We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Sporting Club
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Alghero
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2005

I visited the Green Hotel with my girfriend after hearing how good the cycling and swimming in the area was. We were not dissapointed. The area was fantastic and the hotel pool, gym and helpful staff made a huge difference to our stay. I think the Green hotel is perfect for this type of trip and was surprised to read negative feedback, maybe you could have more exciting food but we enjoyed our holiday so much we already booked to go back in September.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    25
    46
    36
    33
See reviews for
31
42
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2005

The Green Sporting Club was not bad. It isn't the 4 star hotel it claimed to be, but I think that their rating sytem is different to America. It is probably a 2 1/2 start hotel by American standards. We stayed there from 7/27/05-8/1/05. I was a bit nervous after reading one of the reviews with the bugs, but I found it to be very clean and the staff is really helpful. The room was big and the bathroom a decent size. The shower is a bit small though. Breakfast was basic fruits, cerel, cold cuts, cheese, asstorment of biscuits/cookies.

It is however a bit out of the way. I absolutely recommend it if you have a car, but if not, it might be inconvenient. We hired a car so we found it quite easy to get around but it is a bit of a hassel if you dont have one.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank akoostik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2005

As a previous reviewer said, it is probably not a 4 star hotel. Apparently, there is no standard for hotel grades that applies across the island and so any grading should be treated with caution. I would class this hotel as ideal for a touring stop as it is on the edge of town and is a good walk into the Old Town. A car would be essential. The rooms are basic but are comfortable enough for the odd night. The cold buffet breakfast I was offered was sufficient, but it was all self service - not exactly what you would expect in a 'four star' hotel. There are better hotels in and around Alghero than this one.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redclayjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2005

The hotel has potential to be a 4 star, but it will require some work. All and all, it wasn't to bad, the breakfast and service was good, staff was really helpful. The hotel is located in a residential zone, and it's not too far from the city center.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2005

This hotel boasts 4 stars and indeed the sporting facilities are certainly top rated, but the rooms are very basic, although large there is no sign of any luxuries and the shower in the bathroom is cheaply made with wobbly plastic concertina doors and so incredibly tiny you are in danger of hitting your head on one wall as you bend down to pick up the soap.
The hotel is not placed in the most convenient of areas, it is at least a 20 min walk to the town and as it is in a residential area there are no bars or restaurants around. There is a bar in the hotel but it is not a comfotable, lets spend the evening sort of bar.
A taxi from town cost us 6 & 8 euros, no consistency in charges. To get to this hotel from Alghero airport take the orange bus to the town and get off in the garden (it will be obvious), you can buy bus tickets in the bar where the bus stops, then cross the road between the garden and the petrol station which is down the hill on the left from where you got off the bus, there is a bus stop with a bench, you need the AP orange bus and get off when the bus takes an end of line break, the hotel is across the road. A taxi from the airport would be 25 euros not 1.50 for the bus.
With regards to the sports facilities, schools seem to use the pool for lessons which means there are hoards of children of various ages at various times.
Having said all that negative stuff, we would like to add that the staff on reception were more than helpful and pleasant.

Helpful?
10 Thank benwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alghero hotels

UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2005

The Green Sporting club advertises itself as a four star hotel, which is ridiculous. The room we were given was full of bugs, was not clean, the bedsheets had holes, and the bed was very basic and hard.

We did complain and to their credit they did listen and move us to another room, which was cleaner, but not much of an improvement.

The Green sporting club is about 2 miles from the centre and there is a bus that stops right outside.

Alghero is a nice little town with some good beaches, but find another hotel !

Helpful?
23 Thank DBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
0.8 mi away
La Margherita
La Margherita
#46 of 50 in Alghero
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#13 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Piras
Hotel Villa Piras
#19 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Residence Europa
Residence Europa
#31 of 50 in Alghero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
1.6 mi away
Hotel Soleado
Hotel Soleado
#32 of 50 in Alghero
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Sporting Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Sporting Club

Property: Green Sporting Club
Address: Viale della Resistenza 47, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Alghero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Sporting Club 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Sporting Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Sporting Hotel
Green Sporting Alghero
Green Sporting Club Alghero, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing