We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Faro Hotel(Alghero)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel dei Pini(Alghero)
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$500/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalunya(Alghero)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$555
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$524
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
221
206
86
36
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
206
86
36
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsuperior roomsea viewlarge tentold townthe hotel staffwalk into townfree sunbedsswimming poolhalf boardwonderful weekhotel is locateddeep endfour coursesmini barnice walkplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room and whole hotel area were spotless. We had a superior room with a sea view. I'm not sure I would call it a superior room but it was OK. The staff were friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is a good size with free umbrellas and sunbeds. There is a small, private beach just across a quiet road, again with umbrellas and sunbeds and as lifeguards in both places. The hotel is situated about a 20 - 25 minute stroll from the centre of the old town. The walk takes you along the coast and is pleasant with a cooling breeze, although part of it is quite steep. There were a few disappointments for us - not what you would expect from a 4* hotel. Firstly, the breakfasts were the same every day, the hot food selection was never hot and the fruit juice seemed to have been made from powdered concentrate. If you drink tea, I suggest you get the hot water from the machine rather than brought by a waitress as it's the only way to ensure that the water is hot. The smoking of e-cigarettes is allowed in the restaurants at the hotel. You should also be aware that pool towels are not provided and unless you bring your own the charge is 1Euro per towel per day. The towels need to be returned by a certain time or else you are charged 11Euros per towel. Finally, the room may be non-smoking but it is allowed on the balconies so that can be unpleasant. In fact smoking is allowed anywhere outside and many people are not considerate of others - what a shame they do not have designated smoking areas.

Room Tip: If you can, choose at least a superior room with a sea view on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 645lindylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sirs Eagleton,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to learn that you appreciated the hotel cleaning, the staff, the swimming pool and beach services and also the hotel position.

Thank you for your report concerning some traits of the breakfast : we are going to verify the possibility to improve them.

Concerning the smoking policy, our rooms and all indoor public areas are "not smoking". At the same time smoking is allowed in the open-air areas, including the outside area of the outdoor restaurant Le Vele, according to the Italian law. We understood that it was unpleasant for you and we apology for that.

Best Regards,

Elisa Fonnesu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Having visited a more northerly part of Sardegna a couple of years ago we decided to visit a different part this year for our spring break, and what a good idea it was. Beautiful hotel, spotless, very helpful staff all of whom spoke near perfect English, parlo Italiano poco poco ma non bene, so if like me you are not that good at Italian it will not be a problem.
Location is a fair walk (1500m )to the town, but you will be thankful as it will burn off the calories, the food is great and it is a 4 course meal if you are half board.
Weather was changeable but the hotel cannot control that, however that leads to the very minor downside here that we could not find instructions to get the best out of the room temperature control, had it been much warmer weather I am sure we would have had to ask for instructions.
All in all a good choice if you want a first taste of the island

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 22,359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review, offering useful information to travelers.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards,
Elisa Fonnesu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This hotel offers nice and comfy rooms, they also have a swimming pool and it is in front of the beach. The center of Alghero is 15 minutes far away walking, and you will have a nice walk with amazing views. The also have a free parking, and the service is really nice.
Something that caught my attention is that some of the workers spoke Catalan, because in Alghero the streets name are in Italian but also in Catalan and they have preserved the language. I hope you enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are happy to learn that you appreciated the room, the position and the general services of the Hotel Calabona.

As per your description, the animated historical center of Alghero is only 15 minutes far away walking on the seaside promenade with amazing views. Alternatively a public bus service is available.

In Alghero Catalan is traditionally spoken and the people like to valorize this language when possible.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Elisa Fonnesu and the Hotel Calabona staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

My wife and I spent two nights in this beautiful hotel.. Our double room has a sea view balcony. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was assorted. The staff were very helpful. We hope to return to Sardinia and we will try to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isaac H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Room was excellent ,very good housekeepers came every day at the same time did a good job, nice room with tea making facilltys fridge , and free safe in room ,balcony with table and chairs ,. nice pool with plenty of free sunbeds, small private beach across the road , with free sunbeds, lots of car parking on site, restaurant with plenty of room and a good choice of meals ,super waitress ,very quick and allways cheerfull .A exelent holiday. About a 20 min walk into the old town , ok going in ,but uphill coming back , local bus every 15 min ,bus stop close to hotel 1.5 euro each way.

Room Tip: Third floor with pool and sea views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woodleighManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews