We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the beach!”
Review of Hotel dei Pini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel dei Pini
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I was slightly nervous about booking this hotel due to the location and room decor, as I usually prefer a more modern style. However we decided to upgrade to the superior room and took the plunge to book. Here's a brief summary of our thoughts...

Positivies:
- the beach... it's as beautiful as it looks in the photos. The strip of sand wasn't as narrow as we had thought which was a pleasant surprise. The beach was perfectly clean and had some of the clearest waters that I've ever seen (I'm comparing it to those of Florida, Bahamas, Hawaii). It's also really useful that you can select and reserve your beach chairs and table as soon as you arrive, and you're then safe in the knowledge that your chosen spot will be free for you at any time during your stay. Towels are also included.
- the pool was clean and had great views of the coast
- the bar staff were lovely and paid the right level of attention to their customers
- breakfast had a huge choice and everything that we sampled was delicious. The breakfast room also has amazing views
- choice of beach activities/watersports... plenty to choose from and reasonably priced

Negatives:
- the room wasn't as comfortable as we would like but it is typical of European hotels
- the location... the hotel is pretty much out in the sticks and it cost us between 22 and 26 euros each way, which can really mount up if you go out during the day and night. We did use the shuttle bus a few times but found the timings to be really unreliable, and in the extreme heat it was pretty uncomfortable
- room upgrade... we had paid around 300 euros to upgrade our room to a superior room, and found that on arrival they were giving free upgrades to other couples. We had then asked if ours could be reduced in price given that the hotel was quiet and they were clearly giving the same rooms to others at a much cheaper rate. However they charged us the full rate regardless which was a little disappointing.

The town itself is quite sleepy, but it's also really beautiful with plenty of bars and restaurants. There wasn't too much to do during the day but that was fine as we wanted a relaxing holiday. All in all we had an amazing holiday and would definitely return for the beach alone if we were planning a short stay. If however we were planning on staying more than 4 nights we would probably consider a more central location to save money in the long run on travel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank araipie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Amazing location, perfect beach with white sand and clear water surrounded by pine trees. Please add good service, clean rooms and you can imagine why hotel Dei Pini is the good place for long weekend stay.
The only downside part is rather average food for both lunch and dinner. Alghero area is famous for grilled seafood and meat but despite having an open fire grill in the terrace I never saw it being actually used.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yuri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The main lobby needs renovation. And there is only one tiny elevator...
But I promised myself I will go back to this hotel every summer. They have a private beach, with clean sand and clean waters (so much so that we did not even bother going to La Pelosa...). Upon your arrival, you are assigned a sunbed and it remains yours for the rest of your stay.
Our room was renovated and very clean.
3 nights cost us over 650 euros (bed and breakfast).
(This hotel is cut off from the Old Town. One would need to rent a car).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lula_Vella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The location is great, directly on the beautiful white beach with crystal clear water, surrounded by pine trees and yet just ten minutes drive from the old town Alghero. The terrace and the swimming pool are lovely and have fabulous views. The rooms are small and nothing special. We found the noise in the rooms disturbing. You hear everything: people talking in the room next door, their TV, the music from the lobby, the noise from the corridor. The breakfast is good, but the dinner food in the hotel restaurant is below Italian standards and is grossly overpriced. There are plenty of better restaurants in the old town of Alghero. The hotel has a sailboat rental (laser, hobie cat) and the wind is excellent for sailing.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from the lobby. Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turtlezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Dei Pini for 1 week for a conference in May 2013. The location of the hotel is great with small rocky cliffs around and a lovely little private beach. The best part of the stay was the amazing food at their restaurant! The chef amazed us with daily local specials that were paired with fresh regional produce! The location of the restaurant is the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ruchira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I just returned from our holiday at the Hotel dei Pini. I found this
hotel on line And I can say that I made a a good choice staying there
. Hotel is situated in the beautiful place between the Sea and pine
forest. Hotel and the beach are well maintained. The staff in the
beach, reception and restaurant was very helpful and professional. The
rooms are renovated and nice. But the the most beautiful place of this
hotel (my opinion) is a new swiming pool and the view from the swiming
pool. This hotel I will definetly choose for my next holiday and
Sardegna

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikageroji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a two weeks workshop in this hotel and I really enjoyed my stay very much. On one hand the location at a beautiful beach is great and the food they serve is very good. The bar also offers a big variety of great drinks (some of the best drinks I had - you have to try a local Mirto from a frozen glas).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreddyFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alghero
1.2 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
76.9 mi away
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites
Gabbiano Azzurro Hotel & Suites
#2 of 14 in Golfo Aranci
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
117.8 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Pini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Pini

Address: Localita Le Bombarde SNC, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Alghero
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
#8 Family Hotel in Alghero
#9 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £105 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dei Pini 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel dei Pini rises in a reserved area in the north west of sardinia and is set between a private beach of fine white sand and a 30,000 square metre wood. Our hospitality is available in 94 rooms (double, triple and quadruple), 1 junior suite and 4 suite.. Lunch and dinner are served in our panoramic restaurant and breakfast buffet is served in the breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel dei Pini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Pini Alghero
Hotel Dei Pini Sardinia
Dei Pini Hotel
Hotel Dei Pini Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing