We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere with professional friendly staff”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere with professional friendly staff”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were impressed with the friendly staff - on reception, at the bar, even the cleaning staff gave us a friendly greeting whenever we saw them. Just before we left for our vacation, we saw a negative review about the hotel and the surrounding area so we weren't sure what to expect, but what we found was a really nice hotel with good facilities, a generously sized room (we booked a sea facing room) and a fantastic view.

The pool was a good size with an adequate supply of sun beds and umbrellas (although there may not be enough in peak times). There is a life guard at all times and access to the deep end is closed during the odd times when he is not there.

We didn't use the restaurant, but ate and drank at the pool bar a few times. The lunch menu is a bit limited, but what is available is good. The buffet style breakfast has a good selection and has a cook available to cook eggs to your choice on demand.

Our room was well appointed and well maintained with free wifi, a safe, and a good sized bed. The Sun sets were a great sight from the generous balcony.

All in all we would return to this hotel next time we are in Alghero.

Room Tip: Ask for a full sea view room on the third floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear guest,
we wish to thank you for having shared with us your opinion we are glad that you did enjoy our hotel and we really thank you for the great review and kind compliments on our hotel and services,
we really hope to welcome you again
Best regards from the whole staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    351
    110
    33
    13
See reviews for
133
508
15
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Pretty poor experience it has to be said. Be careful of the '5 star' rating in Italy - it seems to refer to the number of services available (like multi-lingual staff, 24hr room service and pool) rather than the quality of the place. This hotel seems to be a favourite for British and German package holidaymakers and their massive amounts of children. We went for a romantic getaway and were sorely disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank triathlonsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we apologize sorry that you did not get the holiday up to your expectations, and we inform you that if you had asked and express what exactly was not as you wish we could certainly make you happier and find together asolution, but you really did not even here express what exactl went wrong.
However, we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

An unexpectatly nice hotel from the moment of arrival to departure. Alghero is relatively unspoilt by holodaymakers and the locals are still pleased to see you. The hotel is a short walk to the town centre with its numerouse bars and restaurants. The hotel has a well staffed bar and the restaurant, for once, is worth eating in. The room was excellent and cleaned properly on a daily basis. The other big bonus is that the hotel, by taxi is just 15 minuets away. Well worh a visit.

Room Tip: Go for a dea view - the bay is very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in our beautiful city. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and thank you for your compliments to our staff and location.
We really hope to welcome you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just back from a week in Alghero and this will not be our last visit to this beautiful island. Carlos V was an ideal base and we had a large, airy room overlooking the sea with a spacious balcony which caught the evening sun. Daily cleaning meant the room was impeccable on our return. The pool area was well equipped never busy, and the nearby bar had courteous and welcoming staff. We were on a BB basis and the range of food at breakfast was excellent. We favoured omelettes mostly, and these were really good. My only criticism was that we had hot water and teabags, rather than a teapot, but worst things have happened!
All hotel staff were helpful and service was prompt. On the last evening o four stay we eat in the restaurant where the quality of food was first class, and matched by attentive service.
We enjoyed the location which gave us a 10 minute walk to and from the old town where we dined most evenings.
The absence of a sandy beach will put some off, and at times we found the incoming seaweed left a pong in the air, but overall this hotel is thoroughly recommended by us.

Room Tip: Seaview with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncandGlenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful Alghero!
Thanks for the comments and compliments!
See you soon then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and I have to agree with the prior reviews. It is a nice hotel but not 5*.
The room size and fixtures were very good. The daily cleaning was up to a very high standard. We slept very well in the very large bed.
The pool area is very nice and relaxing. There are lots of beds and umbrellas and there is none of the hassle of having to place towels on beds early in the day.
The free water, juice and soft drinks on offer in the room were a nice point.
The hotel is located 10-15 minutes walk from town and not near a beach with easy access to the sea. The hotel should look into options for having good access to the sea.
The view of the sea from the pool area is lovely. The service at the pool bar was always good.
There is parking at the hotel and there were plenty of spaces.
There are certain points that need to be improved to reach the 5* level.
There was no offer of assistance with bags on check in or out.
The breakfast is okay but nothing special. A 5* hotel should not have "fake" cornflakes.
The TV is quite small and they didn't have access to all the World Cup matches)
We didn’t eat lunch at the hotel and the choice dint look vey inspiring.
It would great to have tea \ coffee facilities in the room.

Overall a good hotel and we had a nice stay. We would go back again although we would consider somewhere with direct access to a beach and to swim in the sea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we apologize if during your stay you did have what expected. Thank you for the compliments on our location and cleanliness.
Sorry that you did not get the room up to your expectations, and
we inform you that if you had asked we could certainly make you see the other rooms with bigger television as for examples the Suite.
However, we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you bett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have just returned from another visit to the lovely Carlos V hotel in Alghero. rarely when you go back to a hotel can it live up to previous expectations, but this time was better than ever-staff were excellent-so friendly and welcoming, rooms were lovely and the food (both breakfast, lunch and dinner), was excellent. Perfect location to explore Alghero and beyond. We will return again and already looking forward to it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We really want to thank you for the time spent in writing the review ,
we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking to welcome you soon!

Greetings from your excellent hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leixlip, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staff are The Stars
Just returned from a nine day stay at Carlos V. Before travelling we had read reviews and a lot of reviewers were concerned with the star rating of the hotel. We found the stars - the staff, particularly in the dining rooms and the pool. Lovely attentive people doing their best to please at all times.
We booked half board and the food was amazing, dinner every evening was a delight with beautiful food, good service from nice young people and amazing sunsets viewed from our table.
Our room ( pool view) was beautifully styled and linen and towels were luxurious, the firm beds were more comfortable than they first appeared. The climate control in the room worked perfectly and quietly and the bathroom never steamed up - very good. Daily cleaning was extensive and thorough making the room a joy to return to each evening.
Plenty of comfortable beds and umbrellas around the pool meant that only the misguided placed their towels to 'claim' a bed before breakfast.
WiFi was free and coverage in room and at pool good.
The free water/soft drinks in the minibar was a good idea as there are no shops at all in the area.
All good but ............there were little niggles as well;
The hotel although very peaceful is a little remote from the town/beach and reception staff were a little vague on transport options/times,
No bicycles, unusual for an 'Italian' resort hotel- especially as a cycle way ran past the front door,
Lunch sandwiches from the pool bar were budget airline quality and price and one day took 35 mins to arrive, lunch on terrace much better value,
Shampoo/shower gel was plentiful but very poor quality, hair conditioner was not provided and the hair drier 'industrial cable' connection made it difficult to hold,
Pool access was by ladder only - not good for us seniors - and there are a lot of us,
As we exited to our taxi a male receptionist 'challenged' us for return of pool towel cards and seemed reluctant to accept that they had been handed to a female colleague who had checked us out earlier - not the "farewell and hope to see you soon" we would have expected.
So maybe not the full five stars but very close and yes we would go back again and, we hope, again.

Room Tip: Seaview are the best, garden view with side sea view next best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kildaremercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_V_Hotel, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Carlos V Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful Alghero!
That is the review that we love to read, we are thankfull
Thanks for the comments and compliments!
Hope to welcome you again and again
Kind regards from the whole staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
6.8 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Las Tronas Hotel  & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
622 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Domomea
Hotel Domomea
#3 of 49 in Alghero
516 reviews
6.3 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Lungomare Valencia 24, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alghero
#1 Family Hotel in Alghero
#6 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlos V Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos v
Carlos v Alghero
Carlos V Hotel Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing