We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, relaxed place for beaches and 20 minute stroll to old town”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I and two friends got back from a week's stay at the Riviera yesterday. If you're looking for a comfortable stay in a convenient location at a reasonable price, this fits the bill.

We stayed in a triple room, 58, which is on the first floor and has a balcony overlooking a fairly quiet road, the restaurant and pizzeria Daps and the beach and sea which is at the end of the road.

When we arrived at the hotel it was certainly less than half full and although more people arrived at the weekend, it was still not that busy. I booked the room directly with the hotel via their website about six weeks before we stayed there and was offered a 10 per cent discount.

As others have said, the room was very clean and in a good condition. The beds we had were certainly comfy enough and there was plenty of storage space (including a number of hangers). The bathroom was good too, a decent shower (although a slightly tricky balance between too hot and too cold) and soap and a couple of shampoo sachets provided. We didn't use our air conditioning - no need in the first few days as the nights were fairly cool and for the last few we slept with the balcony doors open (but the shutters shut). There's nothing pretty about the bedroom or bathroom, decked out with practicality in mind rather than attractiveness. But who cares about that when you've prettiness and views galore when you step outside?

We had breakfast three times during our stay - it starts at 7.30am and finishes at 9.15am. It would have suited us much more if breakfast had finished later, ideally at 10.30am, especially as dinner is eaten later in Sardinia and we often didn't finish our evening meal till 10.30/11pm. The fare at breakfast was fairly uninspiring but if you approach it as a way to fill up and get you through to dinner without having to have another proper meal, you won't be too disappointed. We were particularly fond of the 'snail rolls', christened because of their resemblance to a snail's shell. Tuck into a couple of those and dragging yourself up out of bed earlier than you might have liked won't seem as bad!

The hotel is really well situated for the nearby lido beach which is a pretty vast expanse of sand and busy but not packed. It's worth walking to the Maria Pia beach though which I and my friends preferred for its more sloping sands, pine trees and slightly better atmosphere! We bought a parasol for about 10 euros and used this rather than renting parasols and loungers. Well, actually we bought two parasols as the first one broke! But you definitely need something to keep you shaded on the beach. If you walk towards the lido beach and turn right and keep walking for about 20 minutes you'll reach the pine trees and a turn in for the Maria Pia beach. Definitely give it a go, and it's nice to take in Alghero on foot.

Speaking of which, the old town is a really lovely 20 minute walk away, all along the sea front and we went in every evening except one. There's a wide promenade and a lot of life to take in - I wonder how the sand sculpture is getting on? - let alone the views of the sunset over the sea.

The pool at the hotel is a good size and refreshing. We didn't spend that much time there to be honest but it was a nice option, especially for an hour or so in the late afternoon/early evening when you've finished your day's activities but it's too early to get ready to go out for dinner or drinks. Plenty of sun loungers and options for shade although beware the far left corner of the pool area as you come out to it from the hotel - my friend got about six mosquito bites in the space of just over five minutes there having not got any for six days!

The staff were polite and friendly. We asked about buses to the airport the day before we left and Tony on reception produced a file of information for guests, which seemed to include info on restuarants, day trips etc. Would have been nice if a copy of this was left on reception for people to flick through, and if it had been flagged up at the start of our stay. Not a big deal that it wasn't though, just a shame we didn't know about it.

One thing I would change is how easy it is to pluck any of the room keys from reception. Although there were people on duty at all times, that doesn't mean they are at the reception desk all the time, sometimes they are in a separate room behind reception and on a number of occasions it would have been easy for us to take our key or any of the other keys without anyone knowing, from the 'guest' side of the desk. We made use of the safe in our room (10 euro charge plus 10 euro refundable deposit upon giving the key back) but obviously there were items in our room, such as clothes and shoes, that could have been stolen. However, I assume they haven't experienced any problems with keys going missing and items being stolen or they would have changed this I imagine.

Finally, a word of warning - I accidentally trod on the very small dog which belongs to the owner when walking into the hotel one afternoon! Not only is it small but it was lying on a Persian rug and sort of blended in with it, and I was following my friend in so didn't have a lot of forward vision. Unfortunately the owner witnessed me treading on her dog too which was a bit uncomfortable. Some whimpering aside, the dog was fine though. But keep your eyes peeled!

If I went back to Alghero I would definitely consider staying at the Riviera again, for its location, reasonable rates, cleanliness and general meeting of my expectations for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Liono_on_her_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

Hotel Riviera was excellent. Clean, nice people, 50 yards from beach, across the street from nice restaurant (DAPS), and a short, romantic walk to the old town. Breakfast was average - only negative was the coffee (machine made). Our room was adequate with a nice TV, balcony overlooking the street and DAPs. The bathroom was small and watch out for the bath tub...it could be lethal if you stand up. Staff helped with bus information. The pool was beautiful...clean and nice flowering bushes around it. We were able to lay out for a few hours before catching our bus to the airport. We took the bus to town from the airport and the stop at the train station is less than 10 minutes from the hotel. We highly recommend a restaurant in town call Mabrouk on Via Santa Barbara. All fish - no menu - 40E per person for four courses and house wine! We also recommend the boat excursion Andrea Jensen but reserve in advance...do it online and save a few Euro.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank ctwino_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We have just come back from a brilliant week in Alghero where we stopped in the Hotel Riviera. If this is the first review you are reading then you will find that I am saying the same as most other people have already said on here. The rooms were spotless, cleaned to a high standard every day, breakfast is basic with slight changes every day, the pool area and the pool are excellent, we had the area to ourselves more often than not and it is a decent size pool to have a good swim in. All the staff very helpful though we took our key out with us every day and on one of the days my other half went back early and could not get a spare key to the room so had to wait around for me to get back.
The only other neagtive was the noise levels in the morning, we were constanly woke up around 7 am when the staff were preparing breakfast and also building work on the street which starts early, the walls are thin so you do hear movement from other rooms.
But don't let that put you off, it is a really safe area, around 20 minutes walk to Old Town, (try walking through the side streets for a change, you will see different shops and bars etc that way) and the restaraunt Daps is right across the road and really good.
A few more recommendations, first of all there local beer called Inschuna and is excellent and good value for money, our favourite and cheapest places to enjoy were a set of four cafe's split by a pharmacy on the left hand side of the main road opposite the harbour just before you walk into old town itself. They all have seating area outside and you only pay 3 euro's max for a large bottle which is 2/3's of a litre. Excellent value compared to the Jamica Inn which charged us 9 euro's for a pint of carlsberg and half a shandy !!!!!!
If you want to watch sports then you are going to struggle but near the hotel is a bar called La Playa's which is right next door to Les Aremis (pizza by the metre) restaraunt and they do show the main football matches through Italian Sky.
The taxi from the airport cost us 20 euros there and 22 back which looking at the other reviews wasn't to bad and takes 10 minutes tops. You will find Alghero expensive if you eat out everynight, there is a supermarket round the corner which we used for lunch and then ate out in the evening. We did not try the otel for an evening meal so cannot comment on that though might be an idea to book half board if not to much extra.
Hope all this helps and if you do stop here I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Wayne & Eliza

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lamby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Really enjoyed stay in Riviera last weekend..rooms clean..bathroom compact( very small) we were lucky & had a balcony.. rooms overlooking pool don't have balcony..enjoyed breakfast al fresco ..nice courtyard off dining room..no difficulty in getting sunbed by pool..& pl;enty of shade if required..showers & changing room at pool..great for late departure..nice beach 2 sunbeds+umbrella for €12 per day..would recommend Daps restaurent across road from hotel..garden setting..very busy Saturday nights with locals..another restaurent I would recommend in the old town is The 3 Towers..great desserts!! Will be returning to Alghero again, its a great weekend destination!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I really enjoyed our stay in the Riviera. The rooms were spotless and were well air conditioned. oh i was a bit dissapointed that there was no tea making facilites in the room! but i soon got over it! All staff were very friendly and helpful. (Esp Luigi and Fabio) we love ye guys!!! We stayed for 6 nights and a cont breakfast was included. We ate in the resturant twice and were very satisfied with the food and very nice waiters/waitresses. The pool was also spotless, i dont think the man cleaning it ever stopped!
Its about a 3min walk from a fab beach, sunbeds were on average €10 but u can try and bargain - it works! The walk to the old town was about 20mins, there were stalls along the way selling bags, jewellery etc..
The night life was practically non exsistant in the area so i would not recommend it for young couples or party animals! But you can have a few sociable drinks in the hotel bar until 12.
We would definatly return to the Riviera.. Yeah! :)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HondaCivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I booked through the hotel website, which was cheapest than any agency.

Myself and 2 other female friends stayed for 4 days. We were welcomed by a friendly english (origin) lady. Very helpful and accommodating. She let us check in before the normal 11am (9am).

We stayed in a triple room/3 single beds which was very comfortable and clean. Everything you need from a 3* hotel plus a balcony which was very nice. The shower was good too.

Our stay on the island was everything we wanted and we were only 2 mins from the Lido beach.

The only negatives i can think of is that breakfast finishes at 9.30. i did hear the dog other reviewers had mentioned but it wasnt a problem at all for us.

i would def recommend this hotel for a cheap and pleasant stay in Alghero!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Myself and my wife stayed at the Hotel Riviera May 2008.

As mentioned before the rooms are a little basic, ours let in little light which made the room seem slightly dingy (not a massiive issue though). Also the breakfast was very much continental, in that it's mostly cold meats etc.. to be honest was kind of as I expected, so no complaints there either. The pool was nice and a welcome relieve when the weather gets hot (which didnt happen too often while we were there unfortunatley), this and other areas were always kept spotlessly clean. We only booked a package including breakfast to give us an opportunity to try out the restaurants in town. Alghero was a good 20 min stroll away, but is a lovely walk next to the ocean and extra nice if the weather is good. I would definately recommend eating out in town because there are some great places, the seafood pasta was always good.

All in, the Riviera is fairly good value for an Italian hotel, is located well and has all the faclities you need from 3 star accomodation.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Lancepremier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#33 of 49 in Alghero
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#16 of 49 in Alghero
479 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#12 of 49 in Alghero
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alghero City Hotel
Alghero City Hotel
#28 of 49 in Alghero
556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#7 of 49 in Alghero
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#21 of 49 in Alghero
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Fratelli Cervi 6, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Price Range: £30 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Alghero
Hotel Riviera Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing