We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Love this hotel! Stayed here for my birthday and had the most wonderful stay. Got upgraded to an amazing room with sea view. Nice, big balcony facing the mediterranean sea. A bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for me in the room, complimentary since it was my birthday! :) Really nice and service minded staff. Especially Marco at the bar and the pool guy. The pool was a bit cold (beginning of May), but really clean and nice. Many sun chairs, but not so crowded by the pool area. Wifi was excellent, both in the room and in public areas of the hotel. A 10-15 minutes stroll to the city center, a lovely board walk. Many restaurants and bars on the way to town. Can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the sea. Amazing view...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Would you go back there without hesitation?
All right!
We are waiting to give you our warm welcome again to thank you for the excellent review!

Greetings from your friendly and helpful staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
There are newer reviews for Carlos V Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

i don't review hotels i stayed at.
However....
I'm just back from Alghero and stayed at the Carlos V.
It's lovely. Staff so friendly. Breakfasts satisfying.
We were upgraded when we arrived - a lovely touch.
It made the holiday because the pool area wasn't in service in April.
Our balcony got the sun at 10.00am on the right side and we were still sitting out
at 6.45pm on the left side. It was about a 10 minute stroll downhill to the old town and resturants. Already planning our trip back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank orladavid2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are really glad you had a wonderful stay with us.
Really thank you very much for the great review and for all the compliments on our hotel and our staff!
Hoping forward to welcoming you, we remain.

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant 5 days stay beginning April 2014 and very much appreciated:
- the executive room which was large and most comfortable.
- the food that was exceptional as was the service especially by the Maitre d'hotel Domenico.
- the professionalism of all staff who were very friendly & helpful.
- the situation of the hotel at a height with beautiful sea views.
- the short walk distance to Alghero town centre.
- that this hotel is well worth the money.
Therefore we would reccommend a stay there if visiting this part of Sardina!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pascal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

we are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for kind comments and compliments about our hotel and our staff.
We hope to welcome you soon!

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed in an executive room which was large and most comfortable. It had a good sized shower room with plenty of space for all our toiletries. Dressing gowns were provided along with slippers. The sleeping area had a large comfortable bed and a small area with two relaxing chairs and a coffee table. There were two large sliding doors onto a equally large balcony which overlooked some private dwellings on one side and a sea view on the other. As previously stated the reception area is out of keeping with the rest of the hotel which is very modern in appearance. Also mentioned before the hotel is about a 15 mintue stroll to the centre of Alghero, which is situated in a quite part of the town. We dined in the hotel resturant a few times, which was absolutely fantastic. Seated on a balcony with great views of the sea and sunset the food severed was delicious from staters to desert, we could not find fault with it and to top things off, cost wise very reasonably, much cheaper than most resaturants we eat in and far better quailty from sevice to food. The only down side to eating in the hotel was that when we visited the hotel bar it lacked atmosphere and my wife's wine was served in a plastic flued container which is fine during the day at the pool side but not during the evening after a great meal. Mentioning the pool again this was large very clean and the staff who looked after the pool and gave out the towels were attentive and cheerful to help with sunbeds ans umbrella's. The gym was small but adequate and spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel. The staff we came in contact with were always polite pleasant and helpful. All in all this hotel is well worth the money and I would reccommend a stay there if visiting this part of Sardina

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

We are really glad you had a wonderful stay with us.
Really thank you very much for the great review and for all the compliments on our hotel and our staff!
Hoping forward to welcoming you, we remain.

Greetings from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great hotel - I am only writing a review to highlight my personal experience of hiring a car from the hotel's preferred car rental company.

We rented a car for the 2 days we stayed here on a weekend getaway in March 2013. We recently arrived back from a Christmas holiday (December 2013) to be greeted with 4 traffic fines from the Alghero Police for 120 euros each (so 480 euros in total).

The fines state that we entered a "restricted traffic zone".

There were no obvious signs to mark these zones and I have been told the ones that are present are in Italian.

I am EXTREMELY ANGRY THAT THE HOTEL OR THE RENTAL COMPANY (Rent A Car Express) DIDN'T THINK TO WARN US OF SUCH ZONES WHEN HIRING THE CAR.

TO BE HIT WITH A 480 euro BILL 9 MONTHS AFTER OUR WEEKEND AWAY WAS A SHOCK AND AS MENTIONED MAKES ME EXTREMELY ANGRY WITH THE HOTEL STAFF / MANAGEMENT FOR NOT WARNING GUESTS OF SUCH ZONES!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Danny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We thank you for taking the time to write such comment on tripadvisor. We always take advantages from clients suggestions and we will surely do it also this time.

We deeply apologize for the wrong idea you had about the car hire, we only gave you a suggestion but we are not running any business around car hire, usually we recomend people to be aware of the traffic zone area but it is not on our duty it should be up to the rental company. Anyway can happen on busy time to forget to warn guests, but taking a car to rent means having a driving licence and therefore should know the signs that are all the same now as we are part of the European community ... The truth is this: there are different obvious signs to mark these zones and enormous cameras on the street highlight by a no-entry European sign. Why you are not coming back on our Hotel to check them throw your own eyes?
Hoping to welcome you again at Carlos V Hotel
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

i had dinner at the carlos v hotel,i must say the food was exceptional as was the service.we had three courses ,the bill came up to 75 euros which was excellent value.the steak my wife had was exceptional,in fact one of the best steaks she ever had,the fried fish platter was also exceptional.
as it was a sunday the restaurant was a bit quiet and the weather was a bit windy which meant we could not sit in the open,otherwise a great food venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tigerdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

One of experience in late October 2012, went on last minute trip with a group of friends . Amazed by the views overlooking the pool and sea. rooms excellent breakfast included excellent. Even had a lovely game of tennis. Well recommended there anybody you need to nice break, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Seaview is a must!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
949 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#6 of 49 in Alghero
681 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#8 of 49 in Alghero
853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#8 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £125 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing