on the wonderful island of Sardinia. Guests can choose from three large rooms, lovingly decorated throughout in traditional Sardinian style and adorned by small details to make them all the more welcoming and help visitors to feel well and truly at home. Additionally, every room boasts air conditioning, a comfortable double bed, private bathroom, TV, free wireless internet connection, bedding, towels, welcome pack and hairdryer. At Il Mare di Alghero, you will be awoken every morning by the invitingly rich aromas of a sweet and savoury breakfast, including wonderfully tasty homemade cakes, served with seasonal fruits, hot and cold drinks, sweets, cheeses and typical Sardinian cured meats, all of which you can enjoy in the large and comfortable breakfast room. Our bed and breakfast is located in a strategically central position, quiet and residential on one hand yet offering easy access by foot to a wide-range of places of interest and local services. For example, we are only 10 minutes from the fascinating Catalan historic town centre, 5 minutes from the tourist port, 5 minutes from the bus stop for connections to and from Alghero airport and only 15 minutes from the beautiful Lido beach. Nearby you will also find an extremely large car park as well as a wide range of supermarkets and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Mare Di Alghero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Mare Di Alghero Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing