We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but not 5 star”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Dumbarton, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice but not 5 star”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The rooms were nice and the view across the bay was magnificent. The breakfast was superb, as you'd expect and the pool was great. The hotel's location was great, just 10 mins walk from the town centre. The only complaint was the pillows: the quality was a bit poor with an option to 'buy' a better quality easy-on-the-neck pillow for 3 euros. This should have come as standard for a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    348
    110
    33
    13
See reviews for
132
506
15
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Great Hotel, lovely pool, can high recommend the ocean view rooms.
The hotel is south of the old town. Approx a 15 min walk to the action of the old town. Its a good hours walk to the great beaches north of the old town. But you can easily take a bus or taxi (10 min ride). We mainly stayed by the pool (which is sea water bizarrely).

Only negative is that the queen size double was in fact 2 large singles mattress pushed together in one large bed frame (i think this is a European thing). Hotel seems popular with Brits, Germans and Scandinavians.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for one week during low-season in October when only a fraction of the hotel is occupied. The building is situated just nearby the city center of Alghero. Rooms and other facilities are of high standard although we wonder if the pool area is big enough during high season. Hard to tell in October when you feel like a king almost alone in the great salt water pool. However the edge of this hotel is its staff, the service level and without any doubts the restaurant food. We tried a number of restaurants in the city center but nothing could compete with their “Imperial” restaurant. The atmosphere is genuine and one really feels that the staff is truly service minded. We would strongly recommend a stay at Carlos V, especially during low season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightpillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just spent a wonderful 10 days in Sardinia. The Carlos V is a very good hotel. Staff friendly and welcoming. Room was large and clean with a nice balcony with a sea view. Bar is mostly outdoors so great for summer but can get a bit chilly in October evenings, a larger indoor area would be useful. Bar prices were not expensive in fact cheaper than some of the places in town.
A 10-15 minute walk along a lovely sea front takes you to the old town of Alghero which had loads of bars and restaurants.
The hotel restaurant is worth trying, we ate there for four nights of our stay, the menu did not change much but had a good selection. Well worth trying some of the local Sardinian wines as the ones we tried were really good. The pool usually closes at the end of Sept but was still open as the weather was very warm for Oct, a couple of days were 30C! Breakfast is a buffet and had a reasonable choice but limited fresh fruit (melon and pineapple) but still good. Wifi is free but performance variable but still OK. Only real negative for me was the bed, which is one of these orthopaedic foam types which I found a bit on the hard side but not really bad, still slept well. Would recommend a stay here without hesitation. As usual Italian 5 stars is not 5 stars as in the UK but certainly 4.5 stars! Hotel was very quiet during our stay, with a nano-technology conference taking place, which gave us an evening of traditional Sardinian music on the terrace! Car Park is small but there is plenty free street parking by the hotel. LOts to see around Alghero if you not just there for a beach/pool holiday. We also flew to Olbia airport and the drive across the north of Sardinia was fantastic, about 1.5 hours though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have just returned after a three night stay and found the hotel excellent. The restaurant was excellent and great value. We found it to be cheaper than those we ate at in Alghero and better quality. The restaurant and bar staff were friendly and helpful. Our room looked over the pool and sea and it was great to sit on our large balcony and watch the amazing sunsets. We loved the hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annsouthren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just back from a week in Carlos V, magnificent hotel.

We decided on Sardinia just for a change as we usually choose mainland Italy.
Having done an extensive web search we located Carlos V, El Faro and Calabona to later
discover they are all owned by the same Hotel group.

Carlos V is the best we have yet stayed in, the photographs on the web do not do justice
as the outside is finished in sandstone with tinted green glass balconies etc.
The main entrance is not user friendly as it does not have a proper ramped access to pull up a suitcase.
We arrived mid afternoon on the 3rd October and at check in the receptionist was less than friendly.
A young couple before us asked for a room upgrade to be told all rooms with sea view fully booked. We later discovered the Hotel was 30% booked and most sea view rooms were in fact unoccupied. When we got to our room, an executive double, the AC and TV did not work but was soon rectified with one call to Reception.
A bad start but we soon discovered our initial experience was an exception. All other staff were more than friendly and efficient and the hotel can only be described in one word Magnificent.
The attention to detail is superb, high quality marble floors, polished woodwork throughout and soundproofing to bedroom like Ive not seen before.
The bedroom was 26 sq meters with king size double, plush carpet floor, a double wardrobe illuminated inside with a safe and the bathroom was really nice, well laid out with twin basins and to our delight a hairdryer with variable speed and variable temperature settings,.a full length well illuminated wall mirror, a bath and with shower over. The shower could have done with more pressure.
The balcony was big enough for a small private party and overlooked the pool with a good sea view. The TV had only about two channels in English, sky news etc

We found the staff generally very friendly, attentive and efficient particularly in the poolside bar and restaurant. The poolside bar is a place where people meet up and chat but as the nights got cooler we discovered there is no bar inside the hotel so we left and went elsewhere outside.
Other guests we met were disappointed about this also as there is much space in Reception unused where one could locate a residents lounge area with a proper bar.
The Hotel is well located away from noise, great sea views from the high elevation and a ten minute pleasant walk to Alghero.
The entire place is spotlessly clean as one would expect from a hotel of this quality.

We dined out a few nights to discover the food in the Hotel was much better and actually more reasonable also but most of all the staff more friendly.

We would like to visit again early next summer but next time we would do a few things different.
Do not use one of the dot com websites as you will end up paying more. We also discovered this in Sorrento last April. One gets intimated into booking with the warnings, Our last two rooms left etc.
Our taxi from the airport to the Hotel took a half hour and seemed to be going around in circles whereas we arranged our taxi back in the Hotel and made it in just about ten minutes and paid a lot less.

We would highly recommend Hotel Carlos V.

Room Tip: Call direct as the phone costs less than paying a lot more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID13577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akershus
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hotel is located just outside the city center. Some noise from the street, but not a problem. The Staff was very friendly. Always a smile, always some nice words.
I would say a luxurious Hotel of 5*.

We will be back

Room Tip: Choose a room with see-wiev
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evjo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
892 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
514 reviews
6.3 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing