We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alghero
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Florida hotel:
We stayed here last 2 weeks of July 2013
A very clean well managed hotel, staff very friendly, food good in restaurant, room made up every day, clean towels every day.
25 minutes walk from old town but there is a shorter walk if you walk up pass mac Ds and turn right at the market stalls, just before mac ds is a supermarket called euro spin its an Italian lidl very cheap.
Trip to corsica very good but quite expensive, no lunch included.
Good restaurant just down the road with a singer every night (quarte sayal)
Excellent drinks and snack bar in old town, (Girasol) very friendly staff Alexandra and the chap waiter, didnt get his name. A superb restaurant also just down the side of this, the chef is Joseph who speaks very good english and is prepared to help reading the italian menu. Bit more expensive than the norm but superb food.
Sardina is a beautiful island and the italians are lovley.

Enjoy your holiday...

Tony n Shel London

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonys36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

Standard 3* hotel with nice staff. All staff speaks good english and I got the respond on my email within few minutes. Service is perfect, plenty of opportunities. Was great to get the towels from the hotel to the beach - 3€/towel/stay. Bar basic with plastic cups for nonalcoholic drinks. Beer and wine in normal glasses. I didn´t use the swimming pool as the sea was so close. The cleaning could improve - did not shake the sand out of the top of the bed. Location is perfect. Try to walk also the other direction, not only to Alghero.

Although all the positive things (staff is great) I would not recommend the hotel for a longer stay, as due to the noise I didn´t sleep a single night. The A/C was starting every hour and I woke up always on this, so I ended up with open balcony door. There is a very nice Maracaibo bar just in front of the hotel (which I really recommend) which is very popular and also loud. Sleeping with an open door and AC closed was no win. And if you finally think everything is good and you can sleep, the noise from the hall when people are going in/out and closing their roomdoors just kills any idea of a sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gejb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Again just back from 5 night break to the hotel. Had 2 hour delay at Stansted because of French Air Traffic Strike. Bad service from Shuttledirect as I had tried to contact them about the delay but did not get reply to their phone. When we got to Alghero no driver waiting. Our special assistance helper tried calling them and again no reply so had to pay again for regular taxi. Not a good start!

Brighter note - the journey to the hotel is only about 10mins and welcomed warmly again by all the staff who all remember us. Had a great stay and the weather was kind to us as everyone said that it had been bad. Can only re-iterate what I have written before about the hotel. It is excellent, great position, clean and very friendly staff and look forward to another visit next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aitchjayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Right now staying in the hotel, came here for 6 days. Room with sea view and pool view is great, customer service excellent , had some small flies in the balcony(meditranian ) , staff gave spray to ward them off. Getting cold breakfast for early flight... Checking out tomorrow...What more to say, great start of every morning with pleasant views from breakfast area, helpful staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elegant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Florida. It is a lovely family run hotel, very friendly, very clean and in an ideal location across from the beach but only a short walk away from Alghero.
Our room was vey clean and had a lovely balcony with an amazing view! The pool was also great but very cold! The food was great too, plenty of choice and very traditional. Would be happy to stay here again - nothing was too much trouble!

Room Tip: Top floor seaview room is worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is quite nice, have a nice pool and on the other side of the street is the Lido Beach. The rooms are ok and you have a very nice view of the beach and the sea from most of them.
But they are charging you extra for using the wi-fi!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarsPartille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Went to Florida Hotel 11th may for 1 week.It is a spotless hotel and the rooms are nicely decorated.The evening meal was lovely and as it was a small menu to choose from,I tried many dishes I would never of had before and enjoyed them all.The sea view is worth the extra money.My Husband and I spent the evening sitting on the balcony watching fishing boats returning and the sound of the sea is relaxing.This Hotel just needs a few things changing. A small fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in the room .The wi-fi is expensive as is the 6euro a day gym fee.The bar isn't cheap and has no atmosphere at all.The outside seating area would be lovely with a small bar hatch and some low traditional music playing.There was a big room we discovered and a tv room but both empty.A lot of the guests used the Maracaibo Bar on the beach and the 2 guys working there were so polite and could tell you what you needed to know about Alghero.The old town is Beautiful and has many shops and Restaurants.We Will come to the Hotel next year

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alghero hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
706 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Angedras
Hotel Angedras
#2 of 49 in Alghero
1,101 reviews
6.2 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alghero
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alma di Alghero Hotel
Alma di Alghero Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
907 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#10 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Via Lido 15, 07041, Alghero, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Alghero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Alghero
Price Range: £94 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Alghero
Hotel Florida Alghero, Sardinia
Hotel Florida Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing