We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We returned to this hotel after 13 years and wondered if it could meet our high expectations for a comfortable stay. It surpassed our expectations easily with the refurbished property showing that it is good choice when staying in this area.

The hotel is quiet and very clean with the housekeeping staff providing a very discreet but efficient service that makes your hotel room a real sanctuary of comfort. We were extremely lucky to be upgraded to an executive sea view room which was well equipped and spacious, although the bathrooms were a little on the small size. We chose to have the tea tray/coffee corner in our room for the week which was good value at 10 Euros for the week. A real bonus was the free mini bar which offered 8 bottles of water, beer, soft drinks and fruit juices.

The breakfast was substantial with the usual variety of items available and despite rather watery juice there was enough choice to satisfy most needs.

There is an excellent swimming pool (sea water) which is ideal for those wishing to swim lengths or cool off when it gets too hot on the sunbeds. Although there were a few early bird sunbed grabbers, fortunately there were sufficient beds for everybody.

The location is ideal for an easy 10 minute stroll into Alghero old town where there is a vast array of restaurants, bars and cafes to suit all types of tastes and budgets. This is a buzzy place without the hassle of noisy drunk tourists. If you have a car there are a number of lovely little beaches to sample in the local area which offer good facilities without the crowds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Alghero with the hotel providing a first class base for our stay. The staff are a credit to the hotel offering polite, efficient and friendly service. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Although the sea view rooms at the front have the best views there is a fairly busy main road passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    336
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
125
486
15
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Me and the girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights at the very end of September and loved it! As we were staying right at the end of the season we had a reduced rate which made it even better. Booked an executive room with pool and sea views from a massive balcony. Room was immaculate, with free mini bar topped up everyday meaning we didn't need to buy water, etc when out during the day. Massive bed which although quite firm was amazingly comfy.

Pool was lush and lifeguarded all day, pool side bar was very reasonably priced and had amazing views out to sea.

Breakfasts were amazing... croissants, cake, tarts, bread, cheese, ham, cooked breakfast, bacon, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, omelettes... masses of food and very tasty.

The hotel is ideally located about a 15 minute walk from the main town, which is a lovely walk right alongside the sea.

There was only one thing that let the hotel down, and that was that there was an outage of hot water from 11am-11pm one day. The staff explained there was a problem and they were trying to fix it asap, but was bit nasty having a freezing cold shower after sweating in the sun all day. I imagine this was a complete one-off however.

Overall an excellent stay at a very reasonable price and would definitely chose to stay here again if back in Alghero.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
661 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rooms were good size and clean. As you would expect in Europe the bathrooms are small, but very nice and clean. Room was good size. We requested a room with a queen/king bed, but were given 2 twin beds. Because we were tired from a full day of driving we didn't try to change rooms. The view out the window was great, good view of the Sea and the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel 'made' our holiday in Alghero. Fantastic location, top quality furnishings, big rooms, amazing breakfasts, friendly helpful staff and reasonable prices for food and drinks. We played tennis, table tennis and swam in the seawater pool. Sit in the bar and watch the amazing sunsets. Walk down into the old town to the old town with its many bars restaurants and ice cream shops. Highly recommended for a really relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the supplement for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for 10 nights at this hotel in September 2013 and were impressed! Our room was very large with plenty of storage space, a massive balcony, kingsize bed and spacious bathroom. One of the best and quietest rooms we have encountered in a European hotel. A clean hotel with all in-room facilities you would hope for from wifi, TV, kettle, bottled water through to slippers, gown and plenty of toiletries. (However, a VERY disappointing complimentary mini-bar with the only alcohol being one bottle of beer per day!!!)

The staff, as with many of the locals, were a bit aloof but very helpful if needed. We only had one evening meal in the restaurant and the food and wine were very good and not really overpriced. We did feel that the managing staff were unfriendly and lacked any personality but the actual waiting staff were friendly and attentive.

The hotel was a 10 - 15 minute walk to the centre and harbour, perfect for an evening stroll to the great selection of restaurants in Alghero.

Overall, a highly recommended hotel and made for an enjoyable Sardinian break.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is lovely. The staff are very pleasant, particularly the bar & waiting staff. The hotel itself is very clean and well situated, the pool is quite large. All in all the Carlos V has everything you could want for a pleasant, enjoyable holiday. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlesthobo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in Carlos V hotel for 3 nights at the end of a 12 day holiday in Sardinia in September. I have to say that it lives up to the 5 start quality. Firstly the rooms lovely with a big bed and large balcony, the bathroom had a hugh shower which was lovely. The staff at the reception very very friendly and explained everything to regarding towels breakfast and free minibar to us on arrival. Breakfast was the best we encountered in the 3 hotels we stayed in on our trip to Sardinia. I had only one complaint. The day we arrived we were sitting by the pool and I ordered cappuccino with a shot of expresso in both. The young barman sneered and said that cappuccino had a shot of expresso in it. After I explained that I wanted a double expresso in it he agreed to make it. Later that day my husband encountered the same youngster when he went to order sandwiches. He got a very smart and sneering reply when he tried to point out where we were sitting by the pool. The next morning I encountered the same youngster in the breakfast room. When I asked where we should sit he replied anywhere. When I went to sit at a table he once more was rude and told me that table was taken. I took him aside and had some words with him regarding his treatment of the guests in the hotel. From that moment he was all smiles and helpful throughout out stay. The staff at the pool and everywhere else in the hotel were super and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinettefreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sa Cheya Relais
Sa Cheya Relais
#3 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#1 of 49 in Alghero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing