We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location with outdoor swimmig pool.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is adjoining a beach with super rocks. All rooms have large balconies with views, and a swimming pool and outdoor facilities. They are quiet and clean and comfortable.
Breakfast is reasonable, with some hot food, although we were part of a group and one waiter moved people from small tables to larger ones, even though they were already eating. He had a sense of humour though and served piccolo portions, at first.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this hotel last minute on account of good weather forecasts and favourable reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel sits on the outskirts of Alghero but it is a pleasant stroll along the front into town - 15 minutes. Due to it's position it is quiet and the sea view rooms have lovely views out to sea with the bonus of stunning sunsets when there is no cloud.The room was very clean with a bed that was hard but not uncomfortably so. Breakfast had a large selection with something for everyone. As it was the end of the season they were not serving dinner so cannot comment on the restaurant - not an issue as there are plenty of places to eat in town although a few had already closed for the season. The pool was excellent, large and clean. There is no pool attendant after the end September. The small beach was ideal for snorkelling with rock pools for the children. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, upgrade to a superior room with a sea view. The decor is more modern and the views are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great location on the edge of town but still peaceful at night for sleeping. Lovely breakfast with gorgeous sea view and Excellent lunchtime food. Helpful staff. Very comfortable rooms. Sweet little beach but remember to wear rubber shoes as there are sea urchins. Wold definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorraine00053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We searched for a hotel with seaview within walking distance from the old town of Alghero. This hotel fullfilled our wishes. We god a room with a very nice seaview (#342). The room was tidy and nicely decorated. Beds a bit hard as they usually are around the Mediterranean, but not too bad. The hotel has a nice big swimmingpool and a little beach just about 50 m from the hotel. You can walk to Alghero old town and harbour within 20-25 minutes. The parking is free if you have a car. The only disappointment was the restaurant that really didn´t match up. Breakfast was however okay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joakim_Gustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hotel Calabona rewards itself a 4 star and is completely justified. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it for anyone who wants a quiet stay in alghero.
We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a classic room with pool and sea view. We enjoyed one of the most beautiful sunsets, with a glass of wine from our balcony. The room itself was very clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately the room does not have many plug sockets so charging our various gadgets was a bit of a challenge, however WIFI reception was great from our room on the first floor.
Breakfast was served in the hall since it had cooled down a bit and could not be served outside.
International buffet where even the fussiest eater would find something to eat ;).
The hotel has a small private beach and pool if you prefer (although very cold), with a little bar for refreshments and the friendliest waiter who always managed to put a smile on our faces.
The hotel is located about 15-20 minutes from the old town, but the walk is all along the shore with beautiful views and not once did we mind it- even when we had a very late dinner around midnight. Alghero itself is very safe and incredibly romantic. There are several little bars where you can have refreshments or just a enjoy the view.
There is a supermarket not too far from the hotel and I recommend stocking up on water, other drinks and small nibbles on the first day as the mini-bar is quiet expensive.

Room Tip: The sea-view room is definately worth it The higher up, the more beautiful the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just had a week at the Calabona Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed stay there. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Pool beautiful and very pretty private beach. Breakfasts served in an interesting tent-like structure with fantastic views, and everything you could wish to eat. One day we had lunch at the hotel which was delicious. Only minor complaint was that the hairdryer provided in the bathroom was very ineffective so my advice is bring your own! Also there weren't many power-points in the room so made charging phones etc tricky.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is not a hotel that gives you 30 choices of meal from stainless steel buckets, or a pool the size of Monaco, so it is understandable that there are some mixed reviews on the site. This is an old fashioned hotel in the best sense of the word. The service was excellent in all areas, restaurant, bar, reception and room cleaning. The food is prepared specifically for you, with you placing your order at breakfast from a choice of 3 or 4 main courses and the waiters explain what the dishes are and will give recommendations. We were not familiar with the Sardinian specialities so took their advice and were very happy with their suggestions. The food was excellent and the wine and bar reasonably priced. The hotel is an easy 20 mins walk to the old town where the tourist shops, bars and marina are situated. There is a choice of pool or small private beach, both of which were comfortable and convenient for all services. Even the Thomson rep was excellent, being a local resident and providing lots of useful information. If you want a relaxing holiday with good food and excellent service in a comfortable and friendly hotel then give the Calabona a try. If you want an international designer décor with international cuisine to match, perhaps you should try elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or a partial sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
4 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
6.9 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
995 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,101 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna

Address: Localita Calabona CP 15 | Sp 105, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
#4 Family Hotel in Alghero
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#13 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £98 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its peaceful location, Hotel Calabona faces out to sea. The hotel is situated just a short distance from Alghero, Sardinia's "Catalan" city, which retains much of its original historical centre. The small beach, nestling in a delightful bay of sand and rock, is equipped from June to September with sun loungers and parasols, allowing you to make the most of the sun and the emerald-green, crystalline sea right in front of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing