We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just back from a week in Carlos V, magnificent hotel.

We decided on Sardinia just for a change as we usually choose mainland Italy.
Having done an extensive web search we located Carlos V, El Faro and Calabona to later
discover they are all owned by the same Hotel group.

Carlos V is the best we have yet stayed in, the photographs on the web do not do justice
as the outside is finished in sandstone with tinted green glass balconies etc.
The main entrance is not user friendly as it does not have a proper ramped access to pull up a suitcase.
We arrived mid afternoon on the 3rd October and at check in the receptionist was less than friendly.
A young couple before us asked for a room upgrade to be told all rooms with sea view fully booked. We later discovered the Hotel was 30% booked and most sea view rooms were in fact unoccupied. When we got to our room, an executive double, the AC and TV did not work but was soon rectified with one call to Reception.
A bad start but we soon discovered our initial experience was an exception. All other staff were more than friendly and efficient and the hotel can only be described in one word Magnificent.
The attention to detail is superb, high quality marble floors, polished woodwork throughout and soundproofing to bedroom like Ive not seen before.
The bedroom was 26 sq meters with king size double, plush carpet floor, a double wardrobe illuminated inside with a safe and the bathroom was really nice, well laid out with twin basins and to our delight a hairdryer with variable speed and variable temperature settings,.a full length well illuminated wall mirror, a bath and with shower over. The shower could have done with more pressure.
The balcony was big enough for a small private party and overlooked the pool with a good sea view. The TV had only about two channels in English, sky news etc

We found the staff generally very friendly, attentive and efficient particularly in the poolside bar and restaurant. The poolside bar is a place where people meet up and chat but as the nights got cooler we discovered there is no bar inside the hotel so we left and went elsewhere outside.
Other guests we met were disappointed about this also as there is much space in Reception unused where one could locate a residents lounge area with a proper bar.
The Hotel is well located away from noise, great sea views from the high elevation and a ten minute pleasant walk to Alghero.
The entire place is spotlessly clean as one would expect from a hotel of this quality.

We dined out a few nights to discover the food in the Hotel was much better and actually more reasonable also but most of all the staff more friendly.

We would like to visit again early next summer but next time we would do a few things different.
Do not use one of the dot com websites as you will end up paying more. We also discovered this in Sorrento last April. One gets intimated into booking with the warnings, Our last two rooms left etc.
Our taxi from the airport to the Hotel took a half hour and seemed to be going around in circles whereas we arranged our taxi back in the Hotel and made it in just about ten minutes and paid a lot less.

We would highly recommend Hotel Carlos V.

Room Tip: Call direct as the phone costs less than paying a lot more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID13577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    354
    114
    34
    14
See reviews for
144
513
16
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akershus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hotel is located just outside the city center. Some noise from the street, but not a problem. The Staff was very friendly. Always a smile, always some nice words.
I would say a luxurious Hotel of 5*.

We will be back

Room Tip: Choose a room with see-wiev
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evjo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel, as told by others, is beautiful. Excellent rooms, great views, loads of sunbeds around the pool. The staff were almost entirely polite but .... it seemed that they were not allowed to be friendly. We got in the lift with one of the bar men one day and he didn't even say hello. Stony silence all the way to the ground floor! Both the guys on the bar are polite but I did miss the atmosphere you normally get in a hotel before dinner when people gather at the bar. This is normally generated by the staff. Shame really.
Had dinner one night in the hotel and the restaurant (which doesn't open until 8pm) was almost empty and service dreadfully slow.
Top tip - try the little tavern across the road down by the beach. Good food, great cocktails and a very smiley owner/waiter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We returned to this hotel after 13 years and wondered if it could meet our high expectations for a comfortable stay. It surpassed our expectations easily with the refurbished property showing that it is good choice when staying in this area.

The hotel is quiet and very clean with the housekeeping staff providing a very discreet but efficient service that makes your hotel room a real sanctuary of comfort. We were extremely lucky to be upgraded to an executive sea view room which was well equipped and spacious, although the bathrooms were a little on the small size. We chose to have the tea tray/coffee corner in our room for the week which was good value at 10 Euros for the week. A real bonus was the free mini bar which offered 8 bottles of water, beer, soft drinks and fruit juices.

The breakfast was substantial with the usual variety of items available and despite rather watery juice there was enough choice to satisfy most needs.

There is an excellent swimming pool (sea water) which is ideal for those wishing to swim lengths or cool off when it gets too hot on the sunbeds. Although there were a few early bird sunbed grabbers, fortunately there were sufficient beds for everybody.

The location is ideal for an easy 10 minute stroll into Alghero old town where there is a vast array of restaurants, bars and cafes to suit all types of tastes and budgets. This is a buzzy place without the hassle of noisy drunk tourists. If you have a car there are a number of lovely little beaches to sample in the local area which offer good facilities without the crowds.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Alghero with the hotel providing a first class base for our stay. The staff are a credit to the hotel offering polite, efficient and friendly service. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Although the sea view rooms at the front have the best views there is a fairly busy main road passes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Me and the girlfriend stayed here for 5 nights at the very end of September and loved it! As we were staying right at the end of the season we had a reduced rate which made it even better. Booked an executive room with pool and sea views from a massive balcony. Room was immaculate, with free mini bar topped up everyday meaning we didn't need to buy water, etc when out during the day. Massive bed which although quite firm was amazingly comfy.

Pool was lush and lifeguarded all day, pool side bar was very reasonably priced and had amazing views out to sea.

Breakfasts were amazing... croissants, cake, tarts, bread, cheese, ham, cooked breakfast, bacon, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, omelettes... masses of food and very tasty.

The hotel is ideally located about a 15 minute walk from the main town, which is a lovely walk right alongside the sea.

There was only one thing that let the hotel down, and that was that there was an outage of hot water from 11am-11pm one day. The staff explained there was a problem and they were trying to fix it asap, but was bit nasty having a freezing cold shower after sweating in the sun all day. I imagine this was a complete one-off however.

Overall an excellent stay at a very reasonable price and would definitely chose to stay here again if back in Alghero.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
749 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Rooms were good size and clean. As you would expect in Europe the bathrooms are small, but very nice and clean. Room was good size. We requested a room with a queen/king bed, but were given 2 twin beds. Because we were tired from a full day of driving we didn't try to change rooms. The view out the window was great, good view of the Sea and the pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel 'made' our holiday in Alghero. Fantastic location, top quality furnishings, big rooms, amazing breakfasts, friendly helpful staff and reasonable prices for food and drinks. We played tennis, table tennis and swam in the seawater pool. Sit in the bar and watch the amazing sunsets. Walk down into the old town to the old town with its many bars restaurants and ice cream shops. Highly recommended for a really relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the supplement for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
917 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
640 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
520 reviews
6.3 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing