We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Hotel Mistral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mistral
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Just returned from a week's stay at the Mistral. Usually do self-catering. Hotel was spotlessly clean, all staff pleasant and very helpful. Rooms basic but perfectly comfortable, even had a balcony, albeit rather narrow. Breakfast predictable but adequate. Some traffic noise due to position on fairly busy road.
Short walk to superb beach. On bus route into town and to airport. About 2kms walk into Alghero. Represents good value for money and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness of staff, convenient.
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    55
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
15
77
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

A lovely hotel with friendly staff and a nice relaxed atmosphere.
We really enjoyed our stay here,is a bit of a walk into main town but who minds with beaches all the way and a bus stop less than 2 min walk from hotel. Plenty of restaurants en route, as for noise...just close windows and turn on air con which was free!!!
Anyway is less than €5 per day if you are asked to pay.
Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — distance from main town
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ccara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Don't bother staying here. Clean and funtional, but ... The rooms are characterless, the beds noisy, sound proofing is poor (and it's right next to a main road) and they want to charge you extra to use the aircon!

  • Disliked — They wanted to charge extra for the aircon.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank gardeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We stayed in the Mistral for a few nights - The location, although very close to the beach only has 1 restaurant around and every night we would go to the city .
it was very difficul to sleep at night time cause of barking dogs and cars passing and at the mornings we could heard the noise of the mop hitting the walls at 7 am! We did complain about the noise but that didn't make any difference.
The breakfast was served until 9.30 and the dinning area was cleaned at the same time! meaning that while you tried to find milk for your coffee.. someone was taking it to the kitchen!
There are hotels with the same price or cheaper so hopefully next time we won't go to Mistral.

  • Liked — Near to a nice beach
  • Disliked — Impossible noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank glalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed at this small hotel or one week. The staff are very friendly & helpful & will dial out for a pizza if you ask them, you can eat it in the bar with very reasonably priced drinks. The bar bill was one of our cheapest ever!

There was a staff party whilst we were staying & we were brought a few goodies to taste.

The room was large enough and everything was very clean. The breakfast was good.

We were disappointed with the surrounding area which is a bit scruffy and run down. The weather was poor so we used the local buses, several routes pass the hotel. We did hear the dogs barking but as the weather was not good we had the windows closed so this wasn't a problem.

Not the place to visit if you are looking for something fancy or glamorous, but recommended for friendly staff.

  • Liked — Freindly staff
  • Disliked — Scruffy location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOGsNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We travelled to Sardinia with Ryanair from Liverpool, and because of the late evening arrival time and we had an elderly relative with us decided to stay at a hotel near the airport for the first night rather than drive to our next destination at Bosa Marina. We booked this hotel via the Airmiles website, and got a great deal - 2 rooms for £35.

The Hotel Mistral is clean and cheerful - it isn't, nor does it pretend to be anything more than it's 3* rating. The rooms were both large and airy; breakfast was varied and plentiful.

We did hear a dog barking during the night - but hey folks, it's what
dogs do! ... and it wasn't duly annoying or prolonged. All in all, a great place for a quick stop-over.

  • Liked — Clean, cheap & cheerful
  • Disliked — Limited car parking space in hotel car park
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwukcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

I spent one night at the Hotel Mistral in October 2007. I was coming back to Alghero from the Costa Smeralda and had no place to stay, so I just found the hotel as I arrived into Alghero and asked them whether they had any vacancies for the night. My experience there was a very pleasant one - my room was nice, clean and spacious and so was the bathroom. I have previously been to four star hotels in Alghero and I have to say that the Hotel Mistral, although rated a three star, is not inferior to those.
The hotel is perhaps a couple of km from the centre of town, so it might be a problem if you don't have a car. If you are with a car, the hotel has its own parking (although quite small I must say) or there is a large parking area just outside the hotel, which is safe.
The hotel also has internet connection available if you are travelling with your laptop. When I asked about the cost, the owner was not very clear and said it depended on how long I would use the Internet, which did not help as I did not want any surprise on my bill. However, i also found out that there is a wireless network available and did not have to pay for that.
My experience at the hotel Mistral has been a very pleasant one and i definetely recommend it to anybody staying in Alghero.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank straycat74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#34 of 49 in Alghero
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#30 of 49 in Alghero
548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#40 of 49 in Alghero
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#20 of 49 in Alghero
601 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Domominore | Country Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#28 of 49 in Alghero
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mistral

Property: Hotel Mistral
Address: Via Liguria 41, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mistral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mistral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mistral Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing