We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlos V Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Margherita(Alghero)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Domomea(Alghero)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
507
379
122
35
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
507
379
122
35
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelfree soft drinkssea viewpool areamini barold townexecutive roompool attendantplenty of sunbedslovely hotelreception staffbottle of champagnebreakfast was excellenteach eveningper weeksalt waterpool towels
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Fantastic hotel in Alghero.Lovely rooms. Well trained staff who go the extra mile all the time with little fuss.Great outdoor pool and bar with good Sardinian beer on draft!We plan on returning in the future!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearsemoroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are very happy that you stayed with us for your vacation and thanks for having spent the time to share with us our opinion!
And, thanking you for the kind comments and compliments

Many greetings from the all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 nights in June. I had emailed the hotel to sqy it was a special wedding anniversary while we were there and we got upgraded to an executive room and a lovely bottle of bubbly on arrival. The whole hotel pool and common areas are spotlessly clean. very friendly staff and a really relaxing vibe. Great location for the old town and about 35mins to the beach. We will definitely be back. Restuarant Arogon next to Polo Loco is great and Rl Fico in the square beside Jamaica Inn pub is brilliant value. Machiovella on the walls overlooking the sea is really good too. Loved Alghero and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and into Alghero,
we thank you for the compliments about our hotel and our services.
We hope to welcome you again soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

As others have mentioned on tripadvisor before, this is not a 5 star hotel. The hotel itself is nice and clean, the staff is quite friendly and the location is good. However the breakfast has got nothing at all to do with 5 stars. There is a very limited selection of food and the bread is awful. Good selection of coffee and tea, but it tastes like coffee machine coffee. Not what one would expect in Italy.

We got a spacious "seaview suite" with a balcony. That was definitely not worth the extra cost. Although you can catch a glimpse of the sea in the distance, what we got in reality was a "poolview suite". Our balcony was directly overlooking the pool area where, instead of sea, we could se fat Scandinavians sunbathing all day long. Needless to say, we did'nt spend too much time on that balcony.

For a suite it also had a ridiculously small tv. A 16" computer screen is not what you want with a World Cup going on and all... The Internet connection was also unstable and slow.

Based on our experience with the breakfast, we did not even bother to try the restaurant at night. I am convinced that the Old Town in Alghero offers much better options.

All in all it's a very average hotel. For the price we paid, definitely not worth it. Next time in Sardinia we will be looking to get more value for our money from a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going for a seaview room, ask to be placed far away from the pool area as it is not a very nice view!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

we are very sorry that you have not enjoyed your experience in our hotel.
After a double check we realized that you stayed in an executive room not in a Suite. Anyway ther room we gave to you was overlooking the sea and of course if you wach down the balcony you can also see the swimming pool, but if you look in front of you you will see the ocean as per the pictures you have sent us , we gave to you the room that you reserved.
We regret that you have not notified us that you wish the suite, our suite are 75 metersquare and television is 42'' the suite is the one having the balcony all around.
Our staff is always available to guests trying to do everything possible to meet their needs .
We would like you to give us another opportunity to serve you better, and I remain at your disposal

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nice hotel, but not 5 star. The location is very good, 10 min walk from the town. The pool is very nice and the rooms are very nice but the service in the hotel is definitely not 5 star. The service at breakfast was poor, food choices did not change for the week and you had to go loking for ssomeone to order tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for spending your time to leave your comment.
We are sorry that our services did not meet your expectations. We wish to inform you that the management Food & Beverage is particularly attentive to the quality of the products displayed on our buffet that come from Italian territory and they always try to give a vaste choice. The cakes and pastries proposals are prepared by hand .
We will present your observations to further improve our services; can make pleasant stay in Alghero for our guests is the most expensive project for us.
Hoping to give you back the welcome, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just stayed for four nights at this hotel and were very impressed. Large and spacious rooms with impressive sea views and friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a small but modern gym, free in room wifi, in room safe and interestingly the soft drinks placed in the mini bar each day are free. Mind you one has to pay 10 euros for the coffee and tea drinks tray.

The hotel is only a short ocean side walk from the interesting town of Alghero which offers many cafes, a reasonable sized supermarket and a quaint old town. Mind you the supermarket does close between 1 to 5 pm.

Both my wife and I loved the breakfast at the hotel except on our last day when an early breakfast was ordered and that was a disaster, no coffee, hot food, bread rolls, pastries, fresh orange juice nor hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and our beautiful city. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for your compliments to our staff.
We really hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews