We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Fantastic Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Fantastic Area”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Myself and my 2 kids stayed at Calabona for a week in August 2013. We had a triple room on the second floor with a pool and sea view - definitely worth upgrading to one of these as sitting on the balcony early morning and late evening was to die for! We really liked the tiled floors and Sardinian decor and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean all the time. The beach is small but good for snorkelling and the pool is of a great size. Breakfast in the "tent" was brilliant with a great view out to sea. And to call it a tent is to rather undersell it. The range of food at breakfast was a bit limited but it was fine. Lunch by the pool was very nice, but we didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings. There was a good mix of couples and families, mostly English and Italian although as we were leaving there seemed to be an influx of English people. The hotel is very, very quiet in the evening and although the walk into town is nice, it is a bit on the hilly side, so we tended to drive as we had a hire car. Parking in Alghero is a nightmare though! Wifi in the rooms was of excellent quality and there is also a table tennis table hidden away you can use as well!

As many other people have mentioned, the staff are wonderful and overall we had a really great time in Alghero and at the Calabona. Walking around the little lanes in town at night and the al fresco eating culture was brilliant. You also get fantastic sunsets over beyond the harbour area.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a sea view. Family rooms seemed to be on the ground floor, so you lose the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are happy to read that you spent a pleasant holiday in Alghero and in Hotel Calabona.

We hope to welcome you soon for a new holiday and we remind you the benefits that you can get by registering for the newsletter from the official Hotel's web site, through which you can access to the special offers available only to registered guests!

Greetings from Alghero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    180
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
83
264
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had a really excellent stay here in August 2013. Quiet location, an easy walk from the town. Good pool and beach. Lovely food. Stay was made all the better by really friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable rooms, beds a bit hard and safe a bit small though. Would definitely stay again if visiting Alghero.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mogs224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here in July 2013. Hotel is situated on the outskirts of Alghero and about 20 minute walk to the centre. The very local area is little run down but not a problem and we felt perfectly safe walking in the area. The beach is just across the road but rocky and small. Most people stayed at the hotel pool which was a good size, clean and temperature warm. We found the hotel peaceful and very clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced if left on the bathroom floor. We ate outdoor for breakfast with a decent choice of food. One small issue was the orange juice which was the powder mixed with water variety. The hotel should provide fresh or the carton variety at least. We found the waiters to be attentive (mostly older and a refreshing change from young waiters who don't always provide a good service). Prices for drinks and food in Sardinia are quite expensive but mostly this is due to the poor UK/Euro exchange rate. The reception staff were very helpful and happy to book tables at restaurants (I recommend PACOs. There is a local shop about 10 minute walk from the hotel. I recommend hiring a car for some of the time to get to some good beaches. I can't recall seeing a fitness suite.

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea views are best but ground floor rooms good for families with children as can walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is lovely, I would say that it is traditionally Italian and they do like their dark furniture, something that I have found in all the trips that I have made to Italy, I would rather have something traditional to the country that I am in than a hotel that could be anywhere. The Marquee for breakfast is not a tent it is has a solid roof and the most wonderful views over the sea, it is of high quality and was the venue for a wedding the day that we arrived. The staff are so friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is clean and there were always plenty of sunbeds with shade even in the high season. The beach is a little disappointing but there are plenty of lovely quite beaches to be had further along the coast. Dinner was limited in choice, a lot of veal which I do not mind but when there are only four choices for the main meal and two of them are veal that is poor. All in all I would recommend this hotel, but be aware that it is a good 30 minute walk into Alghero

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillibet_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your nice review and the precious suggestions.

I'm sure that, since you didn't like veal our Maitre did you offer, as per consuetude, alternative dishes in adjunct to the daily menu selections.

Please remember that, on request, it is possible to have also celiac dishes or diet dishes according to any particular needs.

We await to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Hard and uncomfortable bed and average breakfast. However, the upgraded room with sea view was nice. Could hear everything as poorly insulated rooms. One incident was really bad: bedroom door was left wide open after maids had cleaned and this was found by us when we returned in the afternoon. Expensive personal items were too big for the safe and left on full display... A complaint was made to reception but no real apology was made for exploiting our privacy. Staff in general very nice though. Hotel only 15mins from old city which is a nice walk, but 45 mins to alghero beach!! Broken glass and rubbish found on hotel beach.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Mr. V,

thank you for your review.

I've some difficulties to realize why you titled "expensive", but I understand that it is a personal evaluation and I respect it.

I'm very sorry for the mentioned incident. The reception staff reported that you informed them about this problem but they also said me that you was not sure if it was imputable to the chambermaid or to your wife since she wasn't with you. No news came from you after that conversation but, in the doubt, the reception advised the chambermaid to be more careful. However I'm happy to know that there weren't any negative consequences.

The occasion is good to inform all, in case of value items exceeding the measures of the room safe (which in superior rooms is big enough for notebook and more) an adjunctive deposit box may be required to the reception. In fact if the values are left out of the safe insurance coverage is not granted.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Nice hotel to see but inside in the rooms, it can be much better for this price. The swimingpool is nice also that you can eat something but really not the hotel to come back to. The breakfast is in a tent, there is no place in the hotel in the summer and not all food was from a high quality. The restaurant downstairs ... you van better walk 20 minutes to the center. The staff is kind and again from the swimingpool the view is great but that is also the best

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Good morning Mr. Robert VL,

thank you for your latecomer review. You were in Hotel Calabona in July 2007 (not in September 2012 as you wrote) and in 6 years a lot of water has flowed under the bridge and many things have changed also in Hotel Calabona, thanks to the investments we make every year to improve our Hotel.

However has not changed, as highly appreciated by all the other guests for the wonderful sea view and the mediteranean garden that surrounds it, the location of our rich summer breakfast , which continues to be served in the outdoor restaurant Le Vele. That you have defined so disparaging "tent" is one of the most popular location for weddings and events in Sardinia and we are happy to make enjoy our guests of it as often as we can!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the lovely picturesque town of Alghero. We had what I would consider one of our most memorable holidays at this establishment. The views from the room were absolutely fantastic looking out directly to the beach front below. The staff were nice and there were a few friendly and entertaining characters working there. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would advise them to try book one of the rooms with the same view as the the hotels webcam. You won't regret it.
The room decor is definitely authentic and might not be up every bodies street but for me it was all part of the stay on this fantastic island
Its a bit of a walk into the town but a very scenic one along the coastline. The town is fantastic and offers huge choice of quality restaurants with sea food a specialty of many.

Room Tip: Try get one of the rooms with the same view as the hotel webcam
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
4.3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#9 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
6.9 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#2 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#11 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna

Property: Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Address: Localita Calabona CP 15 | SP 105, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#4 Family Hotel in Alghero
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its peaceful location, Hotel Calabona faces out to sea. The hotel is situated just a short distance from Alghero, Sardinia's "Catalan" city, which retains much of its original historical centre. The small beach, nestling in a delightful bay of sand and rock, is equipped from June to September with sun loungers and parasols, allowing you to make the most of the sun and the emerald-green, crystalline sea right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing